Top Banner
Virgin Mobile USA: Pricing for the Very First Time by Hetal Sangani
50
Welcome message from author
This document is posted to help you gain knowledge. Please leave a comment to let me know what you think about it! Share it to your friends and learn new things together.
Transcript
Page 1: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

Virgin Mobile USA: Pricing for the Very First Time

by Hetal Sangani

Page 2: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

2

IntroductionIntroduction

AnalysisAnalysis

ConclusionConclusion

Company BackgroundCompany Background

Case BackgroundCase Background

Issue of ConcernIssue of Concern

All OptionsAll Options

Theory ApplicationTheory Application

RecommendationsRecommendations

Market ResearchMarket Research

Virgin ResponseVirgin Response

CalculationCalculation

Inviting QuestionsInviting Questions

Page 3: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

Company Background

Case Background

Issue of Concern

• Virgin, a leading branded venture capital organization, is

one of the world's most recognized and respected brands.

• Conceived in 1970 by Sir Richard Branson, the Virgin Group has gone on to grow very successful business in sectors ranging from mobile telephony, to transportation, travel, financial services, leisure, music, holidays, publishing and retailing.

• Virgin has created more than 200 branded companies worldwide, employing approximately 50,000 people, in 29 countries.

[Source: company website -Available from: http://www.virgin.com/AboutVirgin/WhatWeAreAbout/WhatWeAreAbout.aspx] 3

Page 4: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

Company Background

Case Background

Issue of Concern

4

Page 5: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

Sir Richard Charles Nicholas Branson (born 18 July 1950), is an English entrepreneur, best known for his Virgin brand, a banner that encompasses a variety of business organizations. The name Virgin was chosen because a female friend involved in setting down the initial record shop commented that there weren't any virgins left amongst them. Today, his net worth is estimated at about £4 billion (US$7.8 billion) according to The Sunday Times Rich List 2006, or US$3.8 billion according to Forbes magazine.

[Source: Mediaman AustraliaAvailable from: http://www.mediaman.com.au/profiles/branson3.html]

Company Background

Case Background

Issue of Concern

5

Page 6: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

[Source: company website -Available from: http://www.virgin.com/AboutVirgin/WhatWeAreAbout/WhatWeAreAbout.aspx]

A student magazine, a small mail order record company and a

recording shop were founded/ opened under the Virgin name.

Virgin Atlantic Airways and Virgin Cargo launched.

Virgin Broadcasting, Virgin Hotels, Virgin Megastores, etc.

Virgin Rail, Virgin Games, Virgin Cola, Virgin Travel, etc.

1970s

1984

1988

1990s

2000s Virgin Mobile, Virgin Bikes, Virgin Blue, Virgin Digital, etc.

Virg

in G

roup

Company Background

Case Background

Issue of Concern

6

Page 7: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

……

Company Background

Case Background

Issue of Concern

7

Page 8: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

Company Background

Case Background

Issue of Concern

8

Page 9: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

[Source: Adapted from Virgin Management Ltd.Available from: https://www.blackwellpublishing.com/grant/docs/15Virgin.pdf]

InternetInternet

Virgin GroupVirgin Group

Air TravelAir Travel

RailRail Hotel & LeisureHotel & Leisure DrinksDrinks

MobileMobile FinancialFinancial RetailRetail MusicMusic

Virgin Atlantic: 51%Virgin Express: 59.8%Virgin Blue: 29.1%

Virgin Mobile (UK): 100%Virgin Mobile (Aus):75%Virgin Mobile(USA): 50%

Virgin Money: 100% Entertainment: 98.5%Victory: 89%

V2: 52.5%Virgin Cars: 25%Virgin Wines: 45%Virgin Net: 51%Virgin Student: 85.5%

Virgin Retail Group: 51%Thetrainline.com: 86%

Virgin Hotel Group: 91%Virgin Active: 36%Virgin Active S.A.: 27%

Virgin Drinks: 100%

InternetInternet

Virgin GroupVirgin Group

Air TravelAir Travel

RailRail Hotel & LeisureHotel & Leisure DrinksDrinks

MobileMobile FinancialFinancial RetailRetail MusicMusic

Virgin Atlantic: 51%Virgin Express: 59.8%Virgin Blue: 29.1%

Virgin Mobile (UK): 100%Virgin Mobile (Aus):75%Virgin Mobile(USA): 50%

Virgin Money: 100% Entertainment: 98.5%Victory: 89%

V2: 52.5%Virgin Cars: 25%Virgin Wines: 45%Virgin Net: 51%Virgin Student: 85.5%

Virgin Retail Group: 51%Thetrainline.com: 86%

Virgin Hotel Group: 91%Virgin Active: 36%Virgin Active S.A.: 27%

Virgin Drinks: 100%

Note: % indicates percent ownership

Company Background

Case Background

Issue of Concern

9

Page 10: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

We believe in making a difference. In our customers'

eyes, Virgin stands for value for money, quality, innovation,

fun and a sense of competitive challenge. We deliver a

quality service by empowering our employees and we

facilitate and monitor customer feedback to continually

improve the customer's experience through innovation.

