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HOW CONVERSION OPTIMIZATION WORK
19

Conversion Rate Optimization 101

Apr 06, 2017

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Page 1: Conversion Rate Optimization 101

HOW CONVERSION OPTIMIZATION WORK

Page 2: Conversion Rate Optimization 101

AUDIENCE

CONVERSION

THERE ARE 4 ELEMENTS

Page 3: Conversion Rate Optimization 101

AUDIENCE

CONVERSION

1

23

4

Ad / Traffic driverLanding Page w/ offer

Page 4: Conversion Rate Optimization 101

AUDIENCE

CONVERSIONCTR

CPC

1

23

4

Ad / Traffic driverLanding Page w/ offer

a) Ads are targeted to an audience

b) A certain percentage of people that see the ad, click the ad (CTR) which based on the budget, creates an average cost per click (CPC)

c) Once on the page, a certain percentage of people convert either through buying, or providing an email address (opt-in)

(Conversion Rate)

Page 5: Conversion Rate Optimization 101

AUDIENCE

CONVERSIONCTR

CPC

Ad / Traffic driver

100 PEOPLE

10 PEOPLE CLICK =10% CTR = $10 CPC

$100 AD BUDGET

1/10 PEOPLE CONVERT =10% CONVERSION RATE

= $100 COST PER CONVERSION

Page 6: Conversion Rate Optimization 101

TO GET MORE CONVERSIONS, YOU HAVE 3 METRICS YOU CAN OPTIMIZE FOR

Page 7: Conversion Rate Optimization 101

AUDIENCE

CONVERSIONCTR

CPC

1. IMPROVE CTR

Page 8: Conversion Rate Optimization 101

AUDIENCE

CONVERSIONCTR

CPC

2. IMPROVE CPC

Page 9: Conversion Rate Optimization 101

AUDIENCE

CONVERSIONCTR

CPC

3. IMPROVE CONVERSION RATE

Page 10: Conversion Rate Optimization 101

TO IMPACT CTR AND CPC, YOU HAVE 2 OPTIONS

Page 11: Conversion Rate Optimization 101

AUDIENCE

CONVERSIONCTR

CPC

1. MORE TARGETED AUDIENCE

Page 12: Conversion Rate Optimization 101

AUDIENCE

CONVERSIONCTR

CPC

2. MORE TARGETED OR CREATIVE AD (BETTER CREATIVE)

Page 13: Conversion Rate Optimization 101

TO IMPACT CONVERSION RATEYOU HAVE 3 OPTIONS

Page 14: Conversion Rate Optimization 101

AUDIENCE

CONVERSIONCTR

CPC

1. BETTER LANDING PAGE DESIGN OR BETTER LEAD MAGNET

Page 15: Conversion Rate Optimization 101

AUDIENCE

CONVERSIONCTR

CPC

2. MORE TARGETED AUDIENCE

Page 16: Conversion Rate Optimization 101

AUDIENCE

CONVERSIONCTR

CPC

3. AD CREATIVE NEEDS TO CREATE EXPECTATIONS THAT MATCH THE LANDING PAGE LEAD MAGNET

Page 17: Conversion Rate Optimization 101

If you’re trying to optimize your audience…

Your audience may be too broad

• Try refining the audience by age, gender, location, or interests.

Your audience may be too narrow

• Try adding additional audiences like website visitors, your email subscribers, or lookalike audiences.

You may not be in the right place at the right time

• Try running your ads at different times of day, or days of the week. • Try selecting different places to display the ads (instagram, mobile feed,

or audience network).

Page 18: Conversion Rate Optimization 101

If you’re trying to optimize your ad creative…

Your headline might suck

• Try A/B testing multiple headline formulas.

Your image might suck

• Try A/B testing different images.

You might be using the wrong ad format• Are you trying to get conversions with a video view ad? Are you not

driving traffic with Page Post ads? Check for the right objective.

You might be using the wrong ad format

• Try a video instead of a still image. Try a carousel instead of a single photo. Try a Canvas ad or a Lead Generation Ad.

Page 19: Conversion Rate Optimization 101

If you’re trying to optimize your conversion page…

Your offer might suck

• Maybe they just don’t want your lead magnet. • You also need to make sure the offer matches the ad copy.

Your page might not have enough information

• People now look at more information than ever before. Be sure to add enough.

Your page might have too much information• Maybe people are getting lost in all the copy. Try simplifying it.

You may have things getting in the way• The more fields you have in your form, the lower the conversion.