Please tick the box to continue:


What is SAARC ?Abbreviation of South Asian Association of Regional Cooperation Founded in 1985 by Zia ur Rehman For solve the problems of Asian countries Organization have eight Member countries now Headquarters are in Kathmandu and Nepal

History of SAARCConcept 1st adopted by Bangladesh in 1977 Under the administration of Zia ur Rehman In late 1970s SAARC nations agreed upon the creation of a trade bloc Foreign secretaries of member countries met 1st time in Colombo in April 1981

Members of SAARCAfghanistan Bangladesh Bhutan India Maldives Nepal Pakistan Sri lanka

Objective of SAARCTo improve the life style and welfare of people of member countries Develop the region; Economically Socially


Provide opportunity to people live in dignity To enhance the self reliance of member countries Provide conductive climate for creating and enhancing mutual trust

ContinueTo enhance the cooperation with other developing economies To enhance the mutual assistance among the member countries in the areas of; Economic Social Cultural Technical field

To extend cooperation to other trade blocksAcceleration of economic growth

Saarc secretariat

Establish in Kathmandu on 16 January 1987 inaugurated by Late King Birendra bin bikram shah Nepal Headed by a Secretary General appointed by the Council of Ministers from Member Countries For three years term The Secretariat coordinates and monitors implementation of activities

prepares for and services meetings serves as a channel of communication between the

Association and its Member States

Activities of secretariat

Regional center of SAARCSAARC Agricultural Centre (SAC), Dhaka SAARC Meteorological Research Centre (SMRC), Dhaka SAARC Tuberculosis Centre (STC), Kathmandu SAARC Documentation Centre (SDC), New Delhi SAARC Human Resources Development Centre (SHRDC), Islamabad SAARC Coastal Zone Management Centre (SCZMC), Maldives

Continue.SAARC Information Centre (SIC), Nepal SAARC Energy Centre (SEC), Pakistan SAARC Disaster Management Centre (SDMC), India SAARC Forestry Centre (SFC), Bhutan SAARC Cultural Centre (SCC), Sri Lanka

Organization structure of SAARC

The council of MinistersRepresented by the heads of foreign minister of government Highest policy making body Council meets twice in a year or more if necessary

Function of council ministers

Standing committeesProgramming committee Technical committee They consist of foreign secretaries of government Uncertain meeting held when ever it is necessary

Charter of SAARCCharter of Saarc signed in Dhaka on 8th December 1985 Social charter of Saarc signed in Islamabad on 4th January 2004

SAARC SUMMIT 1st Dhaka in Dec1985 2nd Bangalore in Nov1986 3rd in Kathmandu in Nov1987 4th Islamabad in Dec 1988 5th male in Nov1990 And so on many summit occur in different


SAARC PREFERENTIAL TRADING AGREEMENT SAPTA was signed on 11 April 1993 Entered in to force on 7 December 1995 with the desire of Saarc member To promote and sustain mutual trade and economic cooperation with in the Saarc region Basic principle of SAPTA

Related Documents