Philippine Womens UniversityAnd Its Affiliate Schools for Men
and WomenTaft, Manila, Philippines
Media PlanHi-ro Biscuit
Submitted by:Dabandan, Yvonne CarylDeang, KristelEcat,
JessicaNaldoza, Nesha Ricca
Submitted to:Prof. Marianita Laura Mombay
1. Situation Analysis
History of the MarketThe need for nutritious, easy-to-store,
easy-to-carry, and long-lasting foods on long journeys, in
particular at sea, was initially solved by taking live food along
with a butcher/cook. However, this took up additional space on what
were either horse-powered treks or small ships, reducing the time
of travel before additional food was required. This resulted in
early armies' adopting the style of hunter-foraging.
The introduction of the baking of processed cereals including
the creation of flour provided a more reliable source of food.
Egyptian sailors carried a flat, brittle loaf of millet bread
called dhourra cake, while the Romans had a biscuit called
buccellum. Roman cookbook Apicius describes: "a thick paste of fine
wheat flour was boiled and spread out on a plate. When it had dried
and hardened, it was cut up and then fried until crisp, then served
with honey and pepper."
The original biscuit was a flat cake that was put back in the
oven after being removed from its tin, hence the French name bis
(twice) cuit (cooked). This very hard, dry biscuit was the staple
for sailors and soldiers for centuries. During the time of Louis
XIV, soldiers biscuits were known as stone bread.
Animalized biscuits were introduced later. They were thought to
be very nutritious because they used meat juices as the liquid. In
the 19th centuries, travelers biscuits were hard cakes that kept
well wrapped in a kind of tin foil.
Feathery, light biscuits originated in Southern plantation
kitchens but, now are popular throughout the United States. Rolled
biscuits were a staple at most meals, but beaten biscuits became
another Southern favorite. Beaten biscuits are made light by
beating air into the dough with a mallet or a rolling pin (up to
100 strokes or more for company). Beaten biscuits are typically
thinner and crispier than baking powder biscuits.
Hi-ro biscuit is still available in supermarkets, sari-sari
stores, and convenient stores. It is also popular in online selling
because of its cheap price and this product is directed from the
factory. It can help to boost the sales of Hi-ro biscuit even if it
is not marketable.2. The Product
Hi-Ro biscuit is a chocolate sandwich cookie with vanilla
filling. It has nutritional facts wherein it has calories(140) fats
(8g), carbohydrates (15g) and proteins (0g). It is one of the
products of the Filipinas Biscuit Corporation, labeled as Fibisco.
It started during 1960s together with the promotion of other
Fibisco products such as Butter Crunch, Jolly, and Butter
Cookies.
COMMONWEALTH FOODS, INC. (Comfoods Inc.), a Filipino firm, is a
conglomeration of three pioneering food-manufacturing companies,
which were merged on September 30, 1968. The three corporations
were: Commonwealth Foods, Inc., Philippine Food Industries, Inc.,
and the Filipinas Biscuit Corporation.
The man behind this very well-known and big company is Mr.
Archimedes Handog. It is also a member of Philippine Chamber of
Food Manufacturers, Inc. (Food Chamber)
Features: Crispy chocolate-flavored cookie Delicious vanilla
cream-filling Combination of rich chocolate, vanilla cream, and
biscuit
Sizes: snack pack (3 pairs) 33 g polytube 80 g
Variants: Hi-ro with cream Hi-ro without cream
Price
P 20.00 (80 g.)
VariantsPrice
Hi-ro with cream54
Hi-ro without cream51
*Prices may change without prior notice
Distribution online supermarket stores (convenient, wholesale or
retailer) drugstores export
Promotion Social Networking Sites (Facebook, Twitter, etc) Blog
Sites (forums.pinoybusiness.org) Online Selling Sites (Lazada,
AyosDito, etc) TV Commercials
3. Consumers
Demographics:
Male or female 5 yrs. old and above Middle class Unemployed,
Employed and Self-employed
Target Market
Class C (Working Class)- youth (especially students) and people
who have jobs and enough income or average salary Class D (Working
Poor)- people who have blue collar jobs
Psychographics
People who tend to buy this product are the ones who want to
save money and at the same time to fulfill their hunger
The taste of the product convinces the target market to buy
Hi-ro biscuits
Customers able to buy the product because of its
availability
Most of the buyers are in middle class
Buyers didnt just buy the product because of its taste but also
because of its quality and their familiarity to the product
4. Competitors
Rebisco or Republic Biscuit Corporation (Rebisco Sandwich)
Brief HistoryFrom its humble beginning as England Biscuit
Factory in August 1963 in San Juan, Metro Manila, to what is now
known as Republic Biscuit Corporation; generations of Filipinos
have been enjoying Rebiscos basic portfolio of biscuits and now its
wide range of snack foods.
