Top Banner

of 6

Personnel Complaint Redacted Print

Apr 07, 2018

Download

Documents

Welcome message from author
This document is posted to help you gain knowledge. Please leave a comment to let me know what you think about it! Share it to your friends and learn new things together.
Transcript
  • 8/6/2019 Personnel Complaint Redacted Print

    1/6

    SHERIFF-CORONER DEPARTMENTCOUNTY OF ORANGECALIFORNIA

    SANDRA HUTCHENSSHERIFF-CORONER.UNDERSHERIFFJOHN l.SCOTT

    PERSONNEL COMPLAINTSEXECUTIVE COMMANDTIM BOARDRICKDOSTAL

    MIKE JAMESJAY LEFLORECOMM.A.NDERSMARK B IL LI NGSLE E TRUJIllOW, DAVID WILSON

    The Orange County Sheriff-Coroner Department has a strict policy of maintaining good law enforcementcommunity relations. To achieve this goal, it is imperative that all complaints against members of thedepartment be thoroughly investigated. We want to know when our service needs to be improved and wealso want to provide a means for cit izens to redress grievances against the departmental members.The following IS information on how to make a formal complaint and answers some commonly askedquestions about our procedures.IN WHAT FORM MAY.I MAKE MY COMPLAINT?~ Complaints are accepted in writing, and in person. In making a oomplaint, please, use the attachedPersonnel Complaint form, You may mail or walk the form to the following address:

    Orange County Sheriff Coroner320 N. Flower Street 4th FloorSanta Ana, Ca 92703Internal Investigations UnitWHO WILL INVESTIGATE MY COMPLAINT?:> Complaints can be handled by the appropriate Division Commander or by our lntemat Investigations Unit.Complaints can be lOdged during normal business hours at most of our several facilities locatedthroughout the county. If this is impractical, you may telephone Internal Investigations at (714) 834-5548...~ After normal business hours, complaints can be made to the Sheriffs Watch Commander (714) 647-7000.

    The Watch Commander will take information reg.ardi.ngthe complaint and forward it to the appropriatedivision. Written complaints will also be accepted. Please use the attached "Personnel Compl'aint Form." Uponreceipt of the written complaint, an investigator or other member of the department may interview you.IF I WRITE MY COMPLAINT. WHY DO YOU WANT TO TALK TO ME?~ The department wants to do a complete investigation of all sincere complaints. Departmentalemployees are also .interviewed, whioh can lead to a version of events that varies from what is writtenby a complainant. Fairness to both sides requires that involved parties and witnesses also beinterviewed in an attempt to ascertain the truth. Certain facts, recollections, or evidence not originallyconsidered by the complainant could be vital in determining tne facts of the incident.WHAT WilL HAPPEN TO THE DEPARTMENTAL EMPLOYEE? thalwiJl depend on what if cmythil1g,the employee did wrong. If the actions were criminal, the

    employee will be dealt with like any other citizen If their behavior was improper but not criminal, theemployee may be discipJined by the Sheriff to the degree warranted by the individual situation.Disciplines can range from reprimands through suspensions to termination.WILL IBE INFORMED. REGARDING THE OUTCOME OF THE INVESTIGATION? Yes. Internallnves!lgations will mail you a letter within 30 days of the disposition of the case CPC 8327) .

    ALISO VIEJO OANA POINT. LAGUNA HILLS LAGUNA NIGUEL LAGUNAWQOOS LAKE FOREST MISSION VIEJORANCHO SANTA MARGARITA. S.ANCLEMENTE. SAN JUAN CAPISTRANO. STANTON. VILLA PARK

    OC PARKS. DANA POINT HARBOR. JOHN WAYNE AIRPORT. OCTA SUPERIOR COURT

    ..~

    PRO UD L Y SER VI NG THE U NI NC OR PO RA TED 'AR .EAS OF ORANGE COUNTY AND THE FOLLOWING CInES AND AGENCIES:

  • 8/6/2019 Personnel Complaint Redacted Print

    2/6

    SHERIFF~CORONER DEP~RTMEN'"County of O-angesants .1\: '19, Califomia

    PERSONNEL COMPLAINT FORM

    Name of GOlT'p!ainant: __ C_o_re_y_-_B_ra_n_d_o_n_:E_ib Date ~ August 1, 2011Address: General Delivery, San Clemen_:_t_e CityfStateJZip: __alifomia Non Domestic].fIob.'!~R

  • 8/6/2019 Personnel Complaint Redacted Print

    3/6

    Statement of Ccmolarnt (conur,JEd) Bowls yelled. Usitdown."1 sat down immediat.ely ..Officer Bowlsthe_!1assualted and!:l_andcuffed me. Both Officer's made ~atements of how long they could kee_pmain j.aillaLr.efusj~e._a_flI.Stname~ Q 1 f i _ c e r J 3 o w J s . 1 b . e n . . p r n . D . e e d e ! l i o _ _ s e a r . c b j l J . e . PJQper ty_gntb_e_s~ceJla,jn_cJ.uding~e._dus.ed._contaloenuxiltmuLQQll5ftnLO..:ftke.[ Bow ls _ st ate ..d ,Ile w as .goingto char e me with ~ssession of mari"uanna found illQ.ocket on a beach chair. A OCSD cruiserarrived on scene, Before being put into the police cruiser, Officer Giron asked permissi~n !.~searchmy person, I deni.ed permission to search. Immediately Offioer Bowls assualted me, grabbed theright pocket of my shorts3nd pushed me into the O_gSD cruiser. I wask~dn~pped !I'2d taken ag~instmy will to the OGSD station in San Clemente where Officer Giron and Officer Bowls conspiredto convert my given and family name to a first and last name ..Officer Bowls pulled my handcuffedleft. hand up and behind my shoulder so as to cause pain and discomfort while Officer Gironpresented the citation for me to sign. Officer Bowls stated if I did not sign the citation that it wouldbe many hours or even days before he eQuId bring me to a magistrate ..Fearing for my safety,lsigned the citation as a third party and noted a proper reservation of ri~ht! in order to obtain myliberty. Officer Giron and Officer Bowls conspired to deny me due process,. conspired to deny meLiberty and freedom of movement, kidnapped me with the assistance of a third Deputy and leftme to walk a considerable distance to return to my property at the beach during a dangerous

