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DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account
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DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Dec 16, 2015

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Darlene Budde
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Page 1: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

DAY CAMPToday’s Quick Win:

Optimizing an AdWords Account

Page 2: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Meet our guests!

@fortinDrew Fortin

Marketing Manager

@cunninghamkellyKelly CunninghamInbound Marketing

Consultant

@briggsnhMike BriggsVP Search at

Website Publicity Group

Page 3: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

5 Week Paid Search Webinar Series

• 7/13 | Intro to Paid Search• 7/20 | How to set up a Google AdWords Account• 7/27 | Campaign Management w/ AdWords Editor• 8/2 | Performance Metrics & Optimization• 8/10 | Advanced Tactics (Q&A Panel)

Page 4: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Housekeeping

A recording of today’s webinar, as well as the following resources will be posted to camp.hubspot.com:

1. Intro To Paid Search In 30 Minutes blog post on camp.hubspot.com/blog

2. Paid Search Resources and Education

Page 5: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Today’s Goal & Agenda

GOAL: Give you the tools and knowledge to optimize your AdWords account, in 30 minutes

AGENDA: For the next 30 minutes, we will walk you through the following items:

• How to track success in AdWords.• How to

• Spend less money, • Convert more leads, • Be more successful in AdWords

• Optimization basics, bidding basics, and analysis in AdWords

Page 6: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Last Week We Covered…

How to create and modify campaigns in AdWords Editor

How to work offline, share accounts, and post changes

How to save your time in your limited work day!

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Page 7: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Optimizing is a process

Optimize Ad Delivery

Refine Search Traffic

Identify Good & Poor Converters

Adjust Bidding

Implement Optimization

Program

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Page 8: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Optimization is not

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Set itAnd

Forget it

Page 9: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Optimizing is a process

Optimize Ad Delivery

Refine Search Traffic

Identify Good & Poor Converters

Adjust Bidding

Implement Optimization

Program

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Page 10: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Optimizing Ad Delivery

Google prizes relevance above all else, “Quality Score” (QS)

QS is a measure of relevance• Keyword to ad text• Keyword to landing page• Landing page load time• Keyword historic Click Through Rate (CTR)• Advertiser’s specific keyword CTR

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Page 11: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Why does QS matter??

Quality score affects how your bid is used

Higher QS means lower CPC for better position

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𝐴𝑑𝑅𝑎𝑛𝑘=𝑄𝑆∗𝑀𝑎𝑥𝐶𝑃𝐶

Page 12: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Where do you find QS?

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Page 13: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

What to do with low QS

QS 7+• Good

QS 4-6• Subtly improve ad text• Keep monitoring

QS 1-3• Refine keyword groupings• Better ad text, keywords in ads• Relevant landing pages

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Page 14: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Optimizing is a process

Optimize Ad Delivery

Refine Search Traffic

Identify Good & Poor Converters

Adjust Bidding

Implement Optimization

Program

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Page 15: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Refine Search Traffic

Examine actual search queries:

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Page 16: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Refine Search Traffic

Examine actual search queries:

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Page 17: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Refine Search Traffic

Examine actual search queries:• Add any phrases that are relevant• Add negatives to campaign if off-target• Look for new ad group opportunities

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Page 18: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Search terms in action

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Added keywords

“Made in USA”, new ad group

Wrong Brand, add as negative

Page 19: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Optimizing is a process

Optimize Ad Delivery

Refine Search Traffic

Identify Good & Poor Converters

Adjust Bidding

Implement Optimization

Program

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Page 20: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Identify Good & Poor Converters

Ensure Google Conversions are active• Create and tag• Or import from Analytics

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Page 21: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Set goals and analyze

Set a Cost per Action (CPA) you are willing to pay

Enable column in AdWords

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Page 22: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

CPA =

Value of customer * lead to customer ratio

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Page 23: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Analyze successes

User filters to find ad groups and/or keywords < CPA

Increase these bids proportionally

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Page 24: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Optimizing is a process

Optimize Ad Delivery

Refine Search Traffic

Identify Good & Poor Converters

Adjust Bidding

Implement Optimization

Program

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Page 25: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Be Analytical

Calculate your Max CPC based on history:

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Willing to pay $25 per actionConversion rate 10%

$25 * 0.10 = $2.50 Max CPC

Page 26: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Adjust Bidding

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14% conv rate * $25 CPA = $3.50

Max CPC

Page 27: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

AdWords Editor Can Help

Show statistics

Filter

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Page 28: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Ready to Export to Excel

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Page 29: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Consider CPA bidding

Once you have 15 conversions in 30 days, eligible for CPA bidding

Great for Display (Content) Network

On Settings tab:

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Page 30: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Dimensions tab

Looks for ways to segment and save

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Page 31: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Day-parting Weekdays

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Page 32: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Day-parting hours

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Page 33: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Optimizing is a process

Optimize Ad Delivery

Refine Search Traffic

Identify Good & Poor Converters

Adjust Bidding

Implement Optimization

Program

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Page 34: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Implement an Optimization Program

Frequency Tasks

Daily • Check budgets, ensure high converters fully funded

• Look for keywords below first page bid

Weekly • Analyze and adjust bids• Assess Quality Score• Review Search Queries

Monthly • Run Ad Diagnostics• Review 0 converting low volume

keywords

Quarterly • Revisit Keyword Research• Review Opportunities Tab

Periodically • Check Day-parts• Geographic Success• Demographics• Explore Google reports and tools• Device conversions

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Page 35: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Marketing Take Away

Optimization is a cycle, not a single task

Start with ensuring good ad delivery, then improve performance

Get on a schedule and keep on top of account

If you lag behind, outsource help?

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Page 36: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Next Day Camp Sessions

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o 7/13 | Intro to Paid Searcho 7/20 | How to set up a Google AdWords Accounto 7/27 | Campaign Management w/ AdWords Editoro 8/2 | Performance Metrics & Optimizationo 8/10 | Advanced Tactics (Q&A Panel)

Page 37: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Send your questions

Send your questions to:

[email protected]

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