Digital Download Thursday, 2 October 2008 Dominique Hind
http://dominiquehind.wordpress.com
Before we start Who is the single largest music retailer on the
planet? Apple A Computer Company Who is the worlds largest camera
manufacturer ? Nokia A Mobile Phone Manufacturer Who represents the
largest threat to the Television & Movie Industries? Hulu &
Joost Online networks Who is the largest & fastest growing
media company on the planet? Google A Search Engine Who has the 5th
largest GDP on the Planet? eBay
Before we start I email useful information to colleagues I send
photos to friends I use instant messenger I have participated in a
poll I have submitted a book review on Amazon I have submitted
seller feedback on ebay I read or contribute to discussion groups I
contribute personal opinions to websites I write my own blog I
create multimedia content & put it on the internet
Today 1. Short introduction to the Internet 2. Customers
online: a paradigm shift 3. Advertising today 4. Online advertising
5. Search consumption (SEM & SEO) 6. Blogs 7. Social networks
8. Website 9. Email Not covering - Mobile 10. Benchmarks & ROI
- RSS 11. Top 3 online trends - Indepth web development - Driving
traffic (social marketing)
A short history of the internet
In the beginning Geeks Military Academics
Tim Berners-Lee The first Browser 1990 The first website
1991
The First Banner Ad When: October 1994 Where: HotWired Size:
468 x 60 pixels Client: AT&T Copy: Have you ever clicked your
mouse right here? You will.
User-friendly browser When: 1995 What: Netscape launched Why:
Easy platform to search the Internet
The Madness.
Increased Online Focus
What else is happening? 1,463,632,361 internet users globally
(www.InternetWorldStats.com 30 June 2007) 100,316,360 TDL domains
registered (http://www.zooknic.com/Domains/counts.html 15 April
2008) 2,869,632 blogs registered through authoring tools
(http://www.blogcensus.net 29 September 2008)
Internet usage by region
Internet penetration by region
Online Delivering Big Numbers As at Feb 2008: Active Digital
Universe: 10,927,000 Accessing Broadband at Home: 9,395,296 Ave
Time Spent Online p/m: 19 hrs : 43 min : 02 sec Source: Nielsen
Online NetView Home and Work February 2008
No. of Home Access Users Monthly Time Online (hh:mm:ss) 0:00:00
2:24:00 4:48:00 7:12:00 9:36:00 12:00:00 14:24:00 16:48:00 19:12:00
21:36:00 0:00:00 0 1,000,000 2,000,000 3,000,000 4,000,000
5,000,000 6,000,000 7,000,000 8,000,000 9,000,000 10,000,000
11,000,000 12,000,000 Jan-05 Jan-05 Feb-05 Feb-05 Mar-05 Mar-05
Apr-05 Apr-05 May-05 May-05 Jun-05 Jun-05 Jul-05 Jul-05 Aug-05
Aug-05 Sep-05 Sep-05 Oct-05 Oct-05 Nov-05 Nov-05 Dec-05 Dec-05
Jan-06 Jan-06 Feb-06 Feb-06 Mar-06 Mar-06 Apr-06 Apr-06 May-06
May-06 Jun-06 Jun-06 Jul-06 Jul-06 Aug-06 Month Aug-06 Sep-06
Sep-06 Oct-06 Oct-06 Nov-06 Nov-06 Dec-06 Dec-06 Jan-07 Time Spent
per Month Jan-07 Feb-07 Source: Nielsen Online NetView Home
February 2008 Feb-07 Mar-07 Apr-07 Mar-07 May-07 Apr-07 Jun-07
May-07 Jul-07 Jun-07 Aug-07 Jul-07 Sep-07 Home Broadband
Penetration Australia - from January 2005 Aug-07 Oct-07 Sep-07
Nov-07 Oct-07 Average Time Spent Online per Month. January 2005 -
February 2008 Dec-07 Nov-07 Jan-08 Dec-07 Feb-08 9,395,296 Jan-08
19:43:02 Feb-08 % of Home Access Users 0% 10% 20% 30% 40% 50% 60%
70% 80% 90% 100% Jan-05 Feb-05 Mar-05 Apr-05 May-05 Jun-05 Jul-05
Aug-05 Sep-05 Oct-05 Nov-05 Dec-05 Jan-06 Feb-06 Mar-06 Australian
Time Spent Online Apr-06 May-06 Jun-06 Jul-06 Aug-06 Month Sep-06
