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Make Google work for you Ecaterina Paun Head of User Experience protel hotelsoftware new Google services for the travel industry
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Make Google work for you - new Google services for the travel industry

May 06, 2015

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Travel

Ecaterina Paun

Street View-like feature to showcase hotel interiors, Knowledge Graph Carousel For Local Search, Google Knowledge Graph Carousel Sightings are few of the new released Google services and addressing the needs of the Travel industry.

Already-live services like Google Flights and Google Hotels Finder are here to stay and gaining more and more traction.

Other Google services like Google Places, Google + Pages, YouTube, AdWords Enhanced Campaigns can be used to improve hotels’ findability and visibility, bottom line: increasing revenue
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Page 1: Make Google work for you - new Google services for the travel industry

Make Google work for you

Ecaterina PaunHead of User Experience protel hotelsoftware

new Google services for the travel industry

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“Personally, I don't think we're in control of anything, except our attitude to what

comes our way.”

Bruce LawsonOpera Web browser Opera.com

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Google Search link distribution"above the fold”

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Search Total Paid & Free LinksPointing Offsite

Total Paid & Free Links Pointing to a Google Property

Hotels 8 64

Restaurants 11 60

Pool Halls 8 56

HTTP://BLUMENTHALS.COMGOOGLE’S LOCAL CAROUSEL – TRAPPED IN GOOGLE’S WORLD?

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“Findability is the new Black.”

Liz StraussCEO & Founder, SOBCon

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I. Google New Services for the hotel industry

Google cards (Google Information cards & Google Now cards) Google Knowledge Graph Carousel, now with Hotel BookingsGoogle Hotel View interior 360 Imagery Google Hotel Finder: Get your hotel listedGoogle AdWords Enhanced CampaignsEmail any Google+ connection

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Google Knowledge Graph Information Cards

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Google Knowledge Graph Information Cards

Google Map

Google + Business

Google + Business

Google + Business

Google Hotel Finder

Google Places for Business

CompetitionGoogle + Business

Google Places for Business

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Google cards

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Google Now cards

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Google cards

Google + Business

Google Hotel Finder

Google Places for Business Google Map

+ Google Places for Business

Google Hotel Finder

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Google Knowledge Graph Carouselnow with Hotel Bookings

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Google Knowledge Graph Carouselnow with Hotel Bookings

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Google Knowledge Graph Carouselnow with Hotel Bookings

• Not yet available in Europe

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Google Knowledge Graph Carousel Sightings

Image via http://searchengineland.comGoogle Knowledge Graph Carousel Sightings Becoming More Frequent Within A Wider Variety Of Searches

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Google Knowledge Graph Carousel -heatmap

Image via http://searchengineland.comStudy: Google Local Carousel Results Win 48% Of Clicks, While Only 14.5% Of Clicks Were On The Map

48% Clicks

14.5% Clicks

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Google Hotel View interior 360 Imagery

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Google Hotel View interior 360 Imagery

Not spotted in Europe for hotels, yet.But spotted for our Italian partners, Serinissima.

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Google Hotel FinderGet your hotel listed

How can I have my hotel listed on Google Hotel Finder?Independent hotels: check with your PMS provider if they are one of the Google selected partners

Major hotel brands: direct implementation (from Central Reservation System to Google )OTA listing – is your hotel already listed on Booking.com, Expedia.com or another major OTA?

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• Powerful advertising tools for the multi-device world

• Smarter ads optimized for varying user contexts

• Advanced reports to measure new conversion types

Google AdWords Enhanced Campaigns

Bing Ads states that using location extensions on your ad can boost average CTR by as much as 33%.

