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Nicole Pearce Akshay Chauhan Mariia Taranova VENT 4000 – ENTREPRENEURSHIP MOUNTAIN CLIMBERS APP
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Mountain climbers business-plan

Apr 11, 2017

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Page 1: Mountain climbers business-plan

Nicole PearceAkshay ChauhanMariia Taranova

VENT 4000 – ENTREPRENEURSHIP

MOUNTAIN CLIMBERS APP

Page 2: Mountain climbers business-plan

Contents

Executive Summary Section 1 Business Model Section 2 Feasibility Section 3 MarketingSection 4 OperationsSection 5 FinancesSources of Data

Page 1

23611152025

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Executive Summary

There are more than 1,000 provincial parks and protected areas in British Columbia that receive over 20 million visits each year. visitors use the parks for hiking and exploration, in addition to camping, swimming, and other outdoor activities, but our company wants to make this experience a breeze. Mountain Climbers wants to bring these parks and trails to life and provide information to help those people get out and explore the wilderness. This mobile application helps hikers look through vast number of trails in BC, and creates sense of community among them by giving them a platform to share their experience.

Mountain Climbers is an innovative and dynamic mobile app that uses both geolocation, and filters to search for an ideal trail at your skill level. The customizable search eliminates any frustrations whether you could bring your dog, if the trails are child-friendly, and where you can access parking. Users can create a hiking event and invite friends, or make it an open event, which people using the app nearby can join. Mountain Climbers will also have additional exclusive features such as forming hiking groups, sharing trips to hiking destinations, downloading GPS trail maps to mobile devices, and an overall in-app hiking planner.

More than 6.3 million Canadians reported to have at least some hiking experience while visiting British Columbia in last year, and the main advantage of Mountain Climbers is that these hikers get relevant up to date information provided by other hikers.They can share their own insight and experiences to help other users find the right trails rather than spending their time searching numerous sites

The ‘Mountain Climbers’ application will be free to users. Our company expects to mone-tize the application through in-app advertisements. The main focus is to reach and grow a user base, and grow the Mountain Climbers brand within BC.

Current market potential for the app within BC is around 1.5 million users. It’s expected to reach this number in three years. With the average user value, including acquisition costs and service costs, being $0.04, with in-app advertisements the annual profit for the third year will constitute 288,000 Canadian Dollars.

As there a functioning prototype is already in place, no investment funds are required on this stage. However, the business is open to strategic partnering with marketing profes-sionals who might be interested to work on promoting the app for a share in it.

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Mountain Climbers App

Screenshot 1

Trails Feed

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Trails Page

Screenshot 2

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Trail Map

Screenshot 3

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Section 1

Business Model

IntroductionMountain Climbers is an application that brings an intuitive and dynamic way for hikers to experience the hiking trails in British Columbia Provincial Parks.

The Application uses both geolocation, and customizable filters to search for an ideal trail at the user’s skill level. At the core, the app aims to solve the problem of information insufficiency for the hiking amateurs who, on one hand, have expertise to share, but have no tool to do so, and, on the other hand, experience a lack of information when it comes to exploring new sites.

The purpose of this mobile application is to expand the industry of "trail tech" tools that outdoor enthusiasts can use to plot, route, and explore hiking options based on their expertise and geolocation. In other terms, what Mountain Climber's seeks to accomplish is to greatly simplify looking for trails at a set skill level.

Product and Services

Mountain Climbers is a social hiking experience that assists users in discovering hiking trails, creating hiking events, or joining hiking events organized by other Mountain Climb-ers users. The features include a ‘search/browse’ page with filtering options so users can select a trail based on their personal hiking preferences. The filters are broken down by location, time, distance, and “tags” the user can select with more specific options such as dog-friendly, child-friendly, washroom accessibility, and transit accessibility.