Oct-06 penetration Nov-06 Dec-06 Jan-07 Feb-07 Mar-07 growth in
broadband Apr-07 Increasing in line with homes connected to the
Internet . May-07 Broadband = access speed > 56K. Jun-07 Jul-07
Aug-07 all active Internet Users within Australian Nielsen Online:
Broadband penetration of Sep-07 Home Broadband Penetration
Australia - from January 2005 Oct-07 Nov-07 Dec-07 Jan-08 89.80%
Feb-08
Consumers online A paradigm shift
Evolution of the online consumer New to Net Communications
Services Retail Contributor User First activities Email Online
banking CDs/Books Blogs Get to know ISP Message services Simple
travel Complex travel Comments & posting Information search
Photo sharing Lodge tax eBay Customer reviews LOTS of time browsing
Social networks Book concerts Groceries Ratings Source:
Nielsen//NetRatings
Young consumers more active online Common features: 1.
User-generated content over corporate content 2. Communities 3.
Music 4. Keeping in touch
Older consumers are functional Common features: 1. Information
rich 2. News 3. Staying in touch
Consumers ecosystems
Users are more than just users Source:
http://darmano.typepad.com/
Kids are growing up with technology The top five online chores
for 8-14 year olds: 38% share pictures & emails with relatives
38% get movie listings 36% invitations & party planning stuff
36% plan vacations/travel 35% get driving directions 14% helped
their parents prepare their income tax return Source: YPulse
Friday, 11 May 2007
Tween & teen online behaviour Globally, the average young
person connected to digital technology has: 94 phone numbers in his
or her mobile phone. 78 people on a messenger buddy list & 86
people in his or her social networking community. Digi-kids are not
geeks 59% of 8 to 14 yrs still prefer their TV to their PCs Only
20% of 14 to 24 yrs globally admitted to being quot;interestedquot;
in technology. Climate impacts on digital technology. In countries
with a strong outdoor culture, such as Italy, Brazil &
Australia, young people use mobiles for arranging to meet, flirt
& take pictures of their friends. Online activity 70% said the
first thing they did after turning on their computer was to check
IM. 14-17 girls spend the least time online -- 21 hrs/wk 22-24
males spent the most time online -- 31 hrs/wk 100% of those
surveyed said they communicate every time they go online. Source:
MTV, Nickelodeon & Microsoft study
http://sev.prnewswire.com/multimedia-online-internet/20070724/NYTU10924072007-1.html
Multi-tasking is becoming normal 50% of Australian Internet
users say that for at least half the amount of time they are online
at home they also have the television on. Source: ninemsn Media
Usage Study
Broadband users do more Broadband users spend between 3 & 9
times more time online than dialup users AND they use more
entertainment services
Broadband impacts user behaviour IM: 49% bb vs. 29% dial-up
Chat groups: 25% bb vs. 16% dial-up Music downloads: 44% bb vs. 35%
dial-up Video downloads: 24% bb vs. 11% dial-up Online radio: 26%
bb vs. 15% dial-up Creating blogs: 13% bb vs. 6% dial-up Reading
blogs: 21% bb vs. 10% dial-up Podcasting: 10% bb vs. 3%
dial-up
Five key Consumer take outs 1. More time online Consumers are
consuming more online, it is becoming a down time tool (engaging,
but functional content) 2. Kids as teachers Kids are teaching their
parents how to use the computer & internet 3. Divided attention
Multi-tasking is common & we are competing for attention 4.
