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June 24, 2015 Jesse Soleil – EVP, Global Director of PNConnect, Porter Novelli PR GENOME SERIES: MOVING BEYOND AWARENESS – HACKING THE FUTURE OF PR
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PR Genome: Moving Beyond Awareness – Hacking the Future of PR

Aug 06, 2015

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Page 1: PR Genome: Moving Beyond Awareness – Hacking the Future of PR

June 24, 2015

Jesse Soleil – EVP, Global Director of PNConnect, Porter Novelli

PR GENOME SERIES: MOVING BEYOND AWARENESS –HACKING THE FUTURE OF PR

Page 2: PR Genome: Moving Beyond Awareness – Hacking the Future of PR

Hacking PR?

Page 3: PR Genome: Moving Beyond Awareness – Hacking the Future of PR

PESO

Page 4: PR Genome: Moving Beyond Awareness – Hacking the Future of PR

What “Shared” Represents

“Moms”

“Samsung” “Singapore Banking”

Page 5: PR Genome: Moving Beyond Awareness – Hacking the Future of PR
Page 6: PR Genome: Moving Beyond Awareness – Hacking the Future of PR

Social Audiences Are Transient

Page 7: PR Genome: Moving Beyond Awareness – Hacking the Future of PR

Human Behavior and Social Relationships

• Brands are often social narcissistsReal relationship building via social looks like this

• Awareness – He/She’s interesting

• Engagement – buy you a drink/have a conversation?

• Convert – go on a date • Advocacy – tell your

friends how happy you are

Page 8: PR Genome: Moving Beyond Awareness – Hacking the Future of PR

The Customer Journey

Awareness Engagement Conversion Advocacy> > >

Page 9: PR Genome: Moving Beyond Awareness – Hacking the Future of PR

Human Behavior

• Audience– What they want to to see/watch/read/play/use?– Where they want to see/watch/read/play/use?– What we want them to do. – What we want them to do next.– What we really want them to do.– What we really really want them to do.

Page 10: PR Genome: Moving Beyond Awareness – Hacking the Future of PR

Measuring Success viaAnalytics and Measurement

KPIs KPIs KPIs KPIs

Awareness Engagement Conversion Advocacy> > >

THE CUSTOMER JOURNEY

PS

ONon

OE

P S

E

Channels• Broadcast• Social (Primary)• Search

O

Channels• Website• Blog• Content Hub• Social (Secondary)

Channels• Website• eCommerce• CRM• Email

Channels• Social• CRM• Website• Blog

Content Ecosystem

Page 11: PR Genome: Moving Beyond Awareness – Hacking the Future of PR

Earned Content Example

• J&J x NYT

Hint: Goes in engagement

Page 12: PR Genome: Moving Beyond Awareness – Hacking the Future of PR

#1 Way to Discovery

Page 13: PR Genome: Moving Beyond Awareness – Hacking the Future of PR

Content Decay

Page 14: PR Genome: Moving Beyond Awareness – Hacking the Future of PR

Engagement

• Where do you end up when it is time to engage?

• Earned Content• Owned Content• Curated Content KPIs

Engagement

O

Channels• Website• Blog• Content Hub• Social (Secondary)

Page 15: PR Genome: Moving Beyond Awareness – Hacking the Future of PR

Building Awareness

• How do people discover content?– Sharable?– Targeted?– Interesting?– Shaped like a hook?– Paid?

KPIs

Awareness

PS

E

Channels• One to Many• Social (Primary)• Search

Page 16: PR Genome: Moving Beyond Awareness – Hacking the Future of PR

Conversion

• Yes sales – digital channels easier to measure outcomes

• Sales are NOT the only conversion measure

KPIs

Conversion

NonOO

Channels• Website• eCommerce• CRM• Email

Page 17: PR Genome: Moving Beyond Awareness – Hacking the Future of PR

Advocacy

• Community management REALLY lives in advocacy

• Success hinges on small “i” influence

• Don’t assume big “I” influence just like a traditional broadcast channel– Influencers work even better if

they know what your desired outcomes are

KPIs

E

P S

Channels• Social• CRM• Website• Blog

Advocacy

Page 18: PR Genome: Moving Beyond Awareness – Hacking the Future of PR

Measuring for Success

• Describing value• We often just look at KPIs for each phase – Awareness – likes, impressions, reach, sentiment– Engagement – shares, retweets, comments

• Not what created momentum and what didn’t– What awareness content drove audiences to engage,

What engagement content created the most conversion, what conversion experiences built the most advocacy?

• This is the essence of content optimization

Page 19: PR Genome: Moving Beyond Awareness – Hacking the Future of PR

Disney Parks Blog Disney VacationsSocial

Awareness Engagement Conversion Advocacy> > >

Organic Advocacy

Views (video)Time on PageTime on SiteBounce

CommentsSharesReachRe-Tweets

Vacations Booked = $$$CRM

ImpressionsReachSentiment

KPIs

Search

Earned

What Awareness Content Drove Engagement?

What Engagement Content Drove Conversion?

What Conversion Content Drove Advocacy?

What Advocacy Content Drove Awareness?

Theme Park Example

Page 20: PR Genome: Moving Beyond Awareness – Hacking the Future of PR

Awareness Engagement Conversion Advocacy> > >

Insurance Co. Example

Page 21: PR Genome: Moving Beyond Awareness – Hacking the Future of PR

Lifetime Value of a Customer

• Imagine knowing the lifetime value of a customer on day one – Example: Insurance company value is $200/mo

ave * 5 years ave = $12,000 per lifetime– If we drive 174 quotes in four months from a

single trackable channel via Merkle @ 174 * $12,000 = $2.08M/ration of online quote to close• Still unmeasurable channels, but we’re getting there

Page 22: PR Genome: Moving Beyond Awareness – Hacking the Future of PR

Value of Journey

KPIs KPIs KPIs KPIs

Awareness Engagement Conversion Advocacy> > >

THE CUSTOMER JOURNEYValue• CPC• Social• SEO

Value• 2 min visitor• 15 min visitor• 30 min visitor• 45 min visitor

Value• Revenues• Email addresses• CRM activity

Value• Social• Content

Lifetime Value

$12,000

$2 to $300

Channel EngagementValue

$.25 to $30

Channel AwarenessValue

Advocates

$???

Page 23: PR Genome: Moving Beyond Awareness – Hacking the Future of PR

Direct Marketing vs Indirect Marketing

• Direct marketing – low conversion rates, a numbers game

• Indirect marketing (via content) – content acts as a “conditioning agent” the longer the time with it, the higher the likelihood of conversion

• Content qualifies customers!

Page 24: PR Genome: Moving Beyond Awareness – Hacking the Future of PR

Measurement is the Key

• First time in history we can truly describe the impact of our work on businesses!

• PR budgets have often been smaller than marketing budgets, until now

• Take the lead, be the hero, and show everyone how valuable we are

• Budgets and responsibility will increase proportionally

• Win the argument for “who owns social”

Page 25: PR Genome: Moving Beyond Awareness – Hacking the Future of PR

Thank You!

Jesse SoleilEVP, Global Director of PNConnect, Porter [email protected]: 212.601.8157