The app is designed to be used on Android and iOS devices. Once installed on the user’s device, it gives access to the application’s full functionality: access to the database, and the ability to read and post reviews. However, in offline mode (e.g. when a person is on the trail), only saved maps and limited directory of nearby trails will be accessible

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The UsersThe app aims to target primarily the residents of British Columbia who practice hiking activities on a regular basis, these residents will become permanent users, content con-sumers and creators. The estimates outlined in the Market potential section total this number to 1.5mln people.

The secondary target group are the BC tourists who come both from other Canadian provinces and the US. Even though this group is 4 times larger than the first one (around 6.3mln people), it’s assumed its participant may use the app just during their short stays in BC and are less likely to produce the content.

The Opportunity

BC Parks Annual Report, 2014 states that in 2013/2014 BC park day visits are estimated at 18.6 mln. A BC Parks Website, a desktop resource by the Government of BC, had 3.5 mln unique visitors per year. This means that 1 out of 5 BC park visitors already do a desktop search prior to actually visiting a site. With an increase of smartphone usage, this number will definitely grow over time. But even now, it’s already a large audience to cater to.

Currently there is no mobile application platform that serves as a hiking trail directory for British Columbia. Existing resources are either exclusively desktop applications (before-mentioned BC Parks website), making it impossible to use it while a hiker is on the route, or their list of trails for BC is very limited (for example, AllTrails app). Thus, Mountain Climb-ers’ functionality clearly corresponds to an ongoing demand.

The Owners

The app was developed by a team of three students as a project while attending British Columbia Institute of Technology. All three membres are hiking amateurs and, when it came to choosing a topic for this project, there were no doubts about what should be built around. This diverse and cross-disciplinary team had a well developed skill set sufficient

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The Owners (cont.)enough to complete all the stages necessary for the application’s development and intro-duction into the marketplace.

In particular, the team lead and application marketer, Nikki Pearce already has more than two years of experience in managing social campaigns for number of small and medium size businesses. Akshay Chauhan, a UI/UX designer, has already completed the interface and experience design for 3 applications. The development side was implemented by Maria Taranova, a full stack engineer, with experience in ecommerce and contracting work.

The Legal Organisation

The business will be registered as a corporation under the Canada Business Corporation Act. One hundred voting shares will be issued with a distribution of 33.3% among the three managing partners - Nikki Pearce, Akshay Chauhan, and Mariia Taranova. In case the case that more partners join, each owner will be required to give a percentage for the benefit of the joining party.

Not only will the corporation protect the personal assets of the owners, it will also be a reliable foundation in the case that the company grows, and decides to attract investors or other means of external funds.

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Section 2

Feasability

LocationThe application will contain the trail directory for Provincial Parks located in British Colum-bia, Canada. It will be distributed through the Google App Store and Apple Store, so the users owning the devices with corresponding operational systems will be able to down-load and install the application from anywhere in the world. However, it is anticipated that because of content being closely relevant to only to British Columbia, most of the down-loads will happen in this region.

The owners of Mountain Climbers will be located in the downtown Vancouver area in a rented office space from thesharedesk.net. Since the product is a mobile application, considerations such as neighboring businesses or the demographics of the residents in the surrounding area are not relevant factors to the businesses location.

Sites

Mountain climbers is not a brick and mortar style business therefore it does not require a site for its business.

Locations Expenses

The location expenses will range from $1300 - $1500 per month depending on the rented office space. The space will include an outfitted boardroom, reception area, state of the art telephone system, desks, chairs, and all other necessary business equipment. As well, the space includes a fully fitted kitchen, and an administrative staff shared by the offices in the building.

There are additional rooms (such as a counselling room) that can be available to Mountain Climbers via request for after hours or on weekends. As per the rented office space agreement with thesharedesk.net the following additional amenities will also be included: mail service, meetings rooms, WiFi, coffee/tea, and avaliable catering. .

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Locations Expenses (contd.)

With this provided service no lease is required, Mountain Climbers can book the rented office space for the desired amount of time and pay the monthly fee associated with that space.

