Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series
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Google Analytics and Google Adwords for the Online Marketer
Elias Dabbas May 7, 2014
Google Analytics
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Main Online Measures / Metrics
Visits
CPA
CPCCPM
Click-Through Ratio (CTR)
Ad Impressions
Unique Visitors
Conversions
Bounce Rate
Page Views
Page Views
Number of times a page was served / “viewed”
heat map, showing the eye fixations on the page
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Number of times an ad was served “viewed” Same as page views, usually used for ads (usually >1 impression per page)
Ad Impressions
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Visits (sessions) & Unique Visitors (users)
•Visits (sessions):
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•Unique Visitors (users):
Number of times a “session” is started at a site or a user comes to the site
Number of people (computers) that visited your site
I might visit you 3 times this week, but I’m 1 unique visitorExample:
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Pages / Visit!
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Average page views per visit Total page views ÷ total visits
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Bounce Rate
•Number of single-page visits (visits with 1 page view) •1-page visits ÷ Total visits = Bounce Rate
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Click-Through Ratio (CTR)
•Number of clicks on a banner / text ad / link etc. compared to total views (impressions)
•Clicks ÷ Impressions = CTR
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Visits per Visitor (Sessions per User)• Average times a visitor (computer browser) comes to the site within a certain period of time !
• Total visits ÷ Unique Visitors = Visits per Visitor !
• Important measure of loyalty
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CPx• CPC: cost per click !
• CPM: cost per 1,000 impressions !
• CPL: cost per lead !
• CPA: cost per action (acquisition) !
• CPF: cost per fan (or follower)
Conversions
• Conversions: actions you want people to complete on your site. Example: purchases, registrations, download a file, contact us, etc !
• Conversions ÷ Visits (or UVs) = Conversion Rate
Conversions
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Visits
CPA
CPCCPM
Click-Through Ratio (CTR)
Ad Impressions
Unique Visitors
Conversions
Bounce Rate
Page Views
“Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted” ! Albert Einstein
Types of Websites (Actions) !
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What do I want my users to DO?
Media / Content
!Articles, videos, photos, news, etc... Usually free content, ad supported Example goals: maximize time spent on site, increase number of visitors
Products, services, subscriptions, etc... Selling products is the main revenue source Example goals: maximize sales, avg. order value
eCommerce / Transactional
Services / products that can’t be sold on a website (architecture, consulting, real estate) Qualified leads who contact you become customers Example goals: maximize leads, minimize cost per lead
Lead Generation
Users create content and share it, you provide the platform Created content generates traffic, which makes money depending on your business model Example goals: maximize content generated, viral marketing
User-Generated Content / Social
Other Types !
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!Directories Search engines Support websites Classified Ads
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Campaign Lifecycle
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• Total Spend: $10,000
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400 conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR • Conversion Rate • CPM • CPC • CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400 conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate • CPM • CPC • CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400 conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate • CPM • CPC • CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400 conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM • CPC • CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400 conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM • CPC • CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400 conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC • CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400 conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC • CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400 conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5 • CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400 conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5 • CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400 conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5 • CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400 conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5 • CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400 conversions
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Brand
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“Brand is purely and simply the sum-total of all customer experiences served-up by the organization. The brand is the experience.”
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Who you want to be Vs.
What people conceive you to be
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“Discover” Your Brand
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MyCoolTrips.com
mycooltrips.com/france: 90,000 pageviews mycooltrips.com/spain: 10,000 pageviews
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Content Traffic
50% 50%
France Spain
10%
90%
France Spain
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mycooltrips.com/france: 90,000 pageviews mycooltrips.com/spain: 10,000 pageviews mycooltrips.com/madrid: 1,000 pageviews mycooltrips.com/seville: 1,000 pageviews mycooltrips.com/cordoba:1,000 pageviews
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Content Traffic
13%
87%
France Spain
80%
20%
France Spain
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463M pages of content 1 page of search
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Google Analytics - SummaryMeasures / Metrics !Pageviews Visits (sessions) Unique visitors (users) Ad impressions Click-through ratio Conversion rate Bounce rate CPX
Types of Websites !Media / Content Lead Generation eCommerce User Content / Social
Campaign Lifecycle Brand Assessment
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Search Ads (SEM)
Search Ads
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Keywords: used cars buy used cars used cars for sale used car dealers
Keywords: iphone 5s i phone 5 s iphone 5s best price buy iphone 5s
• You only pay when someone clicks on your ad • You determine the maximum cost per click you are willing to pay
• Ranking of ads depends on maximum CPC and quality score
Payment / Pricing
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• Automated way for publishers to “sell” advertising on their site !