With its growing extensive distribution network, market
research, and technology and product development, Rebisco soon
positioned itself as one of the major players in the snack food
industry. Until now, Rebisco is still true to its claim of
providing "Best-Value Products" by maintaining quality at par with
the best in the country.It was founded by Jacinto Ng.
4 Ps:Price: P 6.00Product: Rebisco Cracker SandwichPromotion:
Broadcast, Social mediaPlace: Supermarkets, Sari-sari stores, and
convenient stores
Nabisco or National Biscuit Corporation (Oreo)
Brief HistoryNabisco dates its founding to 1898,a decade when
the bakery business underwent a major consolidation. Early in the
decade, bakeries throughout the country were consolidated
regionally, into companies such as Chicago's American Biscuit and
Manufacturing Company (which was formed from 40 Midwestern bakeries
in 1830), the New York Biscuit Company (consisting of seven eastern
bakeries), and the United States Baking Company. In 1898, the
National Biscuit Company was formed from the combination of those
three. The merger resulted in a company with 114 bakeries across
the US and headquartered in New York City. The "biscuit" in the
name of the company is a British English and early American English
term for cracker and cookie products.Key to the founding of Nabisco
was Pittsburgh baking mogul Sylvester S. Marvin. Marvin arrived in
Pittsburgh in 1863 and established himself in the cracker business,
founding S. S. Marvin Co. Its products included crackers, cakes and
breads. Marvin was called the Edison of manufacturing for his
innovations in the bakery business. By 1888 it was the largest in
the US, and the centerpiece of the National Biscuit Company
(Nabisco). Marvin was also a member of the elite South Fork Fishing
and Hunting Club of Johnstown Flood fame.
4 Ps:Price: Product: OreoPromotion: Social Media, Platform Media
(Sponsors), New Media (Internet), Broadcast MediaPlace:
Supermarkets, Sari-sari stores, convenient stores, and drug
stores
Monde Nissin Corporation (Bingo)
Brief History
Monde Nissin Corporation was originally incorporated as Monde
Denmark Nissin Biscuit Corporation in 1980 when it started out
manufacturing biscuits. Among its products were Nissin Butter
Coconut and Nissin Wafer.In 1989, the company ventured into the
instant noodle segment under the Lucky Me! brand. It has become the
leading brand of instant noodles in the Philippine. The company
later launched the very first dry noodle in pouches (the Lucky Me!
Pancit Canton) and the first bowl noodle (Lucky Me! Supreme La Paz
Batchoy).The Lucky Me! brand currently accounts for 64% of the
company's retail sales.In 2002, the company acquired M.Y. San
Corporation, the manufacturer of the popular brands Sky Flakes,
M.Y. San Graham Crackers, and Fita. Subsequently, the company
changed its name to Monde M.Y. San Corporation.In 2014, Monde
Nissin acquired Black Swan, and in 2015 acquired Nudie Juices and
Menora Foods.
4 Ps:Price: P 18.OO (75 g.)Product: Bingo Sandwich
CookiesPromotion: Social Media, Broadcast MediaPlace: Supermarkets,
Sari-sari stores, convenient stores, and drug stores
S.W.O.T. (Hi-ro biscuit)StrengthsWeaknesses
It has affordable price lack of advertising
Filipino-made product no interaction to customers
55 years of existence lack of information
It has a different kind of taste it is not a significant source
of trans fat, Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Calcium and Iron
It is own by a big company it has no official and developed
website
OpportunitiesThreats
Expanded suppliers field in other countries It has a lot of
competitors
A lot of export opportunities outside Philippines Its product
can be easily substituted
There was only little competition in overseas markets It has
only few market segments
Problems / Challenges
1.) Product advertisement is uncommon or rare.
