B17 mhw - intro to 500 distro

Post on 16-Apr-2017

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The 500 Growth Process

Chandini Ammineni Distribution Partner

@ammineni

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Should my startup focus on “Growth”?

Depends on stage of startup

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Pre P/M Fit Post P/M Fit

GOAL P/M fit Scalable, repeatable, predictable growth

METRIC Engagement, Retention Growth Rate

DATA Qualitative + quantitative Quantitative + qualitative

GROWTH STRATEGY Hustle Build a Growth Machine

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Pre P/M Fit Post P/M Fit

GOAL P/M fit Scalable, repeatable, predictable growth

METRIC Engagement, Retention Growth Rate

DATA Qualitative + quantitative Quantitative + qualitative

GROWTH STRATEGY Hustle Build a Growth Machine

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Product-Market Fit

A product that solves a problem “well enough” for a “big enough” market

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Early Stage - Pre-P/M Fit

Non-Scalable work

Macro-Iterations on:

• product features • messaging • target audience

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Qualitative Data

NPS

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Quantitative DataRetention

Img credit: Brian Balfour

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Pre P/M Fit Post P/M Fit

GOAL P/M fit Scalable, repeatable, predictable growth

METRIC Engagement, Retention Growth Rate

DATA Qualitative + quantitative Quantitative + qualitative

GROWTH STRATEGY Hustle Build a Growth Machine

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Pre P/M Fit Post P/M Fit

GOAL P/M fit Scalable, repeatable, predictable growth

METRIC Engagement, Retention Growth Rate

DATA Qualitative + quantitative Quantitative + qualitative

GROWTH STRATEGY Hustle Build a Growth Machine

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Users Customers Revenue Gross Margin Profit…

Depends on $$ in bank

Growth Rate of What?

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Pre P/M Fit Post P/M Fit

GOAL P/M fit Scalable, repeatable, predictable growth

METRIC Engagement, Retention Growth Rate

DATA Qualitative + quantitative Quantitative + qualitative

GROWTH STRATEGY Hustle Build a Growth Machine

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Growth Machine

Not Tactics, but Mindset & Process, ingrained in culture

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Growth Machine - Goal

OMTM

Start with the end objective in mind

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Growth Machine

Brainstorm Experiments

Define GoalsPick Key MetricsHypotheses

ImplementAnalyze

Rinse & Repeat

$30k Monthly Revenue in 3 months

# of Visitors; Visitor to Purchase conversion rate

Lack of Trust

Testimonials; Return guarantees

Git ‘er doneTestimonials increased revenue by 20%

Systemize Productize or systemize

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Growth Mindset• NO FAILURE

• Everything is a lesson learnt

• Hypotheses validated or invalidated

• Move Fast, Break Things, take Calculated Risks

• Momentum in testing required to outrun failures

• Faster Learnings = Faster Earnings

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Focus here

Double down on what’s already working

Fixing leaks in your AARRR Funnel

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Identify what already worksProduct: Core Value of product, Magic Moment - obvious post P/M fit

Acquisition: Top of Funnel Segmentation (homework)

Most Valuable Customers Customer Segmentation (homework) If applicable, Segment Product Category

Other: Customer Service, Brand Value - Qualitative feedback (homework)

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Doubling Down - How?Doubling down on Product Reducing friction, referrals, push notifications…

Doubling down on Acquisition Spend more money, broader reach, expanding keyword list…

Doubling down on Most Valuable Customers Evangelists, heavy spenders, better acquisition targeting…

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

But, there’s a limit to Doubling Down

Product You can send only so many emails, push notifications, and referrals before returns diminish

Acquisition CPA starts to increase

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Focus here

Double down on what’s already working

Fixing leaks in your AARRR Funnel

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

The Pirate FunnelEcommerceACQUISITION

REFERRAL

REVENUE

RETENTION

ACTIVATION100 add to cart

10 repeat

10 shares

30 purchases

1000 Visitors

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

The Pirate Funnel

ACQUISITION

REFERRAL

REVENUE

RETENTION

ACTIVATION

1000 Visitors

500 Accnts created

100 Users

50 Advocates

10 Customers

SaaS

10/1000 = 1% conversion rate

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

The Pirate Funnel

ACQUISITION

REFERRAL

REVENUE

RETENTION

ACTIVATION

1000 Visitors cvr = 50%

cvr = 20%

cvr = 10%

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Funnel OptimizationFixing Leaks = Funnel Optimization

• Asking for signup/login after/during product value delivery

• Exit pop-up survey • Login with social credentials • Ad landing pages • Personalized user experience (geo, return user

experience..) • more…

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

The Pirate FunnelACQUISITION

REFERRAL

REVENUE

RETENTION

ACTIVATION

1000 Visitors cvr = 50%

cvr = 20%

cvr = 10%

Revenue = Visitors x activation cvr x retention cvr x revenue cvr x AOV

$2500 = 1000 x 0.5 x 0.2 x 0.1 x $250@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Bottom of funnel = Higher impact

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Thank You

@ammineni #500STRONG

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