Top Banner
Google Analytics and Google Adwords for the Online Marketer Elias Dabbas May 7, 2014
81

Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

May 08, 2015

Download

Marketing

Elias Dabbas

Basics of online marketing and how they apply to Google Analytics and Google AdWords.
Welcome message from author
This document is posted to help you gain knowledge. Please leave a comment to let me know what you think about it! Share it to your friends and learn new things together.
Transcript
Page 1: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Google Analytics and Google Adwords for the Online Marketer

Elias Dabbas May 7, 2014

Page 2: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Google Analytics

2

Page 3: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

3

Main Online Measures / Metrics

Visits

CPA

CPCCPM

Click-Through Ratio (CTR)

Ad Impressions

Unique Visitors

Conversions

Bounce Rate

Page Views

Page 4: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Page Views

Number of times a page was served / “viewed”

heat map, showing the eye fixations on the page

4

Page 5: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

5

Number of times an ad was served “viewed” Same as page views, usually used for ads (usually >1 impression per page)

Ad Impressions

Page 6: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

6

Visits (sessions) & Unique Visitors (users)

•Visits (sessions):

!

•Unique Visitors (users):

Number of times a “session” is started at a site or a user comes to the site

Number of people (computers) that visited your site

I might visit you 3 times this week, but I’m 1 unique visitorExample:

Page 7: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

7

Pages / Visit!

!

!

!

Average page views per visit Total page views ÷ total visits

Page 8: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

8

Bounce Rate

•Number of single-page visits (visits with 1 page view) •1-page visits ÷ Total visits = Bounce Rate

Page 9: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

9

Click-Through Ratio (CTR)

•Number of clicks on a banner / text ad / link etc. compared to total views (impressions)

•Clicks ÷ Impressions = CTR

Page 10: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

10

Visits per Visitor (Sessions per User)• Average times a visitor (computer browser) comes to the site within a certain period of time !

• Total visits ÷ Unique Visitors = Visits per Visitor !

• Important measure of loyalty

Page 11: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

11

CPx• CPC: cost per click !

• CPM: cost per 1,000 impressions !

• CPL: cost per lead !

• CPA: cost per action (acquisition) !

• CPF: cost per fan (or follower)

Page 12: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Conversions

• Conversions: actions you want people to complete on your site. Example: purchases, registrations, download a file, contact us, etc !

• Conversions ÷ Visits (or UVs) = Conversion Rate

Conversions

12

Page 13: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

13

Visits

CPA

CPCCPM

Click-Through Ratio (CTR)

Ad Impressions

Unique Visitors

Conversions

Bounce Rate

Page Views

Page 14: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

“Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted” ! Albert Einstein

Page 15: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Types of Websites (Actions) !

!

!

!

What do I want my users to DO?

Page 16: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Media / Content

!Articles, videos, photos, news, etc... Usually free content, ad supported Example goals: maximize time spent on site, increase number of visitors

Page 17: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Products, services, subscriptions, etc... Selling products is the main revenue source Example goals: maximize sales, avg. order value

eCommerce / Transactional

Page 18: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Services / products that can’t be sold on a website (architecture, consulting, real estate) Qualified leads who contact you become customers Example goals: maximize leads, minimize cost per lead

Lead Generation

Page 19: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Users create content and share it, you provide the platform Created content generates traffic, which makes money depending on your business model Example goals: maximize content generated, viral marketing

User-Generated Content / Social

Page 20: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Other Types !

!

!Directories Search engines Support websites Classified Ads

Page 21: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

21

Campaign Lifecycle

Page 22: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

22

• Total Spend: $10,000

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400 conversions

Page 23: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

23

• Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR • Conversion Rate • CPM • CPC • CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400 conversions

Page 24: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

24

• Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate • CPM • CPC • CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400 conversions

Page 25: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

25

• Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate • CPM • CPC • CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400 conversions

Page 26: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

26

• Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM • CPC • CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400 conversions

Page 27: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

27

• Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM • CPC • CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400 conversions

Page 28: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

28

• Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC • CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400 conversions

Page 29: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

29

• Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC • CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400 conversions

Page 30: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

30

• Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5 • CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400 conversions

Page 31: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

31

• Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5 • CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400 conversions

Page 32: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

32

• Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5 • CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400 conversions

Page 33: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

33

• Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5 • CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400 conversions

Page 34: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

34

Brand

Page 35: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

35

“Brand is purely and simply the sum-total of all customer experiences served-up by the organization. The brand is the experience.”

Page 36: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

36

Who you want to be Vs.

What people conceive you to be

Page 37: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

37

“Discover” Your Brand

Page 38: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

38

MyCoolTrips.com

mycooltrips.com/france: 90,000 pageviews mycooltrips.com/spain: 10,000 pageviews

Page 39: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

39

Content Traffic

50% 50%

France Spain

10%

90%

France Spain

Page 40: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

40

mycooltrips.com/france: 90,000 pageviews mycooltrips.com/spain: 10,000 pageviews mycooltrips.com/madrid: 1,000 pageviews mycooltrips.com/seville: 1,000 pageviews mycooltrips.com/cordoba:1,000 pageviews

Page 41: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

41

Content Traffic

13%

87%

France Spain

80%

20%

France Spain

Page 42: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

42

463M pages of content 1 page of search

Page 43: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

43

Google Analytics - SummaryMeasures / Metrics !Pageviews Visits (sessions) Unique visitors (users) Ad impressions Click-through ratio Conversion rate Bounce rate CPX

Types of Websites !Media / Content Lead Generation eCommerce User Content / Social

Campaign Lifecycle Brand Assessment

Page 44: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

44

Page 45: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

45

Search Ads (SEM)

Page 46: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Search Ads

46

Keywords: used cars buy used cars used cars for sale used car dealers

Keywords: iphone 5s i phone 5 s iphone 5s best price buy iphone 5s

Page 47: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

• You only pay when someone clicks on your ad • You determine the maximum cost per click you are willing to pay

• Ranking of ads depends on maximum CPC and quality score

Payment / Pricing

47

Page 48: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

• Automated way for publishers to “sell” advertising on their site !

