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Rand Fishkin, Wizard of Moz | @randfish | [email protected] Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing
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Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

May 24, 2020

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Page 1: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Rand Fishkin, Wizard of Moz | @randfish | [email protected]

Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to

Book Marketing

Page 2: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Slides online atbit.ly/mozbookmarketing

Page 3: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Why Does Search

Matter to Authors?

Page 4: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

More recent data is hard

to come by, but it’s

probable that 50%+ of

book sales happen

online, and many offline

purchases are

influenced by online

exposure.

Via DBW/Bowker

Page 5: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Via a Survey I Conducted On Twitter

Page 7: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Via SimilarWeb

In ecommerce, search is

the traffic referral leader

Page 8: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

The

Startup Marketing Model

Page 9: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results
Page 10: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Identify Right Customers

Page 11: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Right Customer

Via Sarah C. Andersen

Page 12: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Who are they?

Page 13: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

What social networks do they use?

Page 14: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Where do they go

on the web?

Via Followerwonk

Page 15: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Who are their influencers?

Page 16: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Not Into Tools?

Can’t Find Your Audience

on Social?

Have Conversations!

So… What kinda sites

do you dogs visit?

Page 17: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Target the Right Audience

in the Right Places

Page 18: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Your Audience

is Already

Spending Time at

These Places:

Via SimilarWeb’s Top Sites

Page 19: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

You Can Leverage that

Attention by Contributing to…

Page 20: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Massive Networks Like Facebook

Via TheFinancialBrand Via SearchEngineLand

Although we’ve seen organic reach dipping for

years, there’s been a resurgence thanks to

audience optimization

Page 21: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Influencer Networks Like Twitter

Via Analytics.Twitter.com

Page 22: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Visual Networks Like Instagram

Via Iconosquare

Page 23: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Professional Networks Like LinkedIn

We’ve seen a recent rise

in engagement and CTR

on LinkedIn for the right

kinds of content

Page 24: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

An Important Note on Social Networks--

Signal:Noise Ratio is Critical

to Reach

Because this post didn’t do well,

Facebook won’t show my next few

posts to as many users

Page 25: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Video Sites Like YouTube

Via Moz’s YouTube Channel

Page 26: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Online Communities Like Reddit

Via Reddit.com/r/books

Page 27: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Q+A Sites Like Quora

Via Quora’s Mystery Novels Topic

Page 28: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Niche Communities Like Inbound.org

Via Inbound.org

Page 29: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Comment Sections Like AVC

Via AVC

Page 31: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Publishers that Accept Guest Contributions Like

Good Housekeeping

Via Good Housekeeping

Page 32: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Targeting Your Audience

with Paid Advertising

Page 34: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Half of All Mobile Ad Clicks are Accidental

Via SearchEngineLand

Page 35: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

But, Ads are Getting Far More Sophisticated

Via Sovrn

Page 36: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

And even though we don’t think they influence us,

they do

Via Harvard Business Review

Page 37: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

The Key to Ad Buying is ROI

$0.25 / Click X 200 Visits $50 Total Ad Spend=

200 Visits X 5 Sales = 2.5% Conversion Rate

$50 ÷ 5 Sales = $10 Cost of Acquiring a

Customer (CAC)

You want this figure to be less

than you make per sale

Page 38: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Facebook Ads

Page 39: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Google AdWords

Page 40: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Google Shopping Ads

Page 41: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Retargeting (Google, AdRoll)

More on Whiteboard Friday

e.g. I visited Squarespace while building this

slide deck, and now their ads follow me around

the web like a lost puppy dog

Page 43: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Instagram Ads

Good Guide to Instagram Ads from AdEspresso

Page 44: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Pinterest Ads

Page 45: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Google Display Ads

Page 46: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Custom/Small Ad Publishers

Via Hark! A Vagrant

Page 47: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Sponsored Content (Outbrain, Taboola)

Page 48: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

If You Have Email Addresses,

You Can Also Use:

Page 49: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Facebook Custom

Audiences

Via Facebook

Page 50: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Google AdWords’ Customer Match

Via SearchEngineLand

Page 51: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Newsletters & Book Announcements

Via Dan Ariely (author of Predictably Irrational)

Page 52: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Good, Free Mailing List Options:

Mailchimp:

Free to 2,000

subscribers or 12,000

emails/month, great

deliverability

Newsletter for WP:

Requires a bit of installation,

but free to unlimited

numbers of subscribers

Benchmark Email:

Free to 2,000 subscribers

or 14,000 emails/month,

easy UI

Page 53: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Attract an Audience

to Your Platform

Page 54: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Is your publishing platform holding

you back?

