Top Banner
Conversion Rate Optimization By: Radwa Adel & Omar Salah ITI Digital Marketing intake1 graduates Information Technology Institute Ministry of Communications and Information Technology
55

Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

Apr 10, 2017

Download

Marketing

Digi Mark
Welcome message from author
This document is posted to help you gain knowledge. Please leave a comment to let me know what you think about it! Share it to your friends and learn new things together.
Transcript
Page 1: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

Conversion Rate Optimization By:

Radwa Adel & Omar Salah

ITI Digital Marketing intake1 graduates

Information Technology Institute

Ministry of Communications

and Information Technology

Page 2: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

MOZ case study

Page 3: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

iphone case study

Page 4: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

Sony “VAIO” case study

Page 5: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

In internet marketing we generate revenues in one of the 2 ways:

Page 6: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

Conversion • Conversion is when a visitor to your website takes an action

that you want them to take.

Like:

• signing up for an email newsletter

• creating an account with a login and password

•making a purchase, downloading your app

Page 7: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

Conversion Rate Optimization

• CRO is the method of using analytics and user feedback

to improve the performance of your website landing page ,

web application, registration form..

• conversion rate optimization is finding why

visitors aren’t converting and fixing it

Page 8: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

Conversion Rate= (No. of conversions/no. of visitors)*100

Key Formula to Remember:

• IF YOU DOUBLE CONVERSION RATES, THEN YOU CUT YOUR COST PER ACQUISITION IN HALF

Page 9: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

Cost per lead No. of leads Conversion

rate

No. of

visitors

Total

cost

50/50=$1 50 =1000*5% 5% 1000 $50 Before

optimization

50/100=$0.5 1000*10%=100 10% 1000 $50 After optimization

Page 10: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

Conversion Rate Optimization Is…

• A structured and systematic approach to improving the

performance of your website

• Informed by insights—specifically, analytics and user feedback

• Defined by your website’s KPIs

Page 11: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

Conversion Rate Optimization Is Not…

• Based on guesses, or what everyone else is doing

• Driven by the highest paid person’s opinion

•About getting as many users as possible, regardless of quality

or engagement

Page 12: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

A Few Key Terms…

•Call to Action (CTA): The primary button, link or other

user interface element that asks the user to take an action

that leads to (or towards) a conversion

Page 13: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

A Few Key Terms…

•Conversion Funnel The primary pathway (or flow) of the user experience where visitors complete a conversion

•A/B or Split Testing The testing of one version of a page or interface element against another version of the same thing. (only one thing is tested at a time)

• Bounce Rate is the percentage of people who leave after viewing a single page

• Exit Rate for each page; it’s the percentage of people who leave after viewing the page. A very high exit rate on a specific page can be a red flag

Page 14: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

Here are some areas you should take a look at..

Page 15: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

•What succeeds for one site might actually hurt the

user experience (and therefore conversion rate) on

another. This is because each site has its own unique

mission, strengths, and challenges.

Page 16: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

Optimization Plan Phases

keep in mind that you will revisit each one in

order to continually address the needs of your

users over time.

Page 17: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

1: Lay the Groundwork

2: Establish a Baseline

3:Form Some Testable

Hypotheses

4: Design Your Tests

5: Run Your Tests

Page 18: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

•Paid Ads

• It all starts with the banner or search ad copy

Page 19: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

When designing ads, ask yourself the following:

• What type of user am I targeting?

• seeking a solution to a problem or casually browsing?

• problems !!

• How to capture the user’s attention?

• Is there a pain point that my product or website alleviates for the user?

• How can I articulate this solution clearly and quickly?

• What compelling calls to action will get our target user to click?

It’s important to understand that converting every visitor isn’t optimal

Page 20: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

LANDING PAGE

Page 21: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

LANDING PAGE

• What is the meaning of LANDING PAGE ?

Page 22: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop
Page 23: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

LANDING PAGE ELEMENTS

HEADLINES

Page 24: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

LANDING PAGE ELEMENTS

HERO IMAGE

Page 25: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

LANDING PAGE ELEMENTS

PROOF POINTS

Page 26: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

LANDING PAGE ELEMENTS

CALL TO ACTION

Page 27: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

LANDING PAGE ELEMENTS

SOCIAL PROOF

Page 28: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

LANDING PAGE ELEMENTS

Third party endorsement.

Page 29: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop
Page 30: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

1- SIMPLE

TIPS

TO

OPTIMIZE

YOUR

LANDING

PAGE

Page 31: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

2-3

LINES

VS.

30 LINES

TIPS

TO

OPTIMIZE

YOUR

LANDING

PAGE

Page 32: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

3-

Don’t jump the gun.

TIPS

TO

OPTIMIZE

YOUR

LANDING

PAGE

Page 33: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

4- Highlight your competitive edge.

TIPS

TO

OPTIMIZE

YOUR

LANDING

PAGE

Page 34: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

5- USE

TIPS

TO

OPTIMIZE

YOUR

LANDING

PAGE

Page 35: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

6- Provide TIPS

TO

OPTIMIZE

YOUR

LANDING

PAGE

CALL TO ACTION

Page 36: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

TIPS TO OPTIMIZE YOUR LANDING PAGE

7- Test what works with audience.

Page 37: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

TIPS

TO

OPTIMIZE

YOUR

LANDING

PAGE

8- Let your users know they can trust you.

Page 38: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop
Page 39: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

Bonus Advanced Tips for CRO

1. Site Speed : 1 second delay in page-load results in a

7% decrease in conversions.

Page 40: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

Bonus Advanced Tips for CRO

2. Always Be Closing

- Build a community (comments, reviews and feedback).

Page 41: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

Bonus Advanced Tips for CRO

3. How Friendly Are You?

Mobile.

Browser.

Security.

Language.

Click.

Time.

Video.

Rating & review.

Page 42: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

Bonus Advanced Tips for CRO

3. Raise Your Average Order Value (AOV)

Bundling.

Promotions.

Gamification.

Page 43: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop
Page 44: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

Some of the most common culprits "mistakes

that increase bounce rate"

1- Your website is visually unappealing.

-- “Great design creates credibility” –

Page 45: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

Some of the most common culprits "mistakes

that increase bounce rate"

2- Your website is difficult to use because

- They can’t find the pages.

- It has poor layout.

- Poor information architecture.

- Malfunctioning buttons and page errors.

- Users are left stranded.

Page 46: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

Some of the most common culprits "mistakes

that increase bounce rate"

3- Your website doesn’t meet user expectations.

The people coming to your website aren’t the right people.

To avoid this, be sure your ads accurately represent your

product and keywords align with your site’s mission.

Page 47: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop
Page 48: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

Myths about CRO

Myth 3: Long copy doesn’t sell.

Page 49: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

Myths about CRO •Myth 4: All my efforts should be focused on getting

as many visitors as possible to convert.

Page 50: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop
Page 51: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

Tools to test & optimize conversion:

1) Analytics: allows you to get at the basics

(like unique visitors and bounce rate).

EX: Google analytics.

Page 52: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

Tools to test & optimize conversion:

2) User Surveys: gives you the ability to gain insights directly

from users.

EX: Qualaroo specific pages or at specific points .

Survey Monkey customer feedback and market

Page 53: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop

Tools to test & optimize conversion:

3) User Testing: These tools allow you to directly observe user

behavior.

EX: CrazyEgg visualize where users are scrolling on your site

Click Tale creates videos of user interactions with your site

Page 54: Conversion Rate Optimization Workshop