Lots of noise Everyone is talking about online consumers, agencies
& the media 5. Consumers are multi-dimensional Users are more
than just users
Advertising today
Messenger Trigger comms Display iPhone apps Streaming
Ambassadors Online WOM Microblogging Video - YouTube SEO
Widgets
Customer Journey Attract Engage Transact Retain Grow (how do we
(what is going (how do we (what ongoing (what ongoing attract
people to make get them to comms are we comms sre we & drive
them engage transact, either going to use to going to use to
awareness of the with the brand financially keep the brand keep
growing the campaign) or site) or pzersonally) top of mind)
consumer trans) ATL Microsite Shop online DM DM POS Landing page
Register eDM eDM Online Website eDM sign-up Call Call OTM Instore
DM In-branch Microsite Microsite eDM Call centre WOM Measurement
& Optimisation
How business approach marketing? Campaign activity Base line
activity (consistency & presence in market)
How we should approach it? Base line activity (consistency
& presence in market) Campaign activity
Online advertising Attract
Online Advertising Definition Any paid-for or free space on a
website or in an email, including: Referrals Keyword Search (SEM)
Classifieds Sponsorships Display Ads Email
Digital Segment Terminology Online Advertising General
Advertising Online Classifieds Paid Search Directories Display
advertising (e.g. Automotive Pay Per Click Search Online
directories (e.g. Banners) Engine revenue Yellow pages online, city
Real estate search Sponsorships Pay per Click Contextual Employment
Search revenue Local Search Affiliate Advertising Personals Email
Advertising General Classifieds Online Auction listings
Big Spenders: Finance, Computer & Auto IAB Online
Advertising Expenditure Report Dec 07
Online Ad Expenditure Source: IAB Online Advertising
Expenditure Report Dec 07
Top Australian Networks 9.5 million unique users Ninemsn: 7.86
million unique users 9MSN TV show sites, ACP Magazine Sites,
Hotmail, MSN Messenger, Hoyts, 9MSN Finance & Travel. Sensis
Media Smart/Telstra: 6.77 million unique users Yellow Pages, White
Pages, Where Is, Sensis.com.au, School Friends, Trading Post, City
Search, Travel.com.au, Lastminute & Bigpond. Yahoo! 7: 4.96
million unique users Y! Mail & Messenger, Channel 7 Sites
(Sunrise, Today Tonight), Pacific Publication Sites (Better Homes
& Gardens, Girlfriend). 4.4 million unique users News Digital:
3.70 million unique users News.com.au, Fox Sports, Career One, Aus
IT & News Corp papers. Fairfax Digital: 3.46 million unique
users SMH, The Age, AFR, Trading Room, Money Manager, My Career,
Drive & RSVP. Source: Nielsen Online NetView Home & Work
April 2008
Expanding & Streaming
Over The Page
Dynamic Ads (RSS)
MSN Messenger
Creative presentation
Common Internet Advertising Terminology Impressions: The number
of times an internet ad is displayed. Clicks: Number of times users
have clicked on an internet ad. Unique user reach: Number of unique
users an internet advertising campaign has reached (different from
impressions as one unique user may be delivered several ad
impressions during a campaign). Click through rate (CTR):
Percentage of users who have click on an internet ad. This is the
metric commonly used to measure initial effectiveness of creative
concepts & ad placements. An average CTR is 0.20% but this
varies by creative size (a text link for example will have a much
lower CTR while a large format banner will have a much larger CTR).
Eg. 50 clicks from 10,000 impressions = 50/10,000 = 0.5% CTR.
Common Internet Advertising Terminology CPA: Cost per
acquisition (acquisition usually a sale, sign up or lead) is
calculated by dividing cost of advertising by number of sales/sign
ups. Is also a metric for buying online media. Very rarely
available, sometimes offered by publishers as a way of generating
revenue via un-sold inventory. CPM: Metric for buying online media,
stands for cost per thousand impressions (this cost of course
varies between publisher, placement & ad format). CPC: Metric
for judging online media, stands for cost per click. Standard
buying metric for search media but not as widely available as CPM
is across other publishers & sites however offered sometimes
for less targeted activity.
Common Internet Advertising Terminology Site Activities:
Internet advertising tracking not only allows advertisers to see
impressions, clicks & click through rate for creative concepts
& ad placements but also activities of their choice past this
initial impression & click stage. Ad-server: Technology that
facilitates the running of internet advertisements on websites
& in turn keeps track of impressions, clicks, click rate &
post impression/click activities.