------- Virgin Group Website

[Source: http://www.virgin.com]

Company Background

Case Background

Issue of Concern

10

Page 11: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

• Is this an opportunity for restructuring a market and creating competitive advantage?

• What are the competitors doing?

• Is the customer confused or badly served?

• Is this an opportunity for building the Virgin brand? Can we add value?

• Will it interact with our other businesses?

• Is there an appropriate trade-off between risk and reward?

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

Company Background

Case Background

Issue of Concern

11

Page 12: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

• Rapidly growing industry.

• Typical market where the customer has been ripped off or under-served, where there is confusion and/or where the competition is complacent.

• Market segment ( 15-29 ages group) being ignored.

• Big players have not capitalized on this segment

• Competitors slow to react to ever-changing customer mindset

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

Company Background

Case Background

Issue of Concern

12

Page 13: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

• Dan Schulman was appointed CEO.

• The company entered into a 50-50 joint venture with Sprint in which Virgin Mobile USA’s services would be hosted on Sprint’s PCS network.

• Under the agreement, Virgin Mobile would purchase minutes from Sprint on an as-used basis.

• The goal of Virgin Mobile USA is: to have 1 million total subscribers by the end of 2002 and 3 million by year 2006.

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

Company Background

Case Background

Issue of Concern

13

Page 14: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

• Access to MTV-branded accessories and phones• Text messaging• Rescue Ring• Online Real-time Billing• Wake up Call• Ring tones• Fun Clips• The Hit List• Music Messenger• Movies

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

The first to offer m-commerce services to all customers via VirginXtras, irrespective of their handsets.

Company Background

Case Background

Issue of Concern

14

Page 15: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

Company Background

Case Background

Issue of Concern

15

0

20

40

60

80

100

120

140

160

180

1984 1986 1988 1990 1992 1994 1996 1998 2000 2002

Year

Nu

mb

er

of

Su

bs

cri

be

rs (

in m

illio

ns

)

0%

5%

10%

15%

20%

25%

30%

35%

40%

Ma

rke

t G

row

th R

ate

Number of Subscribers Growth Rate

Page 16: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

Carrier

05

101520253035

AT&T

Cinula

r

Verizo

n

Voice

Stream

Alltel

Sprint

U.S.C

ellula

rLea

p

Other

Carrie

rs

Subscribers

Mill

ions

Carrier

05

101520253035

AT&T

Cinula

r

Verizo

n

Voice

Stream

Alltel

Sprint

U.S.C

ellula

rLea

p

Other

Carrie

rs

Subscribers

Mill

ions

15%

20%

21%5%

5%

11%

3%1%

19%AT&T

Cinular

Verizon

VoiceStream

Alltel

Sprint

U.S.Cellular

Leap

Other Carriers

15%

20%

21%5%

5%

11%

3%1%

19%AT&T

Cinular

Verizon

VoiceStream

Alltel

Sprint

U.S.Cellular

Leap

Other Carriers[Source: The Case]

Company Background

Case Background

Issue of Concern

16

Page 17: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

“ If we can figure out a way to create value so that we can successfully enter a very competitive and saturated market, and also create profitability with this target segment, then we will have truly accomplished something big.”

17

Company Background

Case Background

Issue of Concern

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

Page 18: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

0 ₵

10 ₵

20 ₵

30 ₵

40 ₵

50 ₵

60 ₵

70 ₵

100 200 300 400 500 600 700 800

Contract Commitment - Minutes

[Source: Adapted from company data, Morgan Stanley Research]

Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

18

Page 19: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

Contract Commitment - Minutes

[Source: Adapted from company data, Morgan Stanley Research]

0 ₵

10 ₵

20 ₵

30 ₵

40 ₵

50 ₵

60 ₵

70 ₵

100 300 500 700

Pri

ce P

er M

inu

te

Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

19

Page 20: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

• Must reach our target market: Youth!

• Create a positive Lifetime Value (LTV) for every customer

– We must be able to make money!

Need to find a Breakthrough!

Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

20

Page 21: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

1. Clone the Industry Prices

Options 2. Price Below Competition

3. A Whole New plan

Options 1, 2 ?