Market Potential

Outdoor activities are very popular among BC residents. A study that took place in 2009 indicated that 91% of respondents took part in some outdoor activity in the course of 12 months. 55% of the respondents indicated hiking among the scope (2009/2010 Outdoor Recreation Activity Study BC, 2013).

At the provincial level, British Columbia’s population was an estimated 4,683,139 as of July 1, 2015 (Sub-Provincial Population Estimates BC Stats, 2015). Projecting previously men-tioned statistics to total number of BC residents:

4,261,656 * 0.55 = 2,4 mln of BC residents are involved in hiking

To narrow down the number of hikers to those who actually use a smartphone, an esti-mation by “Smartphone Insight Report” (2013) is used. This report states that 64% of BC adults own a smartphone and use it on a daily basis, so an assumption is that there are 1.5mln people who reside in BC, own a smartphone and participate in hiking:

Mountain Climbers Market Potential: 2,4mln * 0.64 = 1.5 mln users

Competition

There are two hiking trail resources that are direct competition for Mountain Climbers.

Alltrails: A large North American database covering major hiking destinations, however it

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Competition (contd.)

has very limited amount of data per trail

Vancouver Trails: A local based directory with a solid database and large amounts of information and reviews per trail. Technologically it is outdated (frequent server shut-downs, etc) and not compatible with mobile devices

Mountain Climbers falls between the two: it is designed to be as user friendly as Alltrails, yet be locally situated like Vancouver Trails. Additional features that listed competitor do not have are now in development: forming groups, sharing trips to hiking destination, downloading GPS trail maps to mobile devices, and an overall in-app hiking planner.

Indirect competition includes directories for other outdoor activities excluding hiking trails, as well as hellobc.com, which provides an overview into what British Columbia has to offer tourists and residences.

Monetization

On average 34% of users who downloaded the app will actually use it (“App Retention Increasing: IPhone Ahead of Android”, 2012):

1.5*34% = 465,000 active users monthly

The average user value for mobile application, including acquisition costs and service costs, is $0.04 (Wilcox, 2013):

465,000*$0.04 = $18600/month

The study operates numbers in American Dollars, so roughly, according to the current currency exchange rate (March 2016), it equals to 24,000 CAD per month, or 288,000CAD per year.

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Forecast

The first three will be used to build a user base. The user acquisition is estimated to be distributed equally among three years. For year one, it’s estimated that app will acquire 155,000 users. For the second year, this number is expected to double, and, finally, reach the targeted 465,000 pool.

Year 1 155 000 users $99,200CADYear 2 310 000 users $198,4000CADYear 3 465 000 users $288,000CAD

Protecting the Business

Based on Mountain Climbers’ type of business, experience, and the types of coverages required, the company will be purchasing small business insurance with content, liability, and business interruption coverage. This will ensure all third party liability claims or issues with the businesses equipment has the proper coverage. Mountain Climbers has been quoted by an independent insurance broker $3000.00 per year which will be paid in monthly installments of $250.00. Split between the four prospective partners that will equal $62.50 per month per partner.

The application processing, and any professional advice Mountain Climbers may need from the insurance broker, will be provided free of charge.

Mountain Climbers has applied for the registration of a trademark and paid the fee of $300.00 and paid an additional $35.00 for a paper form of the documentation for the company’s records.

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Other oppurtunitiesDiversify revenue stream: Projection estimates rely exclusively on in-app advertising revenue stream. It requires minimum team involvement, and can be regarded as a pas-sive revenue stream. However, the Mountain Climbers team will rely on in-app advertising for the first three years, as during this time it will still concentrate on developing app’s feature set. Alternatively, the revenue stream has a potential be diversified by in-app purchases, sponsorship or contextual ads from direct advertisers. .

Including other target groups: Currently the plan is focused solely on BC residents becoming the users of the application. However, the potential audience of users who might own a stake in it can be expanded to Canadian and US residents who visit BC as tourists. Travel Activities and Motivations Study, 2006 (Hiking Product Overview, 2009), estimated that in two years BC parks accommodated 5.6 mln Canadian visitors and 7.4mln tourists from the US (roughly, 6.3mln people per year).