Quick Exercise Do you notice online advertising? Why? Funny
Your ads Competitor ads What types? Video Static Interaction Why
not? Too focused Not interested
Five key Online advertising take outs 1. More than display Need
to think about classifieds, messenger & search 2. Investment is
growing Clients are spending more money advertising online 3.
Accountability Need to define what is brand & what is direct
upfront 4. Creative Think about the environment that the
advertising will live in 5. Measurement What does success look
like? What are the benchmarks?
Search Consumption Attract
What does a search engine do? A user perspective Ask a
question, get an answer A search engine perspective Find all the
answers Give you the best onesRANKED Measure the human interaction
with its logic If you are not the answer, someone else is
Searcher strategy SEO SEM Products Handsets Offers
Networks
Google Universal
Google Flights
Google Teleporting
Miserable Failure
Googles Golden Triangle
Googles Universal Eye Tracker
Googles Universal Eye Tracker
2008 Market Forecast According to Frost & Sullivan
(Australian online search study 2008), Information &
Communication Technology sector (ICTs) is expected to increase
search budgets: 57% of Consumer ICTs to increase their search
budget 47% increase it by 10-30% 29% by 30-50%, 6% will increase it
more than 90% 43% of Business ICTs to increase their search budget
54% increase it by 10-30% 15% by 30-50% 8% will increase it by more
than 90% Of these extra budgets the planned allocation is as
followed: 62% increase search engine keyword budgets 31% increase
online directory budgets 28% increase contextual search budgets 16%
increase mobile search budgets Telstra set to implement large focus
on search for 2008
Consumer Activity Online Telco specific Attract Engage Transact
Retain Grow Generic Keywords Generic & Product Brand Terms
Brand Related Terms Keywords (Mobiles, Nokia, (Optus Mobile, (Optus
Mobile, My Optus) Sony Ericsson, Cap (W880i, Skypephone, Optus,
with Low Avg. CPCs, High Avg. CTRs, Low Plans) N95) Optus.com.au)
Conversion Rates with High Avg. with High Avg. with Low Avg. CPCs,
Low CTRs, CPCs, Medium Avg. CPCs, High Avg. Low Conversion CTRs,
Medium to CTRs, High Rates Low Conversion Conversion Rates Rates
64% learn more about 76% compare prices of 40% purchased/ 31%
return to where they purchased a new telecommunication new
telecommunication subscribed to a new telecommunications products
for accessories & products online products online
telecommunications product service after researching it online
Source: MediaScreen Telecommunications Survey. July 2006
Landing Page Guidelines SEM (paid) Affiliate (paid) SEO
(organic) Broadband Broadband Broadband Special deal for visitors
What to look for from a Common features We have a great deal of
X/Y/Z Broadband provider? for people who want to Specific copy
specific connect their Call/order now & enjoy an The top 10
things to know copywriters broadband services exclusive offer when
you are looking for broadband. Optus can offer you as a visitor
Conversion driven Call now! of X/Y/Z a 10% extra download Many
people have a lot of package on all broadband questions about
choosing the Integrated approach Or leave your name to go in
services ordered today. best broadband provider. What (1+1=3) the
draw for a free Internet We will also send an email with are the
key things to look for? Security Pack, available information on the
Internet Download limits, costs, exclusively from Optus Security
Pack restrictions. Based on searcher demand - keywords Campaign
driven Measurable conversion Keyword compliance Clear conversion
Personal approach 1 per red keyword DM style Funnel by affiliate
Leader guru Short Provide info content Create trust SEO not main
aim Exclusive deal SEO is main aim Written to sell Written to sell
Written to inform
Search Engine Optimisation (SEO)
Search Engine Optimisation Definition The process of choosing
targeted keyword phrases related to a site, and ensuring that the
site places well when those keyword phrases are part of a web
search. www.marketingterms.com The process has two major
components: On page optimisation site technology &
accessibility site content Off page optimisation link popularity
link reputation
Best Practice SEO: Design Several on page elements are taken
into account by Spiders (not limited to): Page Titles Meta
Description & Keywords Page Copy (Body Content) Image Alt Text
Internal Link Anchor Text File names Search Friendly Navigation
Site Map Heading Tags A clearly distinguishable site architecture
& navigation structure can help with inclusion & improving
rankings.