2.) Hi-ro biscuit suffers from the understanding that local
products are inferior to foreign brands.
3.) Brand constancy appears to have been captured by the leading
competitor.
4.) Product appears to have less creativity with the packaging,
it never change or upgraded. 5.) There is lack of presences in
outlets, including supermarkets, sari-sari store, convenience
stores and wet markets.
6.) Stock appears to be limited with little space.
7.) Sales of the product are dwarfed by Oreo etc., who dominated
the market with share on sale.8.) To generate over 100 million in
sales by the end of the year.
Marketing Objectives1. Increase sales product by 10%2. Recruit
suitable and well-trained agents in different cities in Philippines
3. Expand the storage for the stocks 4. Increase the product
distribution in different markets nationwide5. Provide a constant
level of promotional incentives6. Persuade the distributors /
clients/ agents to increase stocks at least Communication
objectives: To increase the awareness of the site/services.
To improve eating habits among families especially for the
children.
Increase the number of people participating to our different
kind of activities for the chosen charity
Re-launch the improved product into customers to reach more of
the market Improve brand recognition amongst target audiences
Inform target market about being an established product for more
than 55 years in the market
Marketing objectives: To increase the awareness of the
site/services.
Internet Strategy
Participating in blogs that pertain to our business is a
strategy that allows us to interact with potential buyers.
Media Strategy: Having an official Facebook page of HI-RO
biscuits and an account in Twitter. By this way, people could reach
us and connect us that they can leave comments or feedback
regarding the product. It is also the best way on how they can be
updated whether we will have special programs, events or promos to
offer.
To improve eating habits among families especially for the
children.
Use broadcast media to educate the audience about the benefits
of biscuit and to provoke the children to eat biscuit rather than
junk foods
Sponsor an event for families (Nutrition Month event)
Increase the number of people participating to our different
kind of activities for the chosen charity
Communicate through social media to inform and invite the target
market to join
Re-launch the improved product into customers to reach more of
the market Low-cost Media StrategyUsing a low-cost media strategy
to reach a targeted group of customers.Media Strategy: We could
advertise it by producing stickers with a logo of HI-RO biscuits
and some information (short-bond paper sized) and then giving it to
some sari-saris store to post it in front of their stores or walls
that people can actually easily see it. Improve brand recognition
amongst target audiences
Demonstrating a Product
Well demonstrate the effectiveness of a product by using the
common example of before and after technique which shows the
improvement of the product may it be in appearance or
packaging.
Media Strategy: Enhance the packaging and post photos of the new
packaging on the official website of Fibisco.
Inform target market about being an established product for more
than 55 years in the market
High-cost Media StrategyUsing a high budget for advertising the
product to market.
Media Strategy: Advertising through newspapers and magazines;
Making a commercial and advertising it through television networks;
Recording an own trademark jingle and then advertise through radio
stations; Having a partnership with some other product and
organizing an event (for example: Milo milk drink partnered with
fibisco biscuits in one run marathon)
Media Plan for 1 yearA one-year media plan is proposed for Hi-ro
biscuits. The promotional and advertising campaign starts in June
2015 and culminates in June 2016.The total budget for media
placements is 38 million for 12 months of the promotion. This
excludes expenses for other media support.The first wave covers
June, July, and August (Intramurals) and Sports Fest sponsored for
some schools.For the months of September, October, November, and
December, Hi-ro biscuits will sponsor or be in partnership with
sport events like Milo Run Marathon.The third wave comprises
January, February, and March. We will have particular gimiks.
(Benefit concerts and events on Valentines Day)On the last 2
months, it ushers the last wave of the campaign. (Summer
outings)June 2016 culminates the promotional activities.
Summary for the different media used:MediaGoals
Television To help the customers visualize the features of the
product
To reach the target market easily
To remind the audience that hi-ro biscuit is still existing
To gain more customers
To promote not just the product but also Fibisco and
Comfoods
Radio To entertain the listeners/target market
To increase the customers
To persuade the target market
Print To spread more information
To gain dealers, agents and suppliers To promote hi-ro biscuit
To reach the target market
Media tacticsJune 2015ClassVehicleSize/DurationFrequencyUnit
CostCost/WeeklyMonthly Cost
TelevisionGMA 7Ismol Family
Yes Fm
30 sec.