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Section 3

Marketing

ImageThe essential components of the Mountain Climbers brand are: CommunityEfficiency Humanizing

Mountain Climbers wants to be a leading human brand. Our company is focused on the relationships and benefits the end user receives, rather than solely focusing on the mone-tary value of the application. The focus is on the problem the application solves; spend less time planning your outdoor adventure, and spend more time outdoors with those who matter most.

Mountain Climbers champions the image of creating a sense of ease when planning a hike. Hikers shouldn’t have to waste their time with multiple tools and resources trying to pick the best outing.

Business Name

The name ‘Mountain Climbers’ is self explanatory in of itself, but it’s not just about the physical act of climbing a mountain. There are a lot of different ways to climb a mountain, each one of our users has goals, objectives, and their own summits to climb. The name ‘Mountain Climbers’ embodies achieving your goals and reaching a point of success.

Mountain Climbers creates a platform that hikers can easily plan their trips with the right people, but it also subconsciously creates a sense of purpose and value that our users will not forget.

Service/Product Mix

Currently there is only one version of the application ‘Mountain Climbers’ that includes all of the functionality and features. As the company expands, additional features that users

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Service/Product Mix (contd.)

Currently there is only one version of the application ‘Mountain Climbers’ that includes all of the functionality and features. As the company expands, additional features that users can purchase within the app might be added (meaning, adoption of freemium model). Those additional features will be added to the overall service mix of the application as development continues.

Pricing

The ‘Mountain Climbers’ application will be free to users. Our users are looking for prod-ucts to help reach and sustain their healthy lifestyle goals. Our main focus is to gain as many users within our target market to build up a user network that will produce content gaining the interest of more users, so that later on relevant in-app advertising that’s spe-cific to users’ interests will be provided.

Competition

Mountain Climbers was designed as a mobile web application and it’s compatible with both Android and Apple devices. For the Canadian market, the split within the users by operational system is 55% for iOS (Apple Store) and 37% for Android (Google Play)(Hardy, 2014). So by getting into the Google Play and Apple Stores, the app will be accessible for 92% of all smartphone users within the country. While on Google Play the app approval takes hours, on Apple Store the time from the submission to publishing is 4-7 days.

Although the time limits are low, time to prepare documentation for submission should also be taken into account. Both stores require code and data configuring according to device type, setting up account (all legal information about the publisher is required at this point), testing, providing metadata (e.g.description, age restrictions), and code revision if approval conditions require so. The app will also be accessible from a desktop as a website running under the domain nikkpearce.com/mclimbers.

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Promotion

Email and social media advertising would be the most successful platforms for our appli-cation as there would already be a connection between the application and the user’s social media channels via the application login. Sharing pictures or reviews and re-posting their content on Facebook or Twitter gives Mountain Climbers word-of-mouth advertising, as the users will be endorsing the product and recommending it to their networks.

Email advertising is another way to partner with companies that have in-app advertise-ments on Mountain Climbers. Partners like MEC can feature the application in their email campaigns to their subscribers.

Any publicity Mountain Climbers gets would be through joint advertising with the in-app advertisers (Example: Mountain Equipment Co-op), and other outdoor activity based companies.

Since the application is a digital product, personal selling will not be a strategy to promote the application and sell the in-app advertising space. When looking at advertorial space, the Mountain Climbers team would be promoting the product to advertisers and indus-try-related companies rather than to our users.

Sales aids for selling in-app advertising space include: • Documentation outlining the product and its unique functions• Target audience data featuring the amount of users/organic search numbers for our application and competitors showing the demand for this type of product• Review mining - showcase popular and positive reviews as evidence

Another mode of promotion is a promotional application video - it’s the quickest way for the audience to see the features and benefits as well have instant app store accessibility from the video links. Mountain Climbers can highlight the application with detailed screen-shots so users can see the design as well as the value of the application. There are some risks associated with this promotional method: generally promotional videos are expen-sive, and even if paid social media promotion was used, there is no guarantee of the video’s reach.