Best Practice SEO: Content Content is King! The Internet is
mainly a source of information & that is what search engines
look for. So the more content the better. Consider how people would
find information By brand By product capability By Issue Develop
content around the selected keywords (Or Augment the existing
content to cover target terms) Fresh content is favored by search
engines Blogs, Press Releases, community areas
Keyword in title Keyword in directory Content tab Keyword in H1
Keyword body spread Hyperlinked text Keyword meta tags
Ego search
Ego search Gav is an older, American comic actor born in
1931
Ego search Hamishs name has been automatically respelt, is an
American soul musician, formally in The Average White Band
Ego search Megan is Megan, but there is a lot of room for her
to own her name
Submit your site
Register your trademark
Quick Exercise What can you do to increase your
profile/presence online? What type of sites? What is your action
plan?
IAG Unworry Exercise
Five key Search take outs 1. Constant Search isnt just a
campaign, it must be on 100% 2. Nurture Search must be nurtured,
whether it is paid or organic 3. Integration Search must be
integrated into campaigns. Only 2% of people remember URLs shown in
TVCs or other activity. 4. Optimisation Search can be optimised
real-time, campaigns can be tested & learnings taken out
immediately 5. Measurement What does success look like? What were
the take outs from the campaign (ATL elements)?
State of the Blogosphere comScore MediaMetrix (August 2008)
Blogs: 77.7 million unique visitors in the US Facebook: 41.0
million MySpace 75.1 million Total internet audience 188.9 million
eMarketer (May 2008) 94.1 million US blog readers in 2007 (50% of
Internet users) 22.6 million US bloggers in 2007 (12%) Universal
McCann (March 2008) 184 million WW have started a blog | 26.4 US
346 million WW read blogs | 60.3 US 77% of active Internet users
read blogs Source: State of the Blogosphere 2008
http://technorati.com/blogging/state-of-the-blogosphere/
Blogging demo & geographic details Source: State of the
Blogosphere 2008
http://technorati.com/blogging/state-of-the-blogosphere/
Personal vs corporate blogs Source: State of the Blogosphere
2008 http://technorati.com/blogging/state-of-the-blogosphere/
Most popular blog topics Source: State of the Blogosphere 2008
http://technorati.com/blogging/state-of-the-blogosphere/
Why blog? Source: State of the Blogosphere 2008
http://technorati.com/blogging/state-of-the-blogosphere/
Elements used within the blog Source: State of the Blogosphere
2008 http://technorati.com/blogging/state-of-the-blogosphere/
Driving traffic to blogs Source: State of the Blogosphere 2008
http://technorati.com/blogging/state-of-the-blogosphere/
Measuring blog success Source: State of the Blogosphere 2008
http://technorati.com/blogging/state-of-the-blogosphere/
Source: http://darmano.typepad.com/
Blog statistics Source: http://dominiquehind.wordpress.com
Why is blogging important to companies?
It all started with a post Source:
http://www.buzzmachine.com/archives/cat_dell.html
And gained momentum Source:
http://www.buzzmachine.com/archives/cat_dell.html
And even more momentum
Leading to dedicated haters
Phase 1 Dell blog One-way information push with moderated
postings & comments
Quick Exercise How should Optus use a blog? Is We Hear You
enough? How should customer feedback flow through Optus? Process
Profile
Five key Blogging take outs 1. Consistent message Ensure
messaging is consistent with online activities 2. Open
communication Transparent two-way dialogue is essential in
authentic communication 3. Onsite promotion Idea promotion onsite
allows the company to meet customer needs & wants 4. Company
wide buy in Must be ingrained in the company with all departments
actively engaged with regular posts 5. Focus Site needs to have one
single, specific focus to drive posts
Social networking Attract, Engage & Participate
Social Marketing Definition It is a platform for connection
between like minded people or those that have a personal
connection. Communities or groups are initially formed on physical
connections & social networks radiate outwards based on common
interests between people (MGM). Social networking provides the
platform for people to engage & find other like minded
individuals.
