Top Banner
The 500 Growth Process Chandini Ammineni Distribution Partner @ammineni @ammineni #MHW #500STRONG
30

B17 mhw - intro to 500 distro

Apr 16, 2017

Download

Marketing

Welcome message from author
This document is posted to help you gain knowledge. Please leave a comment to let me know what you think about it! Share it to your friends and learn new things together.
Transcript
Page 1: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

The 500 Growth Process

Chandini Ammineni Distribution Partner

@ammineni

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 2: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

Should my startup focus on “Growth”?

Depends on stage of startup

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 3: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

Pre P/M Fit Post P/M Fit

GOAL P/M fit Scalable, repeatable, predictable growth

METRIC Engagement, Retention Growth Rate

DATA Qualitative + quantitative Quantitative + qualitative

GROWTH STRATEGY Hustle Build a Growth Machine

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 4: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

Pre P/M Fit Post P/M Fit

GOAL P/M fit Scalable, repeatable, predictable growth

METRIC Engagement, Retention Growth Rate

DATA Qualitative + quantitative Quantitative + qualitative

GROWTH STRATEGY Hustle Build a Growth Machine

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 5: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

Product-Market Fit

A product that solves a problem “well enough” for a “big enough” market

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 6: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

Early Stage - Pre-P/M Fit

Non-Scalable work

Macro-Iterations on:

• product features • messaging • target audience

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 7: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

Qualitative Data

NPS

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 8: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

Quantitative DataRetention

Img credit: Brian Balfour

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 9: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

Pre P/M Fit Post P/M Fit

GOAL P/M fit Scalable, repeatable, predictable growth

METRIC Engagement, Retention Growth Rate

DATA Qualitative + quantitative Quantitative + qualitative

GROWTH STRATEGY Hustle Build a Growth Machine

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 10: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

Pre P/M Fit Post P/M Fit

GOAL P/M fit Scalable, repeatable, predictable growth

METRIC Engagement, Retention Growth Rate

DATA Qualitative + quantitative Quantitative + qualitative

GROWTH STRATEGY Hustle Build a Growth Machine

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 11: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

Users Customers Revenue Gross Margin Profit…

Depends on $$ in bank

Growth Rate of What?

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 12: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

Pre P/M Fit Post P/M Fit

GOAL P/M fit Scalable, repeatable, predictable growth

METRIC Engagement, Retention Growth Rate

DATA Qualitative + quantitative Quantitative + qualitative

GROWTH STRATEGY Hustle Build a Growth Machine

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 13: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

Growth Machine

Not Tactics, but Mindset & Process, ingrained in culture

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 14: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

Growth Machine - Goal

OMTM

Start with the end objective in mind

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 15: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 16: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

Growth Machine

Brainstorm Experiments

Define GoalsPick Key MetricsHypotheses

ImplementAnalyze

Rinse & Repeat

$30k Monthly Revenue in 3 months

# of Visitors; Visitor to Purchase conversion rate

Lack of Trust

Testimonials; Return guarantees

Git ‘er doneTestimonials increased revenue by 20%

Systemize Productize or systemize

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 17: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

Growth Mindset• NO FAILURE

• Everything is a lesson learnt

• Hypotheses validated or invalidated

• Move Fast, Break Things, take Calculated Risks

• Momentum in testing required to outrun failures

• Faster Learnings = Faster Earnings

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 18: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

Focus here

Double down on what’s already working

Fixing leaks in your AARRR Funnel

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 19: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

Identify what already worksProduct: Core Value of product, Magic Moment - obvious post P/M fit

Acquisition: Top of Funnel Segmentation (homework)

Most Valuable Customers Customer Segmentation (homework) If applicable, Segment Product Category

Other: Customer Service, Brand Value - Qualitative feedback (homework)

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 20: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

Doubling Down - How?Doubling down on Product Reducing friction, referrals, push notifications…

Doubling down on Acquisition Spend more money, broader reach, expanding keyword list…

Doubling down on Most Valuable Customers Evangelists, heavy spenders, better acquisition targeting…

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 21: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

But, there’s a limit to Doubling Down

Product You can send only so many emails, push notifications, and referrals before returns diminish

Acquisition CPA starts to increase

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 22: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

Focus here

Double down on what’s already working

Fixing leaks in your AARRR Funnel

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 23: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 24: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

The Pirate FunnelEcommerceACQUISITION

REFERRAL

REVENUE

RETENTION

ACTIVATION100 add to cart

10 repeat

10 shares

30 purchases

1000 Visitors

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 25: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

The Pirate Funnel

ACQUISITION

REFERRAL

REVENUE

RETENTION

ACTIVATION

1000 Visitors

500 Accnts created

100 Users

50 Advocates

10 Customers

SaaS

10/1000 = 1% conversion rate

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 26: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

The Pirate Funnel

ACQUISITION

REFERRAL

REVENUE

RETENTION

ACTIVATION

1000 Visitors cvr = 50%

cvr = 20%

cvr = 10%

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 27: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

Funnel OptimizationFixing Leaks = Funnel Optimization

• Asking for signup/login after/during product value delivery

• Exit pop-up survey • Login with social credentials • Ad landing pages • Personalized user experience (geo, return user

experience..) • more…

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 28: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

The Pirate FunnelACQUISITION

REFERRAL

REVENUE

RETENTION

ACTIVATION

1000 Visitors cvr = 50%

cvr = 20%

cvr = 10%

Revenue = Visitors x activation cvr x retention cvr x revenue cvr x AOV

$2500 = 1000 x 0.5 x 0.2 x 0.1 x $250@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 29: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

Bottom of funnel = Higher impact

@ammineni #MHW #500STRONG

Page 30: B17   mhw - intro to 500 distro

Thank You

@ammineni #500STRONG