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Promotion Evaluation

To ensure Mountain Climbers is reaching its marketing goals, the company will use a combination of metrics and analytics tools, as a data-driven approach will give a compre-hensive view on how well our promotional methods are performing.

Mountain Climbers will use mobile application metrics to track and analyze application download, in-app ‘pageviews’, CTR and bounce rates on the in-application advertisements, as well as a user’s crawl rate. From this it can determine which advertisements are engaging Mountain Climbers’ users and how our company can create better content, and a better mobile application experience.

The social media promotions will be track and analyze via the platform analytics. Face-book and Twitter both come equipped with tools to track a user’s demographic, CTR, and calculate the overall impression and engagement rates of posted content. The quantitative data collected will show the company the ideal times and types of content the Mountain Climbers user data best responds to.

Mountain Climbers also has an informational website which our company will use SEO metrics to track and calculate our website rankings, page visits, and user conversion rates from the webpage to app store to application download. This will help our company deter-mine which keywords generate the highest leads and lead to a higher user conversion rate.

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Section 4

Operations

Space and EquipmentMountain Climbers will need the following office equipment which will be provided in the rent office space outlined in Feasibility - Location.

Equipment: Rented office space, that comes with furniture, wifi, work stations (one per partner), any necessary software licensing (Photoshop, Sketch, etc), hosting/servers, (leased car or car2go membership and monthly costs),

Items already owned by the initial three partners: Each partner will contribute basic laptops, some software licenses, photography equipment, and individual cell phone plans to assist Mountain Climbers in the initial startup costs.

Floor Plan

Mountain Climbers has not yet rented an office space but in the budget of $1300 - $1500 per month the floor plan will look similar to the illustration below (based on office spaces on thesharedesk.net).

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The illustration outlines Mountain Climbers’ individual office space, excluding the additional amenities provided by the rental building.

7’ 5”

21’ 9”

Cubicle 3

Cubicle 4

Cubicle 2

Cubicle 1

Chair

Workstation

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Logistics

In order for Mountain Climbers’ content to be provided to the users in a timely and effi-cient manner, our company will outsource and contract the following individuals: Free-lance photographers for updated database photos, a copywriter to ensure the written language for the individual trails is updated and relevant to the current time of year, and a content manager to manage the social media content and the user generated posts within the application. Mountain Climbers is about a respectful community, and our com-pany does not tolerate harmful or dangerous content, sexual harassment, violent or graphic content, or any content that does not respect copyright law.

Mountain Climbers will also have an accountant and contract lawyer on monthly retainer for services, and to specifically draw up contracts between employees, partners, pro-duct/application licensing, and terms & agreements.

Methods and Procedures

Mountain Climbers’ content manager and freelance photographers will work alongside the partners to create captivating content. All written content and photography for the individ-ual trails within the application will be copyrighted material owned by the company. For efficiency, Mountain Climbers will organized multiple trips within the year to gather new content relevant to the season, and work with the freelancer photographers within British Columbia to ensure the quality standard for the application’s content is met and exceeded. For consistency, the freelance photographer's will be guided to stick within the company’s brand. Any photography editing will be similar across all trails in order to retain to Mountain Climbers’ branded look.

All content, imagery, advertising, and comments will be held to our company’s high stan-dards. The application will include a feedback section for user feedback, questions, or concerns so Mountain Climbers can continue to deliver updated, relevant content that the users want to see. Alongside the in-application feedback, our company will take all social media correspondence seriously and evaluate all user posts to the Mountain Climbers social media accounts.

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Methods and Procedures (cont.)

Similar to our promotional strategy, Mountain Climbers will implement user tracking and analytics to continuously monitor the product for improvements.