Social Marketing A question Where does social marketing fit in
a marketing context? Consumers expect to see commercial messaging
on portals & sites. BUT on social network sites, without
relevance & context, it has the ability to possibly devalue
& detract from a brands relevance, stature & esteem.
Social Network 7 Building Blocks Source:
http://nform.ca/publications/social-software-building-block
Most popular Social Networks Twitter, Jaiku, Pownce, 8apps,
Facebook, MySpace, Gleamd, Zaadz, Ning, Benny Bixs fave, Dogster,
YouTube
Most popular Social Networks
Social Network Contributors 0.16% of all visitors to YouTube
upload videos to it 0.2% of visitors to Flickr upload photos 4.6%
of all visits to Wikipedia pages are to edit entries on the site
Source:
http://customerevangelists.typepad.com/blog/2006/05/charting_wiki_p.html
Top 100 Twitters Source: http://www.twitterholic.com
Customers taking control Yum Brands has closed a number of
restaurants that had rats running wild. The NYC inspector who'd
given the restaurant a passing grade is in trouble, too.
User generated sites vs corporate sites
IT Audience spending time online Executive-level decision
makers spend nearly 3.5hrs per week consuming or participating in
social media. How many hours per week do you spend online consuming
or participating in the following media types? Source: Marketing
Charts
http://www.marketingcharts.com/interactive/it-execs-social-media-most-trusted-source-for-purchasing-decisions-619)
IT Audience trust social media IT professionals cite social
media as the most trustworthy online source of information when
making purchasing decisions. What information sources do you trust
the most for your companys purchasing decisions? Source: Marketing
Charts
(http://www.marketingcharts.com/interactive/it-execs-social-media-most-trusted-source-for-purchasing-decisions-619)
Consumer reviews
Profiles of companies involved in social networks
Five characters of Social Marketing The Confused The Hopeful
The Experimenter The Participant The Insightful
The Confused Profile Its an interesting place to be BUT I dont
really know why I am here.
The Confused Example
The Hopeful Profile I dont know how BUT I hope this is
effective.
The Hopeful Example
The Hopeful Example
The Hopeful Example
The Experimenter Profile I need to know how this works &
have to be involved, regardless of the impact.
The Experimenter Example
The Experimenter Example
The Experimenter Example
The Experimenter Example
The Participant Profile This is a digital congregation point
for consumers of like mindedness (our target audience).
The Participant Example
The Participant Example
The Participant Example
The Insightful Profile It just makes sense, Fish where the fish
are.
The Insightful Example
The Insightful Example
The Insightful Example
Quick Exercise How should Optus get involved with social
networks? Campaign vs Brand? What social networks would be relevant
for Optus?
Five key Social Marketing take outs 1. Absolute relevance Just
because you can, doesnt mean you should 2. Community Understand
your audience & reason for being 3. Involvement Offer something
your audience wants 4. Creative If it looks like an ad & smells
like an ad, it wont work in social networking 5. Measurement What
does success look like? What is the economic value of the
campaign?
Website Engage & Participate
Websites: A thought People don't want to wait. And they don't
want to learn how to use a home page. There's no such thing as a
training class or a manual for a website. People have to be able to
grasp the functioning of the site immediately after scanning the
home page - for a few seconds at most. Jakob Nielsen
Web 1.0 What is web 1.0? What is wrong with web 1.0? One-way
communications People want human interaction Pretty postcards The
internet is NOT just another Brochureware websites channel for
broadcasting Internet is just another The conversation went channel
elsewhere Corporate speak Content created by few Static pages
Digitisation of existing knowledge
Web 2.0 Why it is different? Design Open source Communications
Conversations (two-way) Collaborations Content creation by many
Control of content by few is gone Mass participation
Types of Web 2.0 sites Social networks Blogs RSS Social
bookmarking Wikis File-sharing
Why has there been the change? Consumers want a rich user
experience
Blackmores - B your best
FMCG giving a reason to visit
AMPs Super Simulator Web 1.5
Engagement in offline presence
Consumers want to be understood
Content online
Designs updated based on day
Degree of difficulty Less complicated More complicated Price
list eCommerce Static content Dynamic content Same website for all
visitors Personalised website Contact Us form Real-time chat &
call back Public website Password protected Campaign microsite
Company website
Print vs Web Mainstream Online: Images taken in before Words
taken in before images words Logo, top left Logo, bottom right
Designed for familiarity Designed for freshness Visitor chooses to
interrupt Interrupts their life their life Trying to make money
Trying to save money TURN EVERYTHING YOU KNOW ON ITS HEAD
How to create a website 1. Never underestimate 2. Create a site
map 3. Write a functional spec 4. Creative design & content 5.
