Some numbers • 130 million Internet users • 900 million Mobile subscribers • 150 million GPRS users • 45 million Facebook users (2 nd in the world) • 2,500 crore Digital Media Industry • 76% of Indian Internet users spend more Lme online than watching TV
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Afaqs! campus display and search engine marketing june 21 ( rp singh)
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Some numbers
• 130 million Internet users • 900 million Mobile subscribers
• 150 million GPRS users
• 45 million Facebook users (2nd in the world)
• 2,500 crore Digital Media Industry
• 76% of Indian Internet users spend more Lme online than watching TV
What consLtutes Digital?
Digital
Display
Search
Mobile
Social
Display
AIDA
Search
DA
Mobile
AA
Social
WoM, I
Role of each Digital Vehicle?
A: Awareness I: Interest D: Desire A: AcLon
Page Impression/view
One full download of a web page by a user. An ad impression is a single instance of an online ad being displayed on a page.
5 ad impressions
Jargon Buster
Cookies
• A Lny parcel of text dropped on your computer’s hard drive by a web site’s server – dropped by the site or the adverLser’s ad serving system.
• Cookies allow a server to store informaLon on a user's computer and later retrieve it.
• A server can only receive the data it has stored on your computer. It cannot look at any other cookie, nor anything else on your computer.
Jargon Buster
• Unique Browser
– Unique browsers are counted by cookies dropped when visitors visit a parLcular site – counLng period set by the site e.g. one month
• CTR
– Click Through Rate = Clicks/Impressions*100
Jargon Buster
Buying Currencies
Delivery Based
• CPM Cost Per Millet (Thousand) impressions
• Sponsor All ad impressions on a web page (e.g. roadblock)
Performance Based • CPC Cost Per Click
• CPL Cost Per Lead
• CPA Cost Per AcLon/AcquisiLon
• CPV Cost Per View
Jargon Buster
Two types of Placements
• Home page – Inventory available only on Home Page of a website
• ROS (Run of Site) – All inventory apart from the homepage inventory across inside pages
Basic types
• Banners – StaLc – Animated – Rich Media with/without video
• Text Links • Video Ad units • Emailers or eDMs
• Sponsorship
What does 468 x 60 mean?
468 x 60 refers to pixels A pixel is the smallest unit of colour used to make up images on a screen
First ever banner ad: October 27, 1994
468 pixels wide
60 pixels deep
Get Brief / Research Develop Strategy, approved by Client Brief Media Reps
Go over responses, negoLate, create
Media Plan
Present Media Plan to client Get Sign off
CreaLve Specs to CreaLve Agency
Produce & Upload CreaLve
Tag & Traffic Campaign
Go Live! Report & OpLmise
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8
The Display Planning Process
comScore & Vizisense + Loads of past experience*
*In case of agencies
What are the planning tools used to research the target audience?
Who do you buy display adverLsing from?
• Publisher Reps – Direct – Horizontals: Yahoo, MSN,
-‐ Editorial & Format (style and technical requirements for your ad text and keywords) -‐ Content (what you can and can't adverDse or promote) -‐ Link (guidelines for your URLs and the website you're adverDsing)
Editorial Policy
Link Policy
ConLnuous Test/Learn
Test Mul?ple Ads Simultaneously
• Always test 2 (or more) ads simultaneously – an A/B split test.
• Find out which one produces the higher CTR and ulLmate conversion goal. Then replace the weaker performing ad with a new one.
• ConLnue this process in your never-‐ending quest to get the CTR and conversion goal opLmised.
How to budget for PPC search adverLsing?
• Pay-‐per-‐click (PPC) search adverLsing is difficult to forecast without being acLvely engaged in a campaign
• You must test to see how many clicks to expect per day at what CPC by keyword, to determine ROI
• Determine maximum allowable CPC
Key Bank business goals
• Key Bank minimum acceptable ROI is 4:1 – For every media $1 spent they want to make $4
• A Key Bank credit card customer is worth $500
• So the maximum we’re willing to pay to acquire a Key Bank credit card customer is $125, in other words the allowable CPA is $125 ($500:$125 or $4:$1)
How much media spend is allowed to acquire 1,000 new Key Bank credit card customers?
Easy – 1,000 x $125 = $125,000
Number of Impressions?
Average Click Through Rate
Average Conversion
Rate
Average Approval Rate
1,000
Customer
How many page impressions do we need to acquire 1,000 new Key Bank credit card customers?
Need some historical learning or run a test to determine:
.3% 7% 80%
Number of Impressions?
Average Click Through Rate
Average Conversion
Rate
Average Approval Rate
1,000
Customer
How many page impressions do we need to acquire 1,000 new Key Bank credit card customers?
– Work out the numbers from the desired outcome
.3% 7% 80%
1,250 17,857 5,952,380
What CPC rate can we afford to spend to acquire 1,000 new credit card customers?
$125,000/17,857 (clicks) = $7 CPC
Therefore the maximum CPC bid is $7
What do most brands/agencies measure?
• Impressions • Clicks • Leads • And now …. Fans
& this is irrespecLve of what objecLves are! X
What should you measure?
• Clicks • Mouseovers • Video Plays • Game Plays
• Contest • Increase in Time
Spent • Repeat Visitors
• Sales • Downloads • Contest • Leads
• Unique Impressions
• Unique users reached
• Visitors on Website
• Reach of the plan • Increase in Search Queries
• Frequency
• Shares on Social Media
• Referrals • Increase in Social Buzz
• Engagement Rate
WoM Awareness
ConsideraLon Purchase
Tools for AnalyLcs
• Media Performance • Website Performance
Deciding & AllocaLng the Budget
• There is nothing called “Ideal Budget” • Decide objecLve: Awareness, ConsideraLon, Purchase
• Use tools (comScore) to arrive at site list your TG surfs
• Decide SOV (Share of Voice) through SOI (Share of Impressions)
• Decide between Impact and Sustenance or a combinaLon of both