• Publishers place a piece of code on pages and Google automates the process of bidding, placement, pricing, payments, etc…
Google Display Network (GDN)
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Google Display Network (GDN)
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Types of Ads!
• Text • Image • Video • Mobile (web) • Mobile (call)
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Text Ads
• Headline: 25 characters • Description Line 1 & 2: 35 characters • Display URL: 35 characters • Destination URL: 1,024 characters
–Destination and display URLs can be different, but the domain has to be the same
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Image Ads320 × 50 Mobile banner 320 × 100 Large mobile 468 × 60 Banner 728 × 90 Leaderboard 250 × 250 Square 200 × 200 Small square 336 × 280 Large rectangle 300 × 250 Inline rectangle 120 × 600 Skyscraper
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!160 × 600 Wide skyscraper 300 × 600 Half-page ad 970 × 90 Large leaderboard 240 × 400 Vertical rectangle 980 × 120 Panorama 930 × 180 Top banner 250 × 360 Triple widescreen 580 × 400 Netboard 970 × 250 Billboard
Formats .GIF, .JPG, .PNG, .SWF Max. size 150KB
Display Ad Builder
• Customize your own ad online55
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• Automatic resizing for all available sizes
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Video Ads (Click to Play)
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Mobile Ads – Smart Phones
Account Structure
• Campaigns • Ad groups • Ads • Keywords • Destination URLs • Bids
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AdWords Account Structure
Website1.com
Restaurants
Order Online
Great Deals from great restaurants. Order now Website.com/orders
Unbeatable Prices from great restaurants. Order now Website.com/orders
Order food Food online Order pizza
Bids Destination URLs
Information
Concerts
Rock Concerts
Account
Campaigns
Ad Groups
Ads & Keywords
Account
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Account
•One Google account •Accessible / manageable by several accounts •Different access levels
•Admin • Standard •Read Only • Email Only
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Campaign (Settings)• Parameters under which ads/keywords/ad groups function –Language –Network(s) –Geography –Daily budget –Device settings –Scheduling
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Language Targeting
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Make sure you only target people who will be able to read your content, watch out for languages that use similar scripts !!Keywords may have different meanings (e.g. British vs. American English) !!Ad text can produce different responses
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Geographical Targeting
Time of the Day / Day of the Week
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Campaign Best Practices• Use a consistent naming convention
–Make sure campaign name includes as many useful parameters as possible
E.g. AR-GCC-Used Cars Search EN-GCC-Used Cars Search EN-GCC-Used Cars Display
• Separate search and content (display)
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Ad Groups• Groups of ads that appear to any of a group of keywords
Keywords: used cars buy used cars used cars for sale used car dealers
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Ad Group Best Practices• Keywords as closely related to each other as possible
• Always test more than one ad • Make sure you have a good relevant landing page for each ad group
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Keyword Match Types
Exact: [coffee beans] Will only show ads if and only if the exact string of
characters is searched for !
Phrase match: ‘coffee beans’ Exact string with other keywords before or after Coffee beans shop, buy coffee beans, get coffee
beans
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Keyword Match Types!
Modified Broad Match: coffee +brew Similar keywords using the same stem Brewing, brewer, brewery, breweries !
Broad match: coffee beans Similar keywords, plurals, variations, synonyms Coffee bean, great coffee bean shop, coffee shop
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Negative: -cappuccino Helps make sure you are eliminating content you
don’t have
Writing Effective AdsAds relevant to specific keywords Features Benefits Calls to action Using keywords in ads Test different landing pages
Ads Relevant to KeywordsEach ad group should be focused on a topic !
Ads should communicate messages specifically according to keywords
BenefitsMain point of interest They are what your product achieves for the user They are what users care about !
Examples: feeling good about themselves (loosing 10kg), feeling safe on the road (air bags), securing a good future for your kids (good ROI on investment plan), etc…
FeaturesHow your product helps me achieve the benefits Specific evidence about your product Points of differentiation !
Examples: 65” screen, 12MP camera, ABS breaks, real leather shoes, etc…
Calls to ActionLeads user to a specific thing to do Generates enthusiasm in the moment Filters users !
Examples: register now, buy immediately, signup for our newsletter, share with your friends, join the community, etc…
AdWords Campaign Strategies (summary)
Targeting Keywords Geography Language Keyword match type Time of day / Day of
week Search / search partners Display Devices Demographics
Effective Ads Ads relevant to specific keywords Features Benefits Calls to action Using keywords in ads Test different landing
pages
Measurement Click through rate Cost per click Cost per conversion Impressions Clicks Conversions !
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Thank You !!!Elias Dabbas elias@media-supermarket.com !slideshare.net/eliasdabbas
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