Sometimes, content isn’t the problem.

Page 55: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

SEO-friendly access for crawlers and searchers

Great user experience on every device

Compelling reasons to subscribe, share, & return

Freedom from features that would annoy or dissuade

visitors

Content that’s consistently interesting, useful, and/or

engaging to a distinct audience

Does My Publishing Platform Provide:

Page 56: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Platforms to Consider Include:

Wordpress:

Free, extensible,

powerful, has lots of

plugins & developers

Wix:

Easy templates, good

support, strong designs,

inexpensive

Squarespace:

Solid templates, easy to

manage, inexpensive,

Page 57: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Good Comparison of

Options:

Via ArtBizBlog

Page 58: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

I’m a Big Fan of Jane

Friedman’s Advice on Author

Websites:

Via JaneFriedman

Page 59: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

How do you build a platform that

consistently attracts your

audience?

Page 60: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Publish web

content

Amplify

Grow network

Increase ability to rank in

search engines

Increase brand

recognitionLearn & iterate on

amplification tactics

Earn ongoing

search traffic

Page 61: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Content Can Mean Many Things

Page 65: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Tools

Via NomadList

Page 66: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Comics

Via LawComic.net

Page 67: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Communities

Via Inbound.org

Page 68: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

For Most

Writers,

It Means

Written

Content

Page 69: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Blog Posts

Via WorldsBestDetective.com

Page 70: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Guides

Via Moz’s Beginner’s Guide to SEO

Page 74: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Maybe a Little Bit of Promotion

Via Neil Gaiman

Page 75: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

But (if you want to build a marketing flywheel)

that can’t be your entire platform

Via Rachael King

I loved Rachael’s site, but

there’s no flywheel happening,

just promotion of her books and

events.

Page 76: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Content Forms the Backbone of What Gets

Distributed on the Web

Via Buzzsumo

Page 77: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

It’s What Gets Shared on Facebook

Via Rand’s Facebook Page

Page 78: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

What Ranks in Google

Page 79: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

What Makes for Conversations on Twitter

Via Medium

Page 80: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

What’s Shared Over Email

Via A Smart Bear

Page 81: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

What’s Posted on LinkedIn, Google+, Snapchat, and

Instagram

Page 83: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

It’s Often the Same

Effort to Make

Content No One

Sees,

As Content

Thousands Do

Page 84: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Who will help amplify this

and why?

Start With a Great Answer to the Question:

Page 85: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

This is not a right answer:

Museum goers

will love this.

And maybe museum

curators, too.

Via MattKelm

Page 86: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

This is a right answer:

I did an analysis of all

the recent major

museum thefts

Carolyn & Shelley have

already expressed interest in

seeing the finished piece

Page 87: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

SEO Best Practices

Earn Ongoing Traffic by Leveraging

Page 88: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Accessibility is Critical

Via the YouMoz Blog

Page 89: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Wordpress is a Great Shortcut

Via Wordpress

Page 90: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Google Search

Console Can

Highlight Many

Problems

Via Google Search

Console

Page 91: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Moz, ScreamingFrog, or OnPage.org Can Also Be

Useful for Crawl Issues

Via Moz Pro, Screaming Frog Crawler, and OnPage.org

Page 92: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Keywords

Still Matter

Page 93: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

And Google is Smart About Matching Concepts &

Topics to Keywords

Page 94: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Titles and Headlines?

Still Important.

Page titles come from the

HTML code, and (usually)

appear as the headline of

the piece.

Page 95: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

The Search Snippet? Still Important.

Does the title match what

searchers want?

Does the URL seem

compelling?

Does your site sound

trustworthy or sketchy?

Is your result fresh? Do

searchers want a newer

result?

Does the description

create curiosity & entice

a click?

Do you get the brand

dropdown?

Page 96: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Meta Keywords? Useless.

Via Google’s Webmaster Central Blog

Page 97: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Keyword Stuffing? Will Only Hurt You.

No one wants to click on a

page like that

(and Google penalizes

these types of pages)

Page 98: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Links Still Matter

Via Moz’s 2015 Ranking Factors

Link-based ranking

factors

Page 100: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Stumped?

Check Out 100s of

Techniques on the

Moz Blog

Via Link Building on Moz

Page 101: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

User Satisfaction Matters

If Google observes many searchers

clicking this result, visiting the page, then

bouncing back to the search results and,

instead…

Clicking this page, and seeming satisfied

with those results…

It’s very likely that, over time, KirkusReviews

will outrank WaPo here.