  • 8/6/2019 Personnel Complaint Redacted Print

    4/6

    Per the California Penal Code:yOU HAVE. THE RIGHT TO MAKE A COMPLAINT AGAINST A POLICE OFFICER FORANY IMPROPER POLICE CONDUCT. CALIFORNIA LAW REQUIRES THIS AGENCYTO HAVE A P,ROCEDURE TO INVESTIGATE CITIZENS' COMPLAINTS. YOU HAVETHE RI.GHT TO A WRITTEN DESCRI.PTION OF THIS PROCEDURE ..THIS AGENCYMAY FIND AFTER INVESTI,GATION THAT THERE IS NOT ENOUGH EVIDENCE TOWARRANT ACTION ON YOUR COMPLAINT. EVEN IF THAI IS THE CASE, YOUHAVE THE RIGHT TO MAKE THE COMPLAINT AND HAVE IT INVESTIGATED IF YOUBELIEVE AN OFFICER BEHAVED IMPROPERLY. CITIZEN COMPLAINTS AND ANYREPORTS OR FINDING,S RELATED TO COMPLAINTS MUST BE RETAINED BY THISAGENCY FOR AT LEAST FIVE YEARS.This form is available in any of the following languages: Albanian, Armenian, Cambodian,Chinese, Dutch, Dari, Farsi, French, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian,llocano, Indonesian,Italian, Japanese, Lao, Korean, Polish, Punjabi, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Tagalog,Tamil, Thai, Urdu and Vietnamese.Please sign and date this complaint form (or its other language equivalent) and return it tous, so we can proceed with the investigation.

    Orange County Sheriff CoronerP.O. BOX 449

    SANTA ANA, CA 92702-0499Internall nvestig ations Unit

    By signing this form, J certify that the statements contained in it are true andcorrect to th e bes t of my know ledge and belie f.

  • 8/6/2019 Personnel Complaint Redacted Print

    5/6

  • 8/6/2019 Personnel Complaint Redacted Print

    6/6

    I"SI-IERIFF-CORONEROFORANGECOUNTY -CitJ,of - --' ~ - ..- ~'

    NOT ICE TO APPEAR B ~ ~ ~ ~ c E ~ ~ : n i r = f f i Clis 2 ' < 8 0 ~ f :o a ; o f : ' o 1 ; ~ n I 1/ I T ~ r n ; q , ' t g .~ ~ I ~ Y M o f ~ e ~ T F s l ~ ~ e N O ~1") "'~..,Nama (FlfSl, Middle, Last) "~ -. 0wn6.~s Ae"po~sibilitY [Van. Code. )40001I!,,~,J-... """'~ .,to . _ \ I"'".....a .

    Slam ZIP Coda

    ooooLocation of Vlolatlon(")3 1 ' " " . . . ~ 1..-:~ r-~-' . d " " . . . . ~...:l-:;Weatno, -So rface TralneClea,. Fo g RaJn Dr y Wet Ughl M ed Heavy Dir

    WindSpeed

    D V lo la li on s ' no t oommitted In m.y . p r a s a n C 9 ' , declared 01 1information and bo' l Iel .Ideclare "nO... penalty 01p~~ury uno.erll1e laws allhe Slate01C a l if o r n i ahe IoregolngIstrue and rolfect(!

    Ar",.!lng OrCiting om""r PION".Dale Name01A r r ; e s U n g , Officer. n dtfterent from Citing O f I i c e r

    >,;.;...- - n t o A n a ~ 2 7 Gl 1 61 7) an2122' !;Jlla'rbor J_ ''''8f, . ! . a g o . , na tIIIls FocililY.2 3 1 41 1 .I 00 0 1 IO n 1 ' 1 < 1 ' ; 2n d F i I o o . t, L a g, "" , H il ls 9 .2 6 5M 1 0 Il ( 8 1 7 ) a n. 2 1 ~r : :l R ;[ b o r J u "" " C e n lo r ,N,wp'," Bo a ch Fa c il il y.4 0 0 - 1J a .' ll b af e e Rd . .N~~ B e a ch ,9m6U2~ Im)1I72t l i! 2'0~rth J l ,I $b C '. ie lt 'i et , 1 " 2: 7 5 N l I lr fh aei'keley A ' i ' . E ! O O E I . FI,I~rtorli mS2~1:258 (S7"l) 8 7 . 2 , . : 2 1 : U0_J l I S I i o e ' C e n t . .. 8 14 1 1!~.l rM t , W e wn fR S l" 9 2G S 3 45 93 ( 8 17 ) 8 1 2 41 22O.hw.oile C O O l ! . 3411bs C i : y O r i Y a S < ! < n h , 0 Q ! n g < ! 98868( 6 5 7 ) 6!N508

    : 0: 10 B E N OT IF IE D

    1

    e n: : : E :00r-o0100Q.f~~ I

    V ' O l l \ , W , A 'S , C .' .stEREVE~ErnI ; ,oJ u d i : i a I Couoc:il,fCl!llhlrniaR. .. I f 4. .OHO ( V e h . Ceda. 1 14D5OO{ h) ,4 0 5 1 3 ( b ) ,4 D5 2 2. 4 0 6 0 0; PM . CGde, I 853 ,9 )