Technical development 6. Test, test, test & launch 7. Report,
optimise, learn & refine
Free TV online Friis & Zennstr - received part of $2.6
billion cash payment when eBay acquired Skype in 2005.
Joost who has signed up Warner Music, Fox Studios, Indianapolis
Motor Speedway Productions (Indianapolis 500, IndyCar Series) &
production company Endemol. In 2007, Viacom entered into a deal
with the company to distribute content from its media properties,
including MTV Networks,BET & film studio Paramount Pictures.
National Geo, MTV, Red Bull Xtreme channel, Swimsuit channel
Watching the web via your TV
Quick Exercise What type of audiences go to Optus? What
questions should the Optus site ask when people arrive? How should
Optus update its site to be more web 2.0?
Five key Website take outs 1. Make it easy Users want to get in
& get out of a website (functional) 2. Understand the audience
Understand why the audience is at the website & what they want
3. Involvement Offer something your audience wants 4. Content
Content is king, it is what keeps users there & returning 5.
Traffic How is traffic arriving at the site? What is pushing them
there? Where are the islands?
Lets Play Engage & Participate
Second Life: How to get started?
Teen Second Life
Second Life Avatars 43% women 31 years old (averages) 48%
non-Americans
Second Life Orientation Island Residents get inside SL through
an Orientation Island
Second Life Concept 3 key elements Community Users can create
their own avatars to live a new life in Second Life world. User
generation content Second Life citizens are owners of their own
contents and have all legal rights over products, animations, art,
scripts and everything they may create inside SL. Market Economy is
moved by users that buy and sell products using Linden Dollars
(Second Life coin).
Second Life Fast growth 1,000 events per day 275,000 different
objects are bought & sold everyday 2003 2005 2006
Corporate eCommerce in Second Life
Second Life Case (BBC1)
Advergame stats 50% of recipients play the advergame, for an
average of 25 minutes. 90% of players who receive a challenge from
a friend play the game and respond back with their score or
statistics. According to the Entertainment Software Assn., 42% of
gamers say they play online games one or more hours per week.
Source: http://www.frontnetwork.net/advergame/
eBay examples
Quick Exercise Can you see a practical use for any of our
clients? How would you measure ROI? Would you use SecondLife?
Five key Gaming take outs 1. Constantly changing Constantly
evolving industry 2. Online advertising Similar purchasing &
specifications as online advertising 3. Audience This isnt for
every audience 4. Creative Simple, simple creative similar to
billboards (limited animation) 5. Measurement This is a brand
activity rather than direct response
Email Attract, Retain & Grow
Why email? Over half of Internet users check or send email
daily Specific types of interaction with messages can trigger other
messages to be automatically delivered Specific types of
interaction with messages can trigger other events such as updating
the profile of the recipient to indicate a specific interest
category GREEN Email marketing is GREEN with almost no impact
whatsoever on the environment No limit to personalisation
Popular email uses Opt-in based / profile driven comms MGM
Viral RM based communications Sales promotions Newsletters Alerts
Time-based reminders Trigger based (actions for segments) New
Product launches Product user/support groups Sales transaction Base
Transactions - statements / invoices etc
Why people open an email? What prompts user to open &
respond to emails? 54%: Products or services featured 40%: Written
copy 35%: Subject line 33%: Compelling offers (e.g. discounts, free
shipping) 12%: A single large image 9%: Multiple smaller images 6%:
Search box within the email 3%: Recipients get text-only email
Source:
http://www.emaillabs.com/tools/email-marketing-statistics.html#popularsenddays
Recipe for email success Audience Time Message
What you need for an email campaign Email requirements MIME
(text & HTML) Text only HTML only Envelope details From Valid
from email address Reply email address Email subject Client list of
testers Customer data delivery & quality Email blast: Staged or
staggered One send Reporting required Level of personality
Management of opt-out responses
Technical Hints for emails Link to web version of the email:
All HTML emails should have a link to a hosted page All text emails
produced include a link through to hosted page Email concepts:
Concepts are optimised for print & will appear different on the
computer screen Text emails: Not extensive formatting available use
symbols to tailor Links appearing will appear in the IP/number
format. Preview window: Ensure key information & offer is at
the top.
