How do you build a world changing brand?
Marketing manager for the dig ed group
● Designed strategy for new product launch
First employee and head of product at Mentored.com
● Designed and built 2 products
● Signed up 60k users
● Sold 4 b2b clients
Worked with Seth Godin to design and launch Krpyton.cc
● Built out 10 classes
● Enrolled 20k users● Shut the project
down
What have I done?
(aka why should you listen to me)
● Delight○ Can we make something that delights you?
● Fear○ Can we create fear that if you don’t buy this
you will regret it
What kind of emotions
connect to people?
● Attention○ The most scarce resource around
● Trust○ Why should I believe you?
Why will they listen?
● Once you’ve changed someone how do you build the privilege (permission) to deliver your message to them?○ Anticipated, Personal, Relevant
Permission Marketing
● Amazon○ Has the trust necessary to
keep your CC on file, to suggest products to you, etc.
● Cards Against Humanity○ Launching successful product
after successful product
Examples of Trust
● Share○ Instead of relying on paid media
to yell at people build something that people talk about
● Warby Parker○ When you buy a pair they give a
pair■ That’s the story, the emotion
Stories that spread
● 1. Do you create an emotion?○ If you don’t create a product that
delights or leverages fear in the person who uses it, start over
● 2. Does that emotion change someone?○ Does it change them in a way
that moves them forward?
Action theory of
marketing
● 3. Do you earn the privilege to alert them?
● 4. Can you make it so that people will choose to share it?
● 5. Is there urgency or scarcity?
Action theory of
marketing
What was my CPA? (Assume a $1 CPC)
1,000
500
100
5
Clicks on Ad
Views of Promo Video
Items Added to Shopping Cart
Items Purchased
What was my CPA? (Assume a $1 CPC)
1,000
500
100
5
$1 CPC $1,000 / $1000 = $1
$2 Cost Per View $1,000 / 500 = $2
$10 Cost Per Add to Cart $1,000 / 100 = $10
$200 Cost Per Purchase $1,000 / 5 = $200
How can we capture a
portion of this market?
Americans spend $21.32/week on coffee. Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts control ~50% of the market. The Ready to Drink (RTD) coffee market is growing at 10% per year.How do we capture a portion of this?
Califia FarmsIn the five years since Califia farms launched they’ve been growing at over 100% YoY.
Receptive MarketOf the 76 percent of Americans not drinking cold brew coffees at home, one third (33 percent) say they have not tried but are interested in doing so
Demo Trends● Millennials
account for 55% of the market
● Men are a key demo
Competition
The Coldbrew
Market
StarbucksStarbucks sells coldbrew in all of their stores, but they do not yet sell it in bottles (like their other drinks)
Blue BottleBlue Bottle’s wholesale operations account for 20% of their revenues.
High Growth● 115% YoY growth● Accounts for 0.4%
of the RTD market● 24% of consumers
drink cold brew
Market Trends
Build a strategy brief
Questions to Answer● Who is the product for?● What emotions are you using? ● What story are you telling? ● How can we gain permission to
market to people?● Where will it be distributed? ● How much will it cost?● How will people hear about it?
Thanks!Any questions?You can find me at @aseoconnor, SeanOConn.org, & [email protected]
Go cause a ruckus.