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Email any Google+ connectionJanuary 9th, 2014

"Your email address isn't visible to a Google+ connection unless you send that person an email, and likewise, that person's email address isn't visible to you unless they send you an email.“

• Good news for the aggressive marketer

• Use it now, as it probably will be abused and removed

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II. Make Google work for you

Improve your website’s visibility on Google (search)Improve your business’s visibility on Google

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• Google AdWords• Google Plus (including Places & Maps) • YouTube - telling stories• Google Hotel Finder 

Gabriele Schulze EntrepreneurMarketing4results.de Berlin

• Google Hotel Finder• Google Places for Business

Ingo DignasManaging Directorprotel hotelsoftware GmbH

• Google Hotel Finder• YouTube

Manfred Osthues Managing Directorprotel hotelsoftware GmbH

• Google Analytics• Google AdWords

anonymous SEO specialistBooking.com

• Google Hotel Finder• Google Plus

anonymousIndustry expertGoogle Travel

• Google Hotel Finder• Google Places for Business

anonymousSEO specialistExpedia

The top 2 most important Google services for hoteliers:

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Improve your website’s visibility

Improve your business’s visibility on Google

Entertain & Tell stories: confidence & popularity

Direct bookings & easier rate comparison

Get your business on Google

Get your business on Google –social componentDetailed reports about your pages' visibility

Measure & track your marketing efforts

Advertise to boost website traffic and sales

Entertain & Tell stories: drive traffic to your website

Connect with customers & drive traffic to your website

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CONTENTSocial MediaMulti-devices presence

Google + REVIEWSIMAGESGOOGLE HOTEL FINDER

Improve your website’s visibility

Improve your business’s visibility on Google

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II. Make Google work for you

Google Hotel Finder Google + Business & Google Places for BusinessYouTube - A Traveler's Constant CompanionBillboard: 1 picture = 100 words

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Number and quality of reviewsPricingPresence on Google+ BusinessQuality PicturesProximity to City Center

Top 5 Hotel Finder Ranking FactorsGoogle Hotel Finder

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1. Number and quality of reviews

Sources: Google + users’ reviewsZagat reviews

Get more reviewsAsk your fans from other social networks (Facebook, Twitter, emailing)Ask at the desk

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2. Pricing

Google tends to show a variety of prices at first, but changing it based on user’s behaviorGoogle Hotel Finder also ranks hotels that are not overcharging customers Price model: CPC (cost per click) lead generation program‐ ‐

There are two bidding options:Pay a flat rate per night (example $1 per night)Pay a percentage of total price * # of nightsCPC= (x) * (Total price) * (# of nights).CPC= 0.2% * 120 * 2 = 0.48 Euro

The most important thing to remember is that the advertiser can only outbid those who are offering the same price

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3. Presence on Google+ Business

Hotels without Google + Pages?Verified listings are favorites

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4. Quality pictures

Pictures associated with hotel’s Google + Business & Google Places for Business“Pictures are worth 1000 words”Google+ Local photo and video guidelineshttps://support.google.com/plus/answer/2689731?hl=en&ref_topic=2624941

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4. Quality pictures

Sources of images Hotel’s Google + BusinessGoogle + usersOther Google image services (ex: panoramio)VFM Leonardo –travel & hospitality tech companyComing soon to Europe: Google Hotel View interior 360 Imagery

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5. Proximity to City Center

Google Hotel finder shows first results from the city centerThe results are slowly spiraled out from there.

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How can I have my hotel listed on Google Hotel Finder?Independent hotels: check with your PMS provider if is one of the Google selected partners

Major hotel brands: direct implementation (hotel’s Central Reservation System to Google)OTA listing – are your hotel already listed on Booking.com, Expedia.com or another major OTA?

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Losers

OTAsalready branded OTAs lose traffic Expedia claims that 40% of their trafficreserches hotels on Expedia but then visits and books on hotel branded websites

Meta search sitesKayak.com, SkyScanner.com, Trivago.com, etc , as Google Hotel Finder is itself a meta search site.