Technical Hints for emails File size: Standard file size of
HTML emails are between 14K 60K. Email size: HTML emails are
designed to fit 550 x 800 screen resolution & be viewed in
standard email clients. File types: HTML emails cant be produced as
.jpg or as an attachments. Flash in email: All emails are unable to
incorporate rich media within them. Animated gifs are acceptable.
Email clients: Web based such as Hotmail, Gmail or Yahoo! and
others are software packages like Outlook, Lotus Notes or
Groupwise. Each email client renders HTML emails differently, so it
is important you test in multiple versions.
Email related internal review questions Briefing Why is the
client sending this email? Acquisition or retention? What does the
client want it to achieve? What will we be measured on? What is the
clients understanding about email? Do they know what standards they
should be adhering to? Concepts What does the concept look like in
a preview window? Can you see the message in the preview window?
What is the subject line? Is it under 50 characters? Does it
describe what the email is about? Is the most important message
(offer) at the top of the email? Is there a clear call to action?
Is there an allowance for disclaimer & opt-out in the email?
Has the email been layed out insitu? With the email envelope at the
top of the screen?
Email related internal review questions Develop Is there any
animation in the email? Is it working correctly? Has the
personalisation been included in the email? Testing What email
client does the client use? Has it been tested in this client? What
email clients has this been tested in? Web based or software
clients? How does the HTML email render in the major email clients?
Reporting Has this campaign met the clients objectives? What else
needs to be achieved? Optimisation Was there any creative testing
done? Subject line? Headlines? What can be learnt from the campaign
that can be used in the next campaign?
Coles emails No consistent subject line format No one send day
or time No consistent file size
Coles emails
ALDI emails Changed subject line approach Always sent on Friday
ALDI theme - date File size more consistent
Tesco emails Consistent subject line for each email Consistent
for each email Always include Tesco & short Very inconsistent
file size
E-Marketing Toolbox TIER ONE + + + + Rich e-mail Data Manage
Data Capture Metrics Integration Response TIER TWO + + + ++ + +
Rich e-mail Data Manage Data Capture Landing page Lead Metrics
Integration Response Micro-site Distribution TIER THREE + + + ++ +
+ + Rich e-mail Data Manage Data Capture Landing page Lead
Optimisation Metrics Integration Response Micro-site
Distribution
Cleaning up your inbox
Cleaning up your inbox
Reducing the need for email
Quick Exercise Do you read all of your emails? How many
newsletters do you subscribe to? When you receive an email, what do
you want it to be? Brief Funny Hastily written Ill-considered
Thoughtless Regrettable Long
Five key Email take outs 1. Communicate if you ask for info If
you ask for an email address, communicate 2. Personalisation Ensure
emails are personalised based on behaviour or purchase information
3. Test, test, test (& debug) There are so many email clients,
so make sure to test the developed email 4. Test, test, test (&
learn) So many things to test: creative, subject, times, offers,
etc dont forget the control group 5. Checklist Develop a best
practice checklist & ensure all emails meet everything
Benchmarks & ROI Campaign summary
Measurement Benchmarks Online advertising (banner ads) Email
Direct response Bounce rates Click through rates Open rates
Interaction rates Click through rates Post impression clicks Most
popular articles Brand response Number of forwards Impressions
served Search Websites Keywords Position Visitors Cost per click
Time spent on site Cost