60 sec.2x daily
2x daily695,500
31,2001,391,000
(62,400)312,0005,564,000
1,248,000
Radio
PrintPhilippine Star
Flyers
Stickers
inside page
Letter 8.5x11 full page
Letter 8.5x11half page2x/week
3x/week (3k flyers/week)
2x/week(1k stickers/week)32,500
15.00
30.0065,000
45,000
30,000260,000
180,000
120,000
TOTAL7,372,000
July 2015ClassVehicleSize/DurationFrequencyUnit
CostCost/WeeklyMonthly Cost
TelevisionGMA 7Ismol Family
Yes Fm
30 sec.
60 sec.2x daily
2x daily695,500
31,2001,391,000
(62,400)312,0005,564,000
1,248,000
Radio
PrintPhilippine Star
Flyers
Stickers
inside page
Letter 8.5x11 full page
Letter 8.5x11half page2x/week
3x/week (3k flyers/week)
2x/week(1k stickers/week)32,500
15.00
30.0065,000
45,000
30,000260,000
180,000
120,000
TOTAL7,372,000
August 2015ClassVehicleSize/DurationFrequencyUnit
CostCost/WeeklyMonthly Cost
TelevisionGMA 7Ismol Family
Yes Fm
30 sec.
60 sec.2x daily
2x daily695,500
31,2001,391,000
(62,400)312,0005,564,000
1,248,000
Radio
PrintPhilippine Star
Flyers
Stickers
inside page
Letter 8.5x11 full page
Letter 8.5x11half page2x/week
3x/week (3k flyers/week)
2x/week(1k stickers/week)32,500
15.00
30.0065,000
45,000
30,000260,000
180,000
120,000
TOTAL7,372,000
September 2015ClassVehicleSize/DurationFrequencyUnit
CostCost/WeeklyMonthly Cost
TelevisionGMA 7Ismol Family
Yes Fm
30 sec.
60 sec.3x daily
2x daily695,500
31,2002,86,500
(62,400)312,0008,346,000
1,248,000
Radio
PrintPhilippine Star
Flyers
Stickers
inside page
Letter 8.5x11 full page
Letter 8.5x11half page2x/week
3x/week (3k flyers/week)
2x/week(1k stickers/week)32,500
15.00
30.0065,000
45,000
30,000260,000
180,000
120,000
TOTAL10,154,000
October 2015ClassVehicleSize/DurationFrequencyUnit
CostCost/WeeklyMonthly Cost
TelevisionGMA 7Ismol Family
Yes Fm
30 sec.
60 sec.3x daily
2x daily695,500
31,2002,86,500
(62,400)312,0008,346,000
1,248,000
Radio
PrintPhilippine Star
Flyers
Stickers
inside page
Letter 8.5x11 full page
Letter 8.5x11half page2x/week
3x/week (3k flyers/week)
2x/week(1k stickers/week)32,500
15.00
30.0065,000
45,000
30,000260,000
180,000
120,000
TOTAL10,154,000
November 2015ClassVehicleSize/DurationFrequencyUnit
CostCost/WeeklyMonthly Cost
TelevisionGMA 7Ismol Family
Yes Fm
30 sec.
60 sec.3x daily
2x daily695,500
31,2002,86,500
(62,400)312,0008,346,000
1,248,000
Radio
PrintPhilippine Star
Flyers
Stickers
inside page
Letter 8.5x11 full page
Letter 8.5x11half page2x/week
3x/week (3k flyers/week)
2x/week(1k stickers/week)32,500
15.00
30.0065,000
45,000
30,000260,000
180,000
120,000
TOTAL10,154,000
December 2015ClassVehicleSize/DurationFrequencyUnit
CostCost/WeeklyMonthly Cost
TelevisionGMA 7Ismol Family
Yes Fm
30 sec.
60 sec.3x daily
2x daily695,500
31,2002,86,500
(62,400)312,0008,346,000
1,248,000
Radio
PrintPhilippine Star
Flyers
Stickers
inside page
Letter 8.5x11 full page
Letter 8.5x11half page2x/week
3x/week (3k flyers/week)
2x/week(1k stickers/week)32,500
15.00
30.0065,000
45,000
30,000260,000
180,000
120,000
TOTAL10,154,000
January 2016ClassVehicleSize/DurationFrequencyUnit
CostCost/WeeklyMonthly Cost
TelevisionGMA 7Ismol Family
Yes Fm
30 sec.