Page 102: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Google Calls This Pogo-Sticking

Via Bill Slawski on Moz

Page 103: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Make the Back Button Your Enemy

NPR’s clean design, well-respected

brand, options for listening or reading,

solid visuals, and quality writing compel

me to want to stay.

If only they’d used good keywords in their

title, they’d probably be on page 1

Page 104: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

DO NOT Split Up Your Content & Promotional Sites

Tragically, Rachael is likely costing herself valuable branding and lots of lost

search traffic by having two separate sites.

Via Rachael-King.com and SoundofButterflies.Blogspot.com

Page 105: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Consider Which Page You Want

Ranking for Your Book

IMO, Kate Beaton has this right. Get your

own site ranking at the top, rather than

Amazon, because then you control the user

experience (and can use an Amazon affiliate

link to get greater revenue from your sales)

Page 106: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

You Control Much of This Through How You/Your Publisher

Choose to Link in Press & Bios

Page 107: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

More About SEO:

Prefer text + visuals?

See Moz’s Beginner’s Guide to SEO

Prefer video?

See Skillshare’s SEO that Matters class

Page 108: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Use Data to Learn What Works

vs. Doesn’t

Page 109: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Google Analytics

Looking at “site content” (under

“behavior”) can show you which

pages are attracting and engaging

visitors, and which ones aren’t.

Page 110: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Jetpack

A popular alternative to

Google Analytics, many

site owners appreciate the

simpler, more intuitive

reports despite fewer bells

& whistles.

Via Jetpack Stats

Page 111: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Bit.ly

I track all my

content that I

share to get a

sense of what

works, and where

it performs best

Page 112: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

A Neat Hack You Can Do with Bit.ly

Just add a + to the end of any bitly URL:

http://responsivecitypress+

Page 113: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Buzzsumo

Buzzsumo is

invaluable for seeing

content on any topic

or from any site that’s

performed well on

social networks

Via Buzzsumo Pro

Page 114: Book Marketing - AméricaEconomía · Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing. Slides online at bit.ly/mozbookmarketing. Why Does Search ... bouncing back to the search results

Converting

Visitors to Buyers

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We need to identify the traits that separate

customers who’ll buy, love, and amplify our books

from those who won’t.

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My Favorite

Process:

From Conversion Rate Experts’ case study

Boom.

And Shakalaka.

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Haven’t heard of the

book

Heard of it, but didn’t

buy

Bought, read, &

loved the book

What do you think the

book is about?

How’d you hear about the

book?

What first made you

interested?

What would make you

more likely to check it out?

What are your biggest

objections to purchase?

What objections did you

have to buying?

What would have made

you change your mind?

What objections did you

have and how did you

overcome them?

What did you love most

about it?

Can we share your story as

a testimonial?

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Create Messages and Sales Pages that

Overcome Your Target Audience’s

Objections

Benefits that speak to

Nir’s audience

Authorities that Nir’s audience

knows, likes, and trusts

Multiple ways to get the book, even

for non-readers

Via Nir Eyal

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Use These Messages on Your Amazon and

Publisher Pages, Too!

Via Hooked on Amazon

The same messages and editorial

reviews work here, too

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Retain, Delight, & Grow

Amplification

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How do you know what to create?

Or where to invest?

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What do you hate doing?

Via Tech Noir

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What do

you love to

do?

Via Dsgnblog

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What skill, talent, or creation can set you

apart from the crowd?

Via Rand’s Blog

One of my strengths is

an ability to be

contrarian, and to

create homemade

graphics that convey

those opinions

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Improving the flywheel is an

iterative learning process

No one starts out great at this.

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This is Geraldine’s Blog:

Everywhereist.com

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Geraldine started the website in 2009

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For 2 years, she rarely

broke 100 visits/day

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She had a few successes

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But traffic fell back down after

these viral spikes

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In Jan. 2012, she was featured on Time’s “Best Blogs” list.

Readers came by the thousands, and many stuck.

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These days, she consistently breaks 100K visits/month

(even when she took time off to write her book).

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Thanks to the audience she built and the flywheel of her blog’s

content & distribution channels, Geraldine’s got a great

opportunity to publish and market her work.

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Failure + Learning

x Time = Success

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Rand Fishkin, Wizard of Moz | @randfish | [email protected]

Bit.ly/mozbookmarketing