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How to win arguments With web performance data Buddy Brewer @bbrewer
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2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data

Aug 18, 2015

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Page 1: 2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data

How to win argumentsWith web performance data

Buddy Brewer@bbrewer

Page 2: 2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data

I’m a salesman.

WARNING

Page 3: 2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data
Page 4: 2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data
Page 5: 2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data

May 29, 2015

1.Engage competitive nature

2.Estimate ROI: Carrot version

3.Estimate ROI: Stick version

4.Show impact to brand

5.Leverage outside “expert” influences

Page 6: 2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data

May 29, 2015

1.Engage competitive nature

2.Estimate ROI: Carrot version

3.Estimate ROI: Stick version

4.Show impact to brand

5.Leverage outside “expert” influences

Page 7: 2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data

“There is no doubt about precisely when folks began racing each other in automobiles. It was the day they built the second automobile.”

Richard Petty

Page 8: 2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data

May 29, 2015

http://www.webpagetest.org/video/

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May 29, 2015

Page 10: 2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data

May 29, 2015

http://www.webpagetest.org/video/

Page 11: 2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data
Page 12: 2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data

May 29, 2015

1.Engage competitive nature

2.Estimate ROI: Carrot version

3.Estimate ROI: Stick version

4.Show impact to brand

5.Leverage outside “expert” influences

Page 13: 2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data

Average case: 6 pagesBest case: 8 pages

Visits: 100MeCPM: $10

Median load time: 4.0 secBest case: 3.3 sec

Page 14: 2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data

(8 pages - 6 pages) * 100M * 4 ads / 1K * $10 CPM = $8M

Page 15: 2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data

700 ms = $8M

Page 16: 2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data

May 29, 2015

1.Engage competitive nature

2.Estimate ROI: Carrot version

3.Estimate ROI: Stick version

4.Show impact to brand

5.Leverage outside “expert” influences

Page 17: 2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data

Current Conversion Rate: 2.7% Current Page Load Time: 3.0 sec

Visits: 25M AOV: $100

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4.12 sec 2.7%

3.0 sec 4.9%

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(4.9% - 2.7%) * 25M * $100 = $54M

Page 20: 2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data

1 sec = $54M

Page 21: 2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data

$

Page 22: 2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data

May 29, 2015

1.Engage competitive nature

2.Estimate ROI: Carrot version

3.Estimate ROI: Stick version

4.Show impact to brand

5.Leverage outside “expert” influences

Page 23: 2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data
Page 24: 2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data
Page 25: 2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data

May 29, 2015

1.Engage competitive nature

2.Estimate ROI: Carrot version

3.Estimate ROI: Stick version

4.Show impact to brand

5.Leverage outside “expert” influences

Page 26: 2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data

May 29, 2015

44% Consumers say slow transactions make them

anxious about transaction success.

Page 27: 2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data

May 29, 2015

51% Consumers say slowness is the top reason they would

abandon a purchase online.

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May 29, 2015

http://blog.radware.com/applicationdelivery/applicationaccelerationoptimization/2014/01/55-web-performance-stats-youll-want-to-know/

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May 29, 2015

1.Engage competitive nature

2.Estimate ROI: Carrot version

3.Estimate ROI: Stick version

4.Show impact to brand

5.Leverage outside “expert” influences

Page 30: 2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data

See SOASTA at booth #801