Systems

Mountain Climbers’ planning and organizational structure will be comprised of the follow-ing systems:

Our scheduling will be through Google Calendar attached to the Mountain Climbers corpo-rate account that all partners will have access to. The company does not have any tangi-ble inventory, but all photography and written content will be stored on either Google Drive cloud storage or another similar platform. To maintain the company’s work flow, Mountain Climbers will use the application ‘Trello’ to monitor and track the agile methodology in place.

All billing and accounting statements will be kept and updated through Quickbooks, and client (user) records, advertisers, and other information contact information will be stored in Salesforce.

Organization

As outlined in the Business Model - The Owners, each partner will have their own individ-ual duties and responsibilities to the company. As Mountain Climbers is a startup with minimal staff, the hours of operations will vary day to day. Each partner will have access to an office key therefore there will be no dependency on another partner to gain access to the office. Below is the duties and task that each partner is responsible for during the day-to-day:

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Organization (cont.)

Nikki Pearce will be responsible for managing the social media campaigns and promotion-al strategies alongside the contracted content manager. She will be primarily responsible for customer conversion optimization and monitoring the analytics metrics in place. She will conduct link research, link building and tracking, and gather all the feedback from the Mountain Climbers users and advertisers to help with conversion research, A/B testing, and other growth marketing initiatives.

Mariia Taranova will handle all of Mountain Climbers development requirements. She will work closely with Nikki and Akshay to successfully integrate the content within the appli-cation. In order to provide a successful experience for the user's, she will give insight on how well the mobile application is functioning, and provide actionable solutions on how to optimize the app.

Lastly, Akshay Chauhan will manage all design assets of the Mountain Climbers applica-tion. He is an experienced UX/UI designer and will work closely with the content manager, and freelance photographers to ensure all content is on brand. He will collaborate with Nikki and Mariia on executing a solid interaction design for all/any new features, and consistently work on researching better way to enhance the user interface design pattern.

As the company grows and more administrative staff and partners join the company the duties and responsibilities of the current partners are subject to change.

Partnering

At this stage Mountain Climbers offers a 25% partnership in the company in exchange for assistance and guidance through the process of publishing, marketing and in-app adver-tiser acquisition for the hiking application.

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Regulation

Mountain Climbers will include a end user terms and agreements policy which the end user will need to agree to before creating an account with Mountain Climbers and access-ing the content. The terms and agreements will include laws under intellectual property rights, and a consent to use information, where users will authorize and consent to Moun-tain Climbers collecting their account information.

Mountain Climbers will require a small business license from the City of Vancouver at the cost of $53.00 which will be non-refundable. The business license is annual therefore will require renewal in March 2017 and each year continuing forward.

Under Canadian code of Advertising standards any advertising within Mountain Climbers will need to comply with the professional practice of advertising. Any advertisers and advertising content our company acquires will be subject to approval based on the review of Canadian advertising regulations.

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Section 5

Finances

Start-up Requirements and IncomeAs seen in Appendix 1

Owner’s Investment

Each partner (Nikki, Mariia, and Akshay) will be contributing $700.00 each as a capital investment and collectively $2764.00 in company equipment.

Borrowed Money

Mountain Climbers will secure a short-term loan of $3013.00 to cover the initial prepaid expenses for software licensing and to give the company a small cash overhead of $2000.00

Sales Income by Year:

Mountain Climbers will secure a short-term loan of $3013.00 to cover the initial prepaid expenses for software licensing and to give the company a small cash overhead of $2000.00

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Appendix 1

Balance Sheet (Opening Day)

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ASSETS

CURRENT ASSETS

FIXED ASSETS

Cash

Accounts Receivable

Inventory / Supplies

Prepaid Expenses

Other Current Assets

Total Current Assets

Equipment

Other fixed assets

Total Assets

LIABILITIES

Accounts Payable

Short-terms Loans

Taxes Payable

Other Current Liab.

Total Current Liab.