• Publishers place a piece of code on pages and Google automates the process of bidding, placement, pricing, payments, etc…

Google Display Network (GDN)

48

Page 49: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

49

Google Display Network (GDN)

Page 50: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

50

Page 51: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

51

Page 52: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Types of Ads!

• Text • Image • Video • Mobile (web) • Mobile (call)

52

Page 53: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Text Ads

• Headline: 25 characters • Description Line 1 & 2: 35 characters • Display URL: 35 characters • Destination URL: 1,024 characters

–Destination and display URLs can be different, but the domain has to be the same

53

Page 54: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Image Ads320 × 50 Mobile banner 320 × 100 Large mobile 468 × 60 Banner 728 × 90 Leaderboard 250 × 250 Square 200 × 200 Small square 336 × 280 Large rectangle 300 × 250 Inline rectangle 120 × 600 Skyscraper

54

!160 × 600 Wide skyscraper 300 × 600 Half-page ad 970 × 90 Large leaderboard 240 × 400 Vertical rectangle 980 × 120 Panorama 930 × 180 Top banner 250 × 360 Triple widescreen 580 × 400 Netboard 970 × 250 Billboard

Formats .GIF, .JPG, .PNG, .SWF Max. size 150KB

Page 55: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Display Ad Builder

• Customize your own ad online55

Page 56: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

56

Page 57: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

57

• Automatic resizing for all available sizes

Page 58: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

58

Video Ads (Click to Play)

Page 59: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

59

Page 60: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

60

Mobile Ads – Smart Phones

Page 61: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Account Structure

• Campaigns • Ad groups • Ads • Keywords • Destination URLs • Bids

61

Page 62: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

62

AdWords Account Structure

Website1.com

Restaurants

Order Online

Great Deals from great restaurants. Order now Website.com/orders

Unbeatable Prices from great restaurants. Order now Website.com/orders

Order food Food online Order pizza

Bids Destination URLs

Information

Concerts

Rock Concerts

Account

Campaigns

Ad Groups

Ads & Keywords

Page 63: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Account

63

Page 64: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Account

•One Google account •Accessible / manageable by several accounts •Different access levels

•Admin • Standard •Read Only • Email Only

64

Page 65: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Campaign (Settings)• Parameters under which ads/keywords/ad groups function –Language –Network(s) –Geography –Daily budget –Device settings –Scheduling

65

Page 66: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Language Targeting

66

Make sure you only target people who will be able to read your content, watch out for languages that use similar scripts !!Keywords may have different meanings (e.g. British vs. American English) !!Ad text can produce different responses

Page 67: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

67

Geographical Targeting

Page 68: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Time of the Day / Day of the Week

68

Page 69: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Campaign Best Practices• Use a consistent naming convention

–Make sure campaign name includes as many useful parameters as possible

E.g. AR-GCC-Used Cars Search EN-GCC-Used Cars Search EN-GCC-Used Cars Display

• Separate search and content (display)

69

Page 70: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Ad Groups• Groups of ads that appear to any of a group of keywords

Keywords: used cars buy used cars used cars for sale used car dealers

70

Page 71: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Ad Group Best Practices• Keywords as closely related to each other as possible

• Always test more than one ad • Make sure you have a good relevant landing page for each ad group

71

Page 72: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Keyword Match Types

Exact: [coffee beans] Will only show ads if and only if the exact string of

characters is searched for !

Phrase match: ‘coffee beans’ Exact string with other keywords before or after Coffee beans shop, buy coffee beans, get coffee

beans

72

Page 73: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Keyword Match Types!

Modified Broad Match: coffee +brew Similar keywords using the same stem Brewing, brewer, brewery, breweries !

Broad match: coffee beans Similar keywords, plurals, variations, synonyms Coffee bean, great coffee bean shop, coffee shop

73

Page 74: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

74

!

Negative: -cappuccino Helps make sure you are eliminating content you

don’t have

Page 75: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Writing Effective AdsAds relevant to specific keywords Features Benefits Calls to action Using keywords in ads Test different landing pages

Page 76: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Ads Relevant to KeywordsEach ad group should be focused on a topic !

Ads should communicate messages specifically according to keywords

Page 77: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

BenefitsMain point of interest They are what your product achieves for the user They are what users care about !

Examples: feeling good about themselves (loosing 10kg), feeling safe on the road (air bags), securing a good future for your kids (good ROI on investment plan), etc…

Page 78: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

FeaturesHow your product helps me achieve the benefits Specific evidence about your product Points of differentiation !

Examples: 65” screen, 12MP camera, ABS breaks, real leather shoes, etc…

Page 79: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

Calls to ActionLeads user to a specific thing to do Generates enthusiasm in the moment Filters users !

Examples: register now, buy immediately, signup for our newsletter, share with your friends, join the community, etc…

Page 80: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

AdWords Campaign Strategies (summary)

Targeting Keywords Geography Language Keyword match type Time of day / Day of

week Search / search partners Display Devices Demographics

Effective Ads Ads relevant to specific keywords Features Benefits Calls to action Using keywords in ads Test different landing

pages

Measurement Click through rate Cost per click Cost per conversion Impressions Clicks Conversions !

Page 81: Analytics and Adwords for Online Marketers DIC Excellence Series

81

Thank You !!!Elias Dabbas [email protected] !slideshare.net/eliasdabbas