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Revolutionize Wholesale Sales With B2B eCommerce
49

NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Aug 14, 2015

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Page 1: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Revolutionize Wholesale Sales With B2B eCommerce

Page 2: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

What is B2B eCommerce

Cloud & MobileeCommerce for Wholesale

Wholesale 2.0

OrdersQuotesProduct CatalogsInventory

ReportingCustomer DataMarketing Materials

Page 3: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

The Problem We Are Solving(B2B) Is an entire channel waiting to be disrupted.

Wholesale industries are stuck in the dark ages.

Current processes are extremely antiquated.(i.e. Handwritten orders & printed catalogs)

Page 4: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Increase sales two ways…

Page 5: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Existing Customer Growth

New Customer Acquisition1 2

Page 6: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

CUSTOMERS

Acquisition Growth

Prospects Conversion Reorder & Up-Sell

Referral

Page 7: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Let’s begin looking at why current sales strategies are broken…

Page 8: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Sales Reps Use Printed Catalogs• Immediately out of date • Exorbitant design & print costs • Impossible to search & filter • Multiple versions - different regions

Page 9: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

HIGHLIGHT

Buyer or Rep Manually

‘Noted’ Styles

• Notes are in a single catalog - buyer leaves with valuable info • Manager / owner has zero visibility on forecast / trending styles

Page 10: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

The rep reaches for the order pad or excel form…

Page 11: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

A negative cycle starts:• Rep & buyer lose valuable momentum (given effort)

• No visual presentation to drive the sale forward

• Nearly impossible to edit quickly — your window for up-sell shuts

• Buyers who are not ready will rush this process, minimizing or killing any possible opportunity

Page 12: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

The rep & buyer dance begins…

The rep is now at the mercy of the buyer. The sale has not been managed.

Meanwhile, you have a stack of scribbled notes (what you can remember) &

handwritten orders that can’t be analyzed.

Page 13: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

To keep the ball rolling, you create PPT presentations to recap your buyer

meetings…

Page 14: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

40 Minutes Per Presentation

Page 15: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

You spend weeks creating these

(day & night)

You tried emailing these, but they are too big?!? Next, how do you take a PPT to the order phase?

Page 16: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Without any concrete forecasting or pipeline…

The brand risks everything and places a production order.

Page 17: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

In your final selling week,

Orders start appearing.

Head office enters each order in a frenzy to get visibility.

Page 18: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

What Have We DiscoveredMove Beyond Printed Materials

Out of Date / Wasted $$$ / Impossible to Search or Recap

Buyer ‘Likes’ - Instant & Sortable Recap to Drive Next StepImpossible with Paper or Excel

Orders Must Be a Natural StepDon’t Kill Momentum by Using an Order Form in Another Medium (Paper or Excel)

Orders Must Be Visual, Easily Editable & Offer ForecastingProduction Orders Should be Based on Real Data

Give Yourself Sales Control

Why Would the Customer Purchase Deeper into Your Collection?

Page 19: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Let’s now compare using a B2B eCommerce platform

Page 20: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Present an Unlimited Amount of Catalogs

Page 21: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Sell Confidently with Accurate, Up-to-Date Inventory

Page 22: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Quickly Find Products with Searchable Catalogs

Page 23: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Catalog to Close

Page 24: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

On the Web:• Beautiful Presentation • Buyers Select Products to Order

Page 25: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Buyers Select Products from Multiple Catalogs on 1 Order

Page 26: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Present & Select - iPadPresent & Select Products via iPad

Page 27: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Recap & Upsell Drag N Drop Whiteboard

Page 28: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

• Share Recommended Order • Send as 1-Click EZ Order • Bulk Mail to One or Many Buyers

Page 29: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Buyer Selects Desired Products from Your Recommendations

Page 30: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Buyer Enters Quantities & Submits Order

Page 31: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Easily Create Forecast Orders

Page 32: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Reporting

Page 33: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Edit Products, Quantities & Dates

Page 34: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Order Is Submitted & Confirmed

Page 35: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Smile! (Actual Customer)

Page 37: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Select “Immediate” Product Under “Availability”

Page 38: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Add to a Custom Catalog

Page 39: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

• Share with 1 or Many Buyers • Buyer Can Order In 1-Click

Page 40: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Why New Customers Are Worth More than their First Order

Page 41: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

LTV - “Lifetime Value”

Average Annual Order Volume

If you had 100 specialty stores last year & only 80 of those rebooked this year, then you churn 20% of your customers year over year. Your average customer lifetime is

1/0.2 = 5 years

Average Customer Lifetime

X

Page 42: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Example

Average Order Value $36,000

Length 5 Years

LTV $180,000

New Stores Acquired in 1 Year 30

Total LTV Created $5,4000,000

Page 43: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

The Magnitude of Increasing Order Size

Page 44: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Increase Order Size vs. ProfitSales Lift

15% 20% 25%

Sales $3,000,000 $3,450,000 $3,600,000 $3,750,000

COGS $1,200,000 $1,362,750 $1,404,000 $1,443,750

Expenses $1,600,000 $1,600,000 $1,600,000 $1,600,000

Profit $200,000 $487,250 $596,000 $706,250

% 6.7% 14.1% 16.6% 18.8%

Baseline Profit Growth 243.6% 298.0% 353.1%

Page 45: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Conclusions

Page 46: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Increase Order Size

No More Out of Date Printed

MaterialsTake Control of Your Selling

Proactive Selling

Page 47: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Forecast & Report Accurately

Analyze Your Business

Page 48: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

Sell Anywhere

Go Mobile (Offline)Enable your sales reps to capture notes, quotes & orders anywhere.

Offline capable = no need for WiFi

Ideal for tradeshows, in-store or on the road.

Page 49: NuORDER CEO Presents at AGENDA Long Beach

ConclusionsTake Control of the Sales Process - Break Free from Paper

Focus on Order Growth - Dramatic Profit DifferencesControl the Sales Cycle & Increase Order Volume Per Customer

New Accounts Are Worth Many Times their First-Order Value

Don't Live in the Dark with No DataForecast with Real Data & Put Yourself in a Winning Position

Enable Your Team to Sell More with Less

B2B eCommerce Is a Revolution that Is Available Today