LONG TERM LIABILITIES

Long-term loans

Total long term liabilities

SHAREHOLDER’S EQUITY

Capital Investment

Total LIabilities and Equity

2000.00

0.00

0.00

349.00

0.00

2764.00

2764.00

0.00

0.00

3013.00

3013.00

0.00

0.00

2100.00

5113.00

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Appendix 2

Income Statmentment For the the year ended March 2017

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SALES

Sales

Utilities

COSTS

Cost of Goods Sold

GROSS PROFIT

Gross Profit

EXPENSES

Rent

Equipment lease

Salaries / deductions

Insurance

Depreciation Expense

Interest

Maintenance

Professional fees

Advertising

Supplies

Delivery

Travel

Total Operating Expenses

NET PROFIT

Net Profit before Tax

Income Tax

Net Profit after Income Tax

99,200.00

0.00

99,200.00

2000.00

1632.00

18,000.00

72000.00

0.00

0.00

312.00

360.00

400.00

5000.00

3000.00

0.00

3000.00

107,704.00

0.00

(8504.00)

(8504.00)

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Appendix 3

Income Statmentment For the the year ended March 2018

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SALES

Sales

Utilities

COSTS

Cost of Goods Sold

GROSS PROFIT

Gross Profit

EXPENSES

Rent

Equipment lease

Salaries / deductions

Insurance

Depreciation Expense

Interest

Maintenance

Professional fees

Advertising

Supplies

Delivery

Travel

Total Operating Expenses

NET PROFIT

Net Profit before Tax

Income Tax

Net Profit after Income Tax

198,400.00

0.00

198,400.00

2000.00

1632.00

18,000.00

72000.00

0.00

0.00

312.00

360.00

400.00

5000.00

3000.00

0.00

3000.00

107,704.00

9523.00

90,696.00

81,172.92

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Appendix 4

Income Statmentment For the the year ended March 2019

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SALES

Sales

Utilities

COSTS

Cost of Goods Sold

GROSS PROFIT

Gross Profit

EXPENSES

Rent

Equipment lease

Salaries / deductions

Insurance

Depreciation Expense

Interest

Maintenance

Professional fees

Advertising

Supplies

Delivery

Travel

Total Operating Expenses

NET PROFIT

Net Profit before Tax

Income Tax

Net Profit after Income Tax

288,000.00

0.00

288,000.00

2000.00

1632.00

18,000.00

72000.00

0.00

0.00

312.00

360.00

5000.00

5000.00

400.00

0.00

3000.00

107,704.00

18931.08

180,296.00

161,364.92

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Sources of Data

BC Parks. 2013/2014 Annual Report. Retrieved on March 11, 2016 from http://www.env.gov.bc.ca/bcparks/research/year_end_report/bc-parks-annual-report-13-14.pdf

Wilcox, M. (2013, March 1). How Much Is An Active User Worth? - Developer EconomicsRetrieved March 1, 2016, from http://www.developereconomics.com/how-much-is-an-active-user-worth

Sub-Provincial Population Estimates BC Stats (July 2015) Retrieved March 1, 2016, from http://www.bcstats.gov.bc.ca/StatisticsBySubject/Demography/PopulationProjections.aspx

2009/2010 Outdoor Recreation Activity Study BC (January 2013)Retrieved February 22, 2016, from http://www.destinationbc.ca/getattachment/Research/Research-by-Activity/All-Research-by-Activity/Outdoor-Recreation-Study-2009-2010,-January-2013/Outdoor-Recreation-for-Distribution-14Jan13-FINAL-DRAFT-(2).pdf.aspx

Hardy, Ian. (April 2014). comScore: Android owns 44% of the Canadian smartphone market, BlackBerry sinks to 15%. Retrieved March 11, 2016, from http://mobilesyrup.com/2014/04/04/comscore-android-owns-44-of-the-canadian-smartphone-market-blackberry-sinks-to-15/

Hiking Product Overview: Building Tourism With Insight (April 2009). Tourism of British Columbia: Research and Planning Retrieved March 8, 2016, from http://www.destinationbc.ca/getattachment/Research/Research-by-Activity/Land-based/Hiking_Sector_Profile.pdf.aspx

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