Winners

OTAsdominate the Google Hotel Finder pricing menu

Hotelspushing real-time availability & prices through Google API (once implemented by the PMS provider)

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“Google Places for Business gives you access to free tools that help your business get online, be found on Google Search and Maps and get closer to your customers. ”

FREE

Dashboard

15 min

http://www.google.com/business/placesforbusiness/

“Your Google+ page helps you build a loyal fan base. Your customers can show their appreciation with ratings and reviews, use the +1 button to endorse your content, and re-share your posts across the web.”

FREE

Social component

Forever

http://www.google.com/+/business/

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Address+ PhoneEmail address + WebsiteDescription (add keywords, where possible)CategoriesInformation:

Service Areas and Location Settings Hours of operationsPayment optionsPhotosAdditional Details

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Be found on Google Search and Maps

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 Local listing

Unverified local Google+ Page

Verified local Google+ Page

Displays on Google Maps                    

Has Posts and Videos tab

                   

Customers can leave reviews

                   

Verified checkmark next to name

            

Which category of Google+ page should I select?Select the “Local Business or Place” category if you have a physical storefront or provide services or goods within a local geographic area. This is the only category of Google+ pages that is eligible to show up on Google Maps.

Do I need a Google+ page if I already have a website?A Google+ page complements your existing website by giving your business a public identity and presence on Google.If you choose the “Local Business or Place” category, the information you provide on your Google+ page can also appear in Google search results and on Google Maps.

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Google Knowledge Graph Information Cards

Google Map

Google + Business

Google + Business

Google + Business

Google Hotel Finder

Google Places for Business

CompetitionGoogle + Business

Google Places for Business

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YouTube - A Traveler's Constant Companion

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"188.2 million Americans watched 52.4 billion...videos in December [2013], while the number of video ad views totaled 35.2 billion.“*

comScore.com

We are living in a “more” society: we have more carsmore personal belongings more rooms/person we are watching more TV we have more free time we are watching more TV we want more, complex web experiences

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Billboard: 1 picture=100 wordsQuality pictures for Google cards

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Marketing 101“If you live in any major city you see 800 ads /dayYou’re so used to this that you not even notice it.But your body does

Your heart rate increasesYour pupils dilate You breathe fasterYou became more alertYou’ve been trapped”

Billboard: 1 picture=100 words

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Billboard: 1 picture=100 words

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Quality pictures for Google cards

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Hotel’s Google + Business & Hotel’s Google Places for BusinessGoogle + usersOther Google image services (ex: panoramio)VFM Leonardo –travel & hospitality tech companyComing soon in Europe: Google Hotel View interior 360 Imagery

Billboard: 1 picture=100 words

Sources of images

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Billboard: 1 picture=100 words

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Billboard: 1 picture=100 words

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Billboard: 1 picture=100 words

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Billboard: 1 picture=100 words

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Billboard: 1 picture=100 words

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Billboard: 1 picture=100 words

Sources of images

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Billboard: 1 picture=100 words

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OTA: 15% better conversion for hotels with more images listed on hotel description: to be at least 17 images/hotel “Don’t make me think” web usability 1st rulePeople fall in love with imagesSpeed-read technique : Skimming & Scanning behaviorGoogle Knowledge Graph Carousel: lower ranked search results can get more “click throughs” due to carousel

Billboard: 1 picture=100 words

Why images are so important?

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• HOW GOOGLE PLANS TO DOMINATE THE TRAVEL SPHEREhttp://fredericgonzalo.com/en/2013/01/20/how-google-plans-to-dominate-the-travel-sphere/

• Google Think Insightshttp://www.google.com/think/industries/travel-tourism.html

• Google is developing a Street View-like feature to showcase hotel interiorshttp://www.foxnews.com/travel/2014/01/08/google-is-developing-street-view-like-feature-to-showcase-hotel-interiors/

• Google Officially Launches Knowledge Graph Carousel For Local Searchhttp://searchengineland.com/google-officially-launches-knowledge-graph-carousel-for-local-search-163809