60 sec.2x daily
2x daily695,500
31,2001,391,000
(62,400)312,0005,564,000
1,248,000
Radio
PrintPhilippine Star
Flyers
Stickers
inside page
Letter 8.5x11 full page
Letter 8.5x11half page2x/week
3x/week (2k flyers/week)
2x/week(500 stickers/week)32,500
15.00
30.0065,000
30,000
15,000260,000
120,000
60,000
TOTAL7,312,000
February 2016ClassVehicleSize/DurationFrequencyUnit
CostCost/WeeklyMonthly Cost
TelevisionGMA 7Ismol Family
Yes Fm
30 sec.
60 sec.2x daily
2x daily695,500
31,2001,391,000
(62,400)312,0005,564,000
1,248,000
Radio
PrintPhilippine Star
Flyers
Stickers
inside page
Letter 8.5x11 full page
Letter 8.5x11half page2x/week
3x/week (2k flyers/week)
2x/week(500 stickers/week)32,500
15.00
30.0065,000
30,000
15,000260,000
120,000
60,000
TOTAL7,312,000
March 2016ClassVehicleSize/DurationFrequencyUnit
CostCost/WeeklyMonthly Cost
TelevisionGMA 7Ismol Family
Yes Fm
30 sec.
60 sec.2x daily
2x daily695,500
31,2001,391,000
(62,400)312,0005,564,000
1,248,000
Radio
PrintPhilippine Star
Flyers
Stickers
inside page
Letter 8.5x11 full page
Letter 8.5x11half page2x/week
3x/week (2k flyers/week)
2x/week(500 stickers/week)32,500
15.00
30.0065,000
30,000
15,000260,000
120,000
60,000
TOTAL7,312,000
April 2016ClassVehicleSize/DurationFrequencyUnit
CostCost/WeeklyMonthly Cost
TelevisionGMA 7Ismol Family
Yes Fm
30 sec.
60 sec.3x daily
2x daily695,500
31,2002,86,500
(62,400)312,0008,346,000
1,248,000
Radio
PrintPhilippine Star
Flyers
Stickers
inside page
Letter 8.5x11 full page
Letter 8.5x11half page2x/week
3x/week (3k flyers/week)
2x/week(1k stickers/week)32,500
15.00
30.0065,000
45,000
30,000260,000
180,000
120,000
TOTAL10,154,000
May 2016ClassVehicleSize/DurationFrequencyUnit
CostCost/WeeklyMonthly Cost
TelevisionGMA 7Ismol Family Yes Fm
30 sec.
60 sec.3x daily
2x daily695,500
31,2002,86,500
(62,400)312,0008,346,000
1,248,000
Radio
PrintPhilippine Star
Flyers
Stickers
inside page
Letter 8.5x11 full page
Letter 8.5x11half page2x/week
3x/week (3k flyers/week)
2x/week(1k stickers/week)32,500
15.00
30.0065,000
45,000
30,000260,000
180,000
120,000
TOTAL10,154,000
Annex:1. GRP for Broadcast MediaGRP = Reach x Frequency =
50,713,715.50 x 2(x daily) =101,427,431
2. CPRP - Cost per Rating point CPRP = cost of commercial time/
Program Rating
= 695,500/24.8 (GMA 7 Rating) = 28,024.20
3. RadioCPM - cost per thousand ( people) CPM = cost of ad space
( absolute cost ) Circulation x 1000 =31,200 (absolute cost)
100,000 x 1000 = 312NewspaperCPM - cost per thousand ( people) CPM
= cost of ad space ( absolute cost ) Circulation x 1000 =32,500
(absolute cost) 30,000 x 1000 = 1083.33
4. Total Cost of Ad Placements in different types of
Media:Television333,840,000(June, July, August 2015; January,
February, March)+(July, October, November, December 2015; April,
May 2016)50,076,00083,460,000
Radio1,248,000 x 12 months14,976,000
Print Media(260,000) + (180,000) + (120,000) x 12
months6,720,000
Total: 105,156,000
5. Media Plan per Wave
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