Or 3?

Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

21

Page 22: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

• Simple message:- Pricing competitively

- MTV applications

- Superior customer service

• Better off peak hours

• Fewer hidden fees

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

22

Page 23: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

[Source: Adapted from company data, Morgan Stanley Research]

0 ₵

10 ₵

20 ₵

30 ₵

40 ₵

50 ₵

60 ₵

70 ₵

Minutes

100 200 300 400 500 600 700 800

Industry and VirginMarket

Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

23

Page 24: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

Pros and Cons

Easy to promote. Consumers are used to ‘buckets’ and

peak/off-peak distinctions. Savings on advertising budget costs. Simple packaging could save costs on high

commissioned salespeople.

The target youth market is not stressed. Hard for a new entrant to the market.No flexibility in calling habits; always paying

the same high price.With no real price distinction, consumers are

not willing to switch over just for the Virgin Extras features.

Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

24

Page 25: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

• Similar structure– Pricing slightly below the

competition

• Maintain ‘buckets’ of minutes– Price per minute set below

industry average in certain key buckets

– Target young market that uses 100 to 300 minutes

Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

25

Page 26: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

[Source: Adapted from company data, Morgan Stanley Research]

Virgin

Industry

0 ₵

10 ₵

20 ₵

30 ₵

40 ₵

50 ₵

60 ₵

70 ₵

100 200 300 400 500 600 700 800

Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

26

Page 27: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

Pros and Cons

Maintain the buckets and volume discounts with price per minute set below industry average.

Offer best off-peak hours and few hidden fees so consumers will know Virgin Mobile is cheaper, plain and simple.

Expand the size of the market and result in greater sales and profits.

Earnings from each consumer will be less.Sales growth does not necessarily mean big

profits.Risk of being regarded as low-quality service,

thus an unfavorable image. May trigger off competitive reactions.

Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

27

Page 28: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

Radically New Plan!• Shorten or eliminate

Contracts• Prepaid service• Handset subsidies• Eliminate all hidden

fees and off-peak hours• Concept of LTV

Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

28

Page 29: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

• Does it make sense to shorten subscription terms or eliminate them altogether?– Contract provide a hedge against churn– Estimated churn rises from 2% to 6%

• Allows 18yrs and younger to purchase the product

Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

29

Page 30: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

Currently 92% of subscribers have post-paid plans

Concerns:• Prepaid arrangements now have prohibitive pricing

- 35 – 50 cents per minute up to 75 cents

- Phone use that is very infrequent• Higher churn rate• Recoup Acquisition Costs (AC)• Morgan Stanley research suggests AC must be at or

below $100 for prepaid to be viable• Need a method to add minutes (such as Website)

Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

30

Page 31: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

• Currently carriers purchase handsets from major manufacturers at a cost of $150-$300.

• Carriers then subsidize the end user $100-$200 (becomes part of AC).

• How do we minimize the AC?• Does this matter to our target

market?

Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

31

Page 32: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

Hidden Fees• Goal: Make the pricing very simple

– “What you see is what you get!”

• Rolling all these normally hidden costs that include taxes and fees into the final price

Off-Peak Hours• Consider the target market: Young People! - Minute usage is very different

Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

32

Page 33: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

The Business Customer

• TWO DISTINCTIONS:– Make calls during office hours– Rarely worry about the cost of

calls (Finance Dept can deal with it)

• PRICE INSENSITIVE!• Demand is INELASTIC• A percentage decrease in price will

have a smaller percentage increase in Quantity Demanded (Calls made)

Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

33

Page 34: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

The student customer• TWO DISTINCTIONS

– You make calls whenever necessary and can seek to avoid calls that come with a higher pricetag

– Students CARE about the price of calls

• PRICE SENSITIVE• Demand is ELASTIC• A percentage decrease in price

will result in a larger percentage increase in quantity demanded (calls made)

Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

34

Page 35: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

Mobile phone company revenue:

• The revenue gain from increased quantity must be greater than the revenue loss from dropping the price

• Since our target market is Youth, whose demand is relatively elastic, downward adjustment in price is relevant! A>B for Revenue Gain!

Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

35

Page 36: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

Option 1 : Clone industry

Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

36

XtrasXtras

Off-peak hourOff-peak hour

Hidden FeeHidden Fee

Option 2 : Price below

Industry pricing

Industry pricing XtrasXtras

Off-peak (1) hourOff-peak (1) hour

Hidden FeeHidden Fee

Priced (5c) belowPriced (5c) below

-Same price of handset offered-Same churn rate of 2%

-Same price of handset offered-Same churn rate of 2%

Page 37: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

37

Option 3 : New pricing structure: prepaid

Average monthly revenue from minute usage= Avg. min + avg. minute charge

XtrasXtras

Off-peak (1) hourOff-peak (1) hour

Hidden FeeHidden Fee

-Same price of handset offered-Churn rate of 6%

Page 38: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

ACir

MLTV

1

ARPU CCPU

M AC LTV

Average Revenue per user

Cash Cost per user= 45% of ARPU

Monthly Margin

= ARPU - CCPUAcquisition Cost

Lifetime Value

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation r: retention rate = 1 – churn rate

i : interest rate = 5%

r: retention rate = 1 – churn rate

i : interest rate = 5%-Sale commission

-Advertising per gross add

-Subsidy cost

-Sale commission

-Advertising per gross add

-Subsidy cost

38

Page 39: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

- Year 1 is the immediate target - Customer with us 1 year for prepaid - Target average minute per month is 200 - Target average charge per minute is 15 cent

Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

39

- Level of subscribers Option 1: same industry pricing -> less attractive -> 500,000 out of 1 million subscribers

Option 2: lower cost -> attractive -> 750,000 out of 1 million

Option 3: new pricing structure and features -> most attractive -> 1 million out of 1 million

Assumptions

Page 40: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

Item Value

Hidden Fee $ (6.00)

Off-peak (1) hour $ (3.00)

Priced below (5c) $ (10.00)

Option 1 Xtras $ 12.02

Option 2 Xtras $ 18.03

Option 3 Xtras $ 24.04

Rev. from minute usage $ 30.00

Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

40

Page 41: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

41

Xtras Value

# of subscriber x 12 months

% of the market share

% of the market share

Page 42: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

ARPU CCPU M AC LTVIndustry

Avg. $52.00 $30.00 $22.00 $270.00 $44.29

Option 1 $55.02 $24.76 $30.26 $160.00 $272.29

Option 2 $51.03 $22.96 $28.07 $120.00 $280.94

Option 3 $45.04 $20.27 $24.77 $100.00 $253.89

Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

ACir

MLTV

1

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

42

Page 43: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

Option 3 - Break Even Point with AC and LTV

Let LTV = 0 Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

43

-> 0 = M/(1 - r - i) – AC-> M = 0.11 AC -> AC = 24.77/0.11

If LTV = 0 , AC = $225.

That is the max we can go with AC.Now with AC at $100,

-For Ads budget, we can spend more-For the handset, we can lower price or increase quality

Page 44: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

Option 3 - Break Even Per customer

Revenue = CostXtras + minute usage = CCPU + AC Cost

Total Net 11.37 0 ~ Break even

With Xtras 0.15 0.09

Without Xtras 0.21

Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

44

Page 45: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

Market Research

All Options

Theory Application

Calculation

45

Page 46: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

VirginResponse

Recommen-dations

Questions

Pricing Strategy

Pricing Objective

Sales Maximization

Demand Estimate

Current market penetration of target market is only 25%1

Create Demand amongst remaining 75%

Brand Switch by current users

Capitalize on Highly Elastic Demand of Target Market

Cost Estimates

Monthly Cost to Serve per Customer

Networking Cost

Customer Service Cost

Overhead Cost

Customer Acquisition Cost

Subsidy on Cell Phone set

Marketing Communication Cost

Sales commission

Source: http://www.wirelessweek.com/virgin-mobile-details-launch-plans.aspxSource: http://www.wirelessweek.com/virgin-mobile-details-launch-plans.aspx

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

46

Page 47: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

VirginResponse

Recommen-dations

Questions

Pricing Strategy (contd…)

Competitors’ Prices

ARPU of $52 with 417 minute of use

60 – 20 c per minute for less than 100 minutes20 – 12 c per minute for 100 to 300 minutes (Virgin Target Market)

35 – 50 c per minute for Pre-paid Costumers (Virgin Target Market)

Pricing Method

Penetration Pricing

Costs per Unit is inversely related to Number of Subscribers

Reduce CCPU by increase in Number of Subscribers

Increase in Margin will follow

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

47

Page 48: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

VirginResponse

Recommen-dations

Questions

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

48

Page 49: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

VirginResponse

Recommen-dations

Questions

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

49

Final Price !!!!

15c per minute with Revenue of $30 per unit

(average use of 200 mins)

Target Virgin Xtras Revenue of 15.04

Total Estimated ARPU of $45.04

Page 50: Jwala_Virgin Mobile Case Presentation

VirginResponse

Recommen-dations

Questions

IntroductionIntroduction AnalysisAnalysis ConclusionConclusion

50