• Google Knowledge Graph Carousel Sightings Becoming More Frequent Within A Wider Variety Of Searcheshttp://searchengineland.com/google-knowledge-graph-carousel-sightings-becoming-more-frequent-within-a-wider-variety-of-searches-163562

• Google Showing Date Selector In Knowledge Graph Carousel For Hotelshttp://searchengineland.com/google-showing-date-selector-knowledge-graph-carousel-hotels-182756

• Google Hotel Finder & The War for Hotel SERP Listingshttp://www.searchenginejournal.com/google-hotel-finder-war-hotel-serp-listings/67152/

• Google Hotel Finder Finally Gets Ability To Book Reservations From Your Phonehttp://www.webpronews.com/google-hotel-finder-finally-gets-ability-to-book-reservations-from-your-phone-2013-11

• GOOGLE HOTEL FINDER, FRIEND OR FOE?http://www.wihphotels.com/publication/google-hotel-finder-friend-or-foe/

• Google for Hotels: Q+A with David Zammitt, Google Travel Industry Managerhttp://reknown.com/2013/06/google-for-hotels-qa-with-david-zammitt-google-travel-industry-manager/

• An Optimized Google+Local Listinghttps://www.searchenginenews.com/se-news/content/7-online-assets-your-local-business-needs-to-survive-the-coming-years

• GOOGLE’S LOCAL CAROUSEL – TRAPPED IN GOOGLE’S WORLD?http://blumenthals.com/blog/2013/06/25/googles-local-carousel-trapped-in-googles-world/

• Google Places for Business vs. Google+ Localhttp://searchenginewatch.com/article/2293053/Google-Places-for-Business-vs.-Google-Local

• Google Officially Launches Local Results Carouselhttp://searchenginewatch.com/article/2276176/Google-Officially-Launches-Local-Results-Carousel

Credits

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• What is Google+ Local?https://support.google.com/plus/answer/2531255?hl=en

• Types of local pages in Google+https://support.google.com/plus/answer/2659170?hl=en&ref_topic=2566084

• Score ratings for local placeshttps://support.google.com/plus/answer/1723748

• The Google Hotel Finder: A Game Changing Event, a “Greed is Good” Defining Moment, or a Natural Move to Serve Better Search Results?http://cdn.hebsdigital.com/cms/pressroom/11_hotelsmag_google_hotel_finder.pdf

• Google Hotel Price Ads (HPA)http://www.impaqt.com/insights/Google_HPA.cfm

• Google Hotel Finder & The War for Hotel SERP Listingshttp://www.searchenginejournal.com/google-hotel-finder-war-hotel-serp-listings/67152/

• Google Hotel Finder: How To Get Most Of Ithttp://blog.inndesk.com/post/41186280928/google-hotel-finder

• Google Supporthttps://support.google.com/plus/answer/2659170?hl=en&ref_topic=2566084http://www.google.com/business/placesforbusiness/http://www.google.com/+/business/faq.html

• Google Hotel View interior 360 Imageryhttp://www.foxnews.com/travel/2014/01/08/google-is-developing-street-view-like-feature-to-showcase-hotel-interiors

• Google Preps “Hotel View” Interior 360 Imageryhttp://searchengineland.com/google-preps-hotel-view-to-boost-travel-wallet-offerings-181398

• Study: Google Local Carousel Results Win 48% Of Clicks, While Only 14.5% Of Clicks Were On The Maphttp://searchengineland.com/study-google-local-carousel-results-win-48-of-clicks-while-map-only-earned-14-5-of-clicks-164925

• Google Places for Business vs. Google+ Localhttp://searchenginewatch.com/article/2293053/Google-Places-for-Business-vs.-Google-Local

Credits

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Thank You!

Ecaterina Paun

[email protected]@katepfaulinkedin.com/in/katepfauplus.google.com/+EcaterinaPaun/

protel hotelsoftware GmbH

[email protected]@protel_enfacebook.com/protelhotelsoftwareplus